Mimic: New Creative Sampler

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
aeox
Posts: 3081
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: marsoo

Post 26 Sep 2021

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
26 Sep 2021
Puniho wrote:
26 Sep 2021


What? Like loop on/ off for example?

The fact that you can’t have the combi change loop slots is a nuisance. It means that you have to have the devices open and scroll down to change the loop.
I don't think mimic was meant to be used as a loop player anyway.
Yea it really is not in my opinion. It excels in other areas.

User avatar
Jackjackdaw
Posts: 1022
Joined: 12 Jan 2019

Post 26 Sep 2021

I think then it should be much more integrated with Dr OctoRex. So when you start on something and realise you want to do something else with it you can just drag it over and be on your way. Like you can load Rex files into NNXT for example.

darkdogstudios
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Aug 2018

Post 26 Sep 2021

aeox wrote:
26 Sep 2021
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
26 Sep 2021


I don't think mimic was meant to be used as a loop player anyway.
Yea it really is not in my opinion. It excels in other areas.
So what is it? I feel it's more like a creative loop player than a regular sampler.

The fact of not being able to automate the loop slots is a bit of a handicap for any sound designer. the only reason I can think of to prevent it's implementation, is that there must be some conflict with the different forms of time stretch used?

darkdogstudios
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Aug 2018

Post 27 Sep 2021

Another handicap is that you cannot automate amp sustain. Attack decay and release, yes, but not sustain. With the loop function length set to minimum, it effectively freezes the sample and you can get some great swelling pad sounds with the sustain parameter, but you would presumably have to use rec source and record it as audio.

darkdogstudios
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Aug 2018

Post 27 Sep 2021

It's ok... I just came up with a work around.... If you raise the release to infinity the loop keeps going, then you can play around with the l;oop length and the speed, and use the master volume for swells. Great fun!

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 3081
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: marsoo

Post 27 Sep 2021

darkdogstudios wrote:
26 Sep 2021
aeox wrote:
26 Sep 2021


Yea it really is not in my opinion. It excels in other areas.
So what is it? I feel it's more like a creative loop player than a regular sampler.

The fact of not being able to automate the loop slots is a bit of a handicap for any sound designer. the only reason I can think of to prevent it's implementation, is that there must be some conflict with the different forms of time stretch used?

In regard to "So what is it?" I never really thought about it that way, I just start using a device and figuring out how I can squeeze interesting sounds from it. I really have no idea what it's suppose to be, it is what it is I guess :D

There are lots of ways to get cool sounds from the device, regardless of how they meant for it to be used. (beat map player is a good example of that too)

Workarounds are always an option too :puf_smile:

User avatar
SuryaDnB
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Jan 2021

Post 28 Sep 2021

Puniho wrote:
26 Sep 2021
SuryaDnB wrote:
22 Sep 2021
I complained that some parameters in Mimic can not be automated, but I was told there is a technical limitation that stops them from making the other ones automatable
What? Like loop on/ off for example?

The fact that you can’t have the combi change loop slots is a nuisance. It means that you have to have the devices open and scroll down to change the loop.
Yes, and the mod amounts, many if not all of the stretch parameters...
Currently on Reason 12. Very disappointed with the updates in the last two versions.

User avatar
StephenHutchinson
Posts: 180
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 01 Oct 2021

I tend t make a lot of ambient music and use looping pad samples in a lot of my work. In Ableton Live, Bitwig, and FL Studio, these loops are seamless and work perfectly. I've spent a couple hours now trying to get some of these samples to loop in Mimic without the annoying click at the loop end point. It is highly annoying and honestly puts me right off.

I've tried every single type of Stretch mode, in all the variations, tried 10+ different loops, and then tried the various factory Mimic patches, and even did a Reset Device. Nothing works. Anyone have any idea of how to get rid of the annoying pops and clicks when in loop mode? Thanks in advance.
:reason: Reason+ - (Reason user since v.1.0)
:refill: Reason Sound Design & Content Creation
Sound Dimension https://www.sounddimension.io

ReFiils: Ambientia Cinematic Soundscapes | String Theory (Friktion) | Algoritmo (Algoritm)

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7433
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 01 Oct 2021

StephenHutchinson wrote:
01 Oct 2021
I tend t make a lot of ambient music and use looping pad samples in a lot of my work. In Ableton Live, Bitwig, and FL Studio, these loops are seamless and work perfectly. I've spent a couple hours now trying to get some of these samples to loop in Mimic without the annoying click at the loop end point. It is highly annoying and honestly puts me right off.

I've tried every single type of Stretch mode, in all the variations, tried 10+ different loops, and then tried the various factory Mimic patches, and even did a Reset Device. Nothing works. Anyone have any idea of how to get rid of the annoying pops and clicks when in loop mode? Thanks in advance.
Unfortunately it's because the only stretch algorithm that has Zero Crosspoint adjustment is the "Tape" setting, and even that is pretty hard to adjust. This was brought up during beta testing, but RS didn't consider adding more X-Cross settings to the other stretch algo's before launch. Hoping they update Mimic, as it certainly could use the feature. In the meantime, in Mimic your only recourse is to use the "Tape" setting and adjust your actual sample begin time to eliminate the pop/click. Usually I can get a seamless drone/loop when I make my loop point anything after the start of the sample (with some massaging of the loop).
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

tanni
Posts: 176
Joined: 19 Jul 2015

Post 01 Oct 2021

EnochLight wrote:
01 Oct 2021
StephenHutchinson wrote:
01 Oct 2021
I tend t make a lot of ambient music and use looping pad samples in a lot of my work. In Ableton Live, Bitwig, and FL Studio, these loops are seamless and work perfectly. I've spent a couple hours now trying to get some of these samples to loop in Mimic without the annoying click at the loop end point. It is highly annoying and honestly puts me right off.

I've tried every single type of Stretch mode, in all the variations, tried 10+ different loops, and then tried the various factory Mimic patches, and even did a Reset Device. Nothing works. Anyone have any idea of how to get rid of the annoying pops and clicks when in loop mode? Thanks in advance.
Unfortunately it's because the only stretch algorithm that has Zero Crosspoint adjustment is the "Tape" setting, and even that is pretty hard to adjust. This was brought up during beta testing, but RS didn't consider adding more X-Cross settings to the other stretch algo's before launch. Hoping they update Mimic, as it certainly could use the feature. In the meantime, in Mimic your only recourse is to use the "Tape" setting and adjust your actual sample begin time to eliminate the pop/click. Usually I can get a seamless drone/loop when I make my loop point anything after the start of the sample (with some massaging of the loop).
Yeah, its a shame, that Mimic can't import Rootkeys or Loop-Information from audiofiles like the NNXT.
Maybe a new Import function for Rootkey and/or Loop-Information out of the loaded audiofile would be a solution for Mimic. Maybe on the backside of Mimic, so you could click on a button and choose: Import Loop/Rootkey-Information, and from then Mimic imports the information from every the loaded sample.
So your Library with your well done samples are supported and no "clicks" are audible. No crossfade would be required then.

User avatar
StephenHutchinson
Posts: 180
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 01 Oct 2021

EnochLight wrote:
01 Oct 2021
StephenHutchinson wrote:
01 Oct 2021
I tend t make a lot of ambient music and use looping pad samples in a lot of my work. In Ableton Live, Bitwig, and FL Studio, these loops are seamless and work perfectly. I've spent a couple hours now trying to get some of these samples to loop in Mimic without the annoying click at the loop end point. It is highly annoying and honestly puts me right off.

I've tried every single type of Stretch mode, in all the variations, tried 10+ different loops, and then tried the various factory Mimic patches, and even did a Reset Device. Nothing works. Anyone have any idea of how to get rid of the annoying pops and clicks when in loop mode? Thanks in advance.
Unfortunately it's because the only stretch algorithm that has Zero Crosspoint adjustment is the "Tape" setting, and even that is pretty hard to adjust. This was brought up during beta testing, but RS didn't consider adding more X-Cross settings to the other stretch algo's before launch. Hoping they update Mimic, as it certainly could use the feature. In the meantime, in Mimic your only recourse is to use the "Tape" setting and adjust your actual sample begin time to eliminate the pop/click. Usually I can get a seamless drone/loop when I make my loop point anything after the start of the sample (with some massaging of the loop).
Thanks so much EnochLight, I was bedevilled at how this just wasn't working. I do hope they fix this in some upcoming update... I can't see how they wouldn't. Here's hoping for the best, and I'm going to try your suggestion. I can live with this workaround for now and you've been super helpful. :puf_smile:
:reason: Reason+ - (Reason user since v.1.0)
:refill: Reason Sound Design & Content Creation
Sound Dimension https://www.sounddimension.io

ReFiils: Ambientia Cinematic Soundscapes | String Theory (Friktion) | Algoritmo (Algoritm)

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7433
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 01 Oct 2021

StephenHutchinson wrote:
01 Oct 2021
Thanks so much EnochLight, I was bedevilled at how this just wasn't working. I do hope they fix this in some upcoming update... I can't see how they wouldn't. Here's hoping for the best, and I'm going to try your suggestion. I can live with this workaround for now and you've been super helpful. :puf_smile:
No problem; glad to have helped! :thumbup:
Win 10 | Abelton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Sumsung 870 QVO 2 TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

tanni
Posts: 176
Joined: 19 Jul 2015

Post 01 Oct 2021

What do you think of possible Import functions from loadable audiofiles (wav/aiff) like in the NNXT while sample-browsing ? Maybe with selectable buttons:
Image

User avatar
Benedict
Posts: 2616
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Post 04 Oct 2021

Without reading the whole thread in-hope:

Does anyone know how many voices Mimic has? It seems pretty low as it seems like voice stealing is a real issue with pads. I am assuming 8 voices max - meaning that if you use all 8 slots in Multi Pitch Mode it is monophonic - which feels like a shame.

:-)

GRIFTY
Posts: 656
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 06 Oct 2021

I understand a lot of you make like techno & stuff, but mimic is a godsend for sample choppers in reason. Just try to chop a soul sample up & making a proto-Kanye West-style beat with it. It's sooooo much easier than with, say, NNXT. I used to use Kong as my main sample player, chopping out slices by hand from the main sequencer, bouncing to samples, then dragging to a pad. This device fully automates that workflow

JorgeM
Posts: 8
Joined: 17 May 2021

Post 06 Oct 2021

Agreed. Mimic is awesome for chopping samples.

Santy Beats
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Oct 2021

Post 07 Oct 2021

Hi everyone
I have a question for several days and I have not found an answer, I hope I can make myself understood:
When we are using MIMIC and we have the markers of the sampler cuts when using pads, each cut is automatically located on each pad, so far everything is correct.
My question is if there is any way for the Mimic to trigger each chop of each pad and hold it without having to hold down the pad, because when we release the pad the playback of the chop stops.
I know that putting the sustain pedal on the playback continues, but I would like to know if there is any way to do it without the pedal
Thanks.

User avatar
deeplink
Posts: 563
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai / Cape Town

Post 07 Oct 2021

Santy Beats wrote:
07 Oct 2021
Hi everyone
I have a question for several days and I have not found an answer, I hope I can make myself understood:
When we are using MIMIC and we have the markers of the sampler cuts when using pads, each cut is automatically located on each pad, so far everything is correct.
My question is if there is any way for the Mimic to trigger each chop of each pad and hold it without having to hold down the pad, because when we release the pad the playback of the chop stops.
I know that putting the sustain pedal on the playback continues, but I would like to know if there is any way to do it without the pedal
Thanks.
Not sure if I understand what you're trying to achieve;
Possibly the little 'Play Thru' button in the Slices section is what you are looking for.
Together with setting a full Release envelope
Combinators, ReFills and RS SoundPacks my GoogleDrive: [deeplink] Open RS-Project

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 2607
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Norway

Post 07 Oct 2021

GRIFTY wrote:
06 Oct 2021
I understand a lot of you make like techno & stuff, but mimic is a godsend for sample choppers in reason. Just try to chop a soul sample up & making a proto-Kanye West-style beat with it. It's sooooo much easier than with, say, NNXT. I used to use Kong as my main sample player, chopping out slices by hand from the main sequencer, bouncing to samples, then dragging to a pad. This device fully automates that workflow
Hey, I make techno and stuff and I freaking love mimic too! I no longer look at Kong or redrum. I'm full on mimic for my drums and for sample mangling duties. 💪


RT Warning level: 1

🏁

User avatar
Greg Savage
Posts: 65
Joined: 02 Oct 2021

Post 07 Oct 2021

I really want to like this Sampler, can't find a use for it (yet). It is interesting seeing/reading how others use it though.
Music Composer/Sound Designer
Credits | Music Licensing |

User avatar
QVprod
Moderator
Posts: 3019
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 07 Oct 2021

Worth a post for those looking for a differing perspective on Mimic. Or for some possible uses



Santy Beats
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Oct 2021

Post 07 Oct 2021

deeplink wrote:
07 Oct 2021
Santy Beats wrote:
07 Oct 2021
Hi everyone
I have a question for several days and I have not found an answer, I hope I can make myself understood:
When we are using MIMIC and we have the markers of the sampler cuts when using pads, each cut is automatically located on each pad, so far everything is correct.
My question is if there is any way for the Mimic to trigger each chop of each pad and hold it without having to hold down the pad, because when we release the pad the playback of the chop stops.
I know that putting the sustain pedal on the playback continues, but I would like to know if there is any way to do it without the pedal
Thanks.
Not sure if I understand what you're trying to achieve;
Possibly the little 'Play Thru' button in the Slices section is what you are looking for.
Together with setting a full Release envelope
thanks, that's what i meant :thumbup:

User avatar
mimidancer
Posts: 42
Joined: 30 Sep 2021

Post 08 Oct 2021

aeox wrote:
26 Sep 2021
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
26 Sep 2021


I don't think mimic was meant to be used as a loop player anyway.
Yea it really is not in my opinion. It excels in other areas.
You can have control over the individual slots. In combinators simply select the parameter you want to use. It is divided by slot. As for triggering the loops that would be controlled with midi note information from your controller or drum pads. you just have to set the key ranges.

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 3081
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: marsoo

Post 15 Oct 2021

mimidancer wrote:
08 Oct 2021
aeox wrote:
26 Sep 2021


Yea it really is not in my opinion. It excels in other areas.
You can have control over the individual slots. In combinators simply select the parameter you want to use. It is divided by slot. As for triggering the loops that would be controlled with midi note information from your controller or drum pads. you just have to set the key ranges.
That's what I mean, you can do it but it's not how most people want it to be. I'd imagine a lot of folks want that functionality without a cmb patch but I'm not complaining. Works great.

Plus I really think the main focus of the device is sound mangling with pitch and different stretch modes, but maybe that's just what I've found enjoyable and what feels natural from it

User avatar
mimidancer
Posts: 42
Joined: 30 Sep 2021

Post 15 Oct 2021

aeox wrote:
15 Oct 2021
mimidancer wrote:
08 Oct 2021


You can have control over the individual slots. In combinators simply select the parameter you want to use. It is divided by slot. As for triggering the loops that would be controlled with midi note information from your controller or drum pads. you just have to set the key ranges.
That's what I mean, you can do it but it's not how most people want it to be. I'd imagine a lot of folks want that functionality without a cmb patch but I'm not complaining. Works great.

Plus I really think the main focus of the device is sound mangling with pitch and different stretch modes, but maybe that's just what I've found enjoyable and what feels natural from it
The use of combinators is an essential part of the reason. They allow you to set things up the way you want to use them. Remember, you only have to set it up once. Then save it for future use. Reason is a modular experience. Complaining about a combinator would be like not wanting to use a case to house your eurorack setup. That is why they put so much into upgrading the combinator in Reason 12. Embrace it, then make Reason your own. You don't want to become another Abelton clone. Clones are better than droids, but a Jedi is way cooler than both. Be a Jedi, make your beats with your combinator optimized for what you want Reason to be. The options are endless and fun. Be well.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Lov2sing and 12 guests