modular modules

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
Reminiscence
Posts: 290
Joined: 31 May 2016
Location: Earth

Post 28 Dec 2023

of all the famous Reason synths and samplers we love to use. softube does it...so....why not?

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1134
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 29 Dec 2023

Reminiscence wrote:
28 Dec 2023
of all the famous Reason synths and samplers we love to use. softube does it...so....why not?
I guess you'd like to see a modular environment similar to Softube Modular, VCV Rack or Reaktor?

There's few attempts, but nothing as comprehensive...
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/bund ... system-ii/
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/brow ... loper=Murf

...and couple of fixed-architecture devices:
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... lar-synth/
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... lar-synth/
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... nthesizer/
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... nthesizer/
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

Reminiscence
Posts: 290
Joined: 31 May 2016
Location: Earth

Post 29 Dec 2023

merci

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 2137
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: the reason rack

Post 29 Dec 2023

there's also Noise Engineering:

ref: https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/brow ... ngineering
r11s

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1134
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 02 Jan 2024

BRIGGS wrote:
29 Dec 2023
there's also Noise Engineering:

ref: https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/brow ... ngineering
I think the ask was for REs that are individual "modular modules", like oscillator, envelope, amp, filter, etc. technically, NE's devices are self-contained, although I agree they're "ports" of NE's hardware Eurorack modules :)
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
Adabler
Competition Winner
Posts: 499
Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Location: Oslo

Post 02 Jan 2024

Viking 2 by Blamsoft may also scratch OPs modular itch: https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... nthesizer/

VK-2 brings you the power of a modular synthesizer, without the hassle of cables. All of the individual synthesis components can be freely routed giving you ultimate power and flexibility.
:reason: 12, Win10

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 2137
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: the reason rack

Post 02 Jan 2024

antic604 wrote:
02 Jan 2024
BRIGGS wrote:
29 Dec 2023
there's also Noise Engineering:

ref: https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/brow ... ngineering
I think the ask was for REs that are individual "modular modules", like oscillator, envelope, amp, filter, etc. technically, NE's devices are self-contained, although I agree they're "ports" of NE's hardware Eurorack modules :)
They are meant to be weird, on purpose. :puf_smile:

Image
r11s

User avatar
manisnotabird
Posts: 478
Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Location: Austin, TX

Post 09 Jan 2024

I think something like Reaktor or Bitwig's the Grid would be cool. Although it would be radical departure from the typical Reason style. One possibility is the ability to make a monophonic synth patch in a combinator, then select an option that would make it polyphonic by making 4, or 6, or 8 or however many virtual copies. You could do it now with a copy of Blamsoft's Distributor and a Combinator 2 (just having one knob control the filter frequency on all the instances of the filter, and another control the decay on all instance of the envelope, etc) but it takes a long time to set up.

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 2587
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 10 Jan 2024

The problem with trying to make modular REs in the current framework is that it would take up loads of rack space, even if Devs could make half-width devices, which they can't at present.

If RS wanted to, and I suspect they don't, they could implement a new type of RE, the "rack module", which would be modelled on the form factor of Eurorack stuff. There could be a container "frame" which fits into the Reason rack into which we would drag one or more modules, just like VCV or Voltage Modular etc. Devs could release sub-sections of their REs as modules - VCO, VCF, VCA etc.

It would greatly extend the power and flexibility of Reason and make it more attractive to folks who are attracted to VCV and Eurorack. Whether it would bring in enough extra money to cover the dev costs is anyone's guess.

I do feel that Reason has somewhat stalled in the area of "major steps forward". R12 brought new instruments and infrastructure changes but nothing that really made you go "wow!" Future Music mag's review of R12 said "It's debatable whether this upgrade is worth it for R11 users", which is not very positive from a mag that always looks on the positive side.

So R13 really needs a wow moment, like when they introduced REs, or VSTs, or audio recording, or the RRP. Maybe modular could be it. Maybe they'll surprise us!

User avatar
turn2on
RE Developer
Posts: 801
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 10 Jan 2024

Just odd one of the perfect modular effect (Buchla / Serge world) style RE - xLPG (vactrol based LowPass Gate).

https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... te-effect/

So, yes.
Many times in years try to ask two things for Reason rack, that can be very cool:
1) Eurorack style modules rack 1U, 3U, 5U as from real modulars, integrated as Reason rack device. Half-rack too.
2) Pedalboard rack with routing of pedals as Reason rack device
This can help to open modular and pedal ways integration. Why not.
Yes, it's harder to have big quantity of device types, search them. But, Rack devices (pedalboard, eurorack) can open slots, where may be possible in future make possibilities of real modulation (when this devices can use not only CV or Audio, but audio as cv, cv as audio, as in eurorack - what works in both ways). This can help to save current audio and CV structure for the main rack, but own really modular rules inside this racks.

For modular needs, VCV Rack 2 Pro is a real love. We already Crete year ago Combi 2.0 refill, for using VCV Rack 2 Pro VTS inside Reason rack as Reason-ready devices from Mutable (Audible instruments line + few others), 125 Combi 2.0 patches, muTableAudibleRack Refill: https://boosty.to/turn2on/posts/084585a ... 81508a58f1

Image

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11825
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 10 Jan 2024

DaveyG wrote:
10 Jan 2024
The problem with trying to make modular REs in the current framework is that it would take up loads of rack space, even if Devs could make half-width devices, which they can't at present.

If RS wanted to, and I suspect they don't, they could implement a new type of RE, the "rack module", which would be modelled on the form factor of Eurorack stuff. There could be a container "frame" which fits into the Reason rack into which we would drag one or more modules, just like VCV or Voltage Modular etc. Devs could release sub-sections of their REs as modules - VCO, VCF, VCA etc.

It would greatly extend the power and flexibility of Reason and make it more attractive to folks who are attracted to VCV and Eurorack. Whether it would bring in enough extra money to cover the dev costs is anyone's guess.

I do feel that Reason has somewhat stalled in the area of "major steps forward". R12 brought new instruments and infrastructure changes but nothing that really made you go "wow!" Future Music mag's review of R12 said "It's debatable whether this upgrade is worth it for R11 users", which is not very positive from a mag that always looks on the positive side.

So R13 really needs a wow moment, like when they introduced REs, or VSTs, or audio recording, or the RRP. Maybe modular could be it. Maybe they'll surprise us!
Many folks (myself included) have suggested exactly this over the years. My first was after Thor was released, where I imagined all of Reasons FX and modules released in something akin to a 500 series module like Kongs modules, housed in a Thor like “rack” called ReRack. I’ve posted the photo mockup many times, but you can probably visualize it just fine this time without it. ;)

This was before EuroRack was super popular, so that format makes more sense than a 500 series rack these days. Either way, the idea is to be able to build modular synths/FX using any popular Reason module. The oscillators from Eurorpa with the filters from Thor and the LFOs from Malstrom. Not to mention all the cool Kong modules and half rack stuff - all the cool stuff they already have coded and ready for a new lease on life. Throw in some Players and sample playback modules and you’re starting to get into Kontakt level potential…

And now with the new Combinator features you could just use the main RE to build the architecture and use the Combinator 2 to build the front panels. Not everyone is going to build stuff at this level, but ANYONE can USE stuff built this way!
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1134
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 16 Jan 2024

selig wrote:
10 Jan 2024
Many folks (myself included) have suggested exactly this over the years. My first was after Thor was released, where I imagined all of Reasons FX and modules released in something akin to a 500 series module like Kongs modules, housed in a Thor like “rack” called ReRack. I’ve posted the photo mockup many times, but you can probably visualize it just fine this time without it. ;)
Too bad nothing came out from this! :(

Anyways, do we know what's the rate of CV signals inside Reason's rack? I don't think it's anyway close to audio-rate & probably very limited in terms of resolution, too (128 units, probably). This would've been additional issue in trying to use the rack as a truly modular environment.
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3082
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 16 Jan 2024

antic604 wrote:
16 Jan 2024
Anyways, do we know what's the rate of CV signals inside Reason's rack? I don't think it's anyway close to audio-rate & probably very limited in terms of resolution, too (128 units, probably). This would've been additional issue in trying to use the rack as a truly modular environment.
We do. CV is 32bit floating point and runs at 1/64 of the audio sample rate (= one CV update per audio batch of 64 samples).

You can find a lot of info in the Reason RE SDK documentation.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1134
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 17 Jan 2024

jam-s wrote:
16 Jan 2024
antic604 wrote:
16 Jan 2024
Anyways, do we know what's the rate of CV signals inside Reason's rack? I don't think it's anyway close to audio-rate & probably very limited in terms of resolution, too (128 units, probably). This would've been additional issue in trying to use the rack as a truly modular environment.
We do. CV is 32bit floating point and runs at 1/64 of the audio sample rate (= one CV update per audio batch of 64 samples).

You can find a lot of info in the Reason RE SDK documentation.
Nice, thanks!
Music tech enthusiast.
DAW, VST & hardware hoarder.
My "music": https://soundcloud.com/antic604

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests