Hardware vs Software

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
cognitive
Posts: 177
Joined: 25 Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles

Post 15 Nov 2018

aeox wrote:
15 Nov 2018
come1 wrote:
15 Nov 2018
I'm not trolling, it's a real question. Can music produced on a laptop, really stand up next to true analogue audio run through a dedicated mixer?

I'm putting this down to the way that Reason processes audio, it feels like the engine is limited in throughput.

I use Beats by Dre headphones for most of my mastering duties - could this be the problem? I thought Dre was a decent producer so surely these will help me get a fat mixdown?

Where is DirtyHarry at these days?
Yes it can!

I just want to be clear on one thing though.. there is no "Reason sound" in terms of "audio engine" If your bass sounds like a wet fart then it's a mix/sound design issue. (if you are able to achieve a wet fart sound, I'd actually be interested to know how) That sounds like some serious physical modeling.
Maybe a Loquelic Interitas Percido into The Echo. :lol:

come1
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2018

Post 16 Nov 2018

Someone said more ram and cpu would help. Then I can jack my system up to 64bit float. Maybe I just need more headroom to prevent clipping in the DAW.

antic604

Post 16 Nov 2018

come1 wrote:
16 Nov 2018
Someone said more ram and cpu would help. Then I can jack my system up to 64bit float. Maybe I just need more headroom to prevent clipping in the DAW.
If 1000+ dB offered by 32-bit isn't enough for you, nothing will be :P

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2504
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 16 Nov 2018

I still have my DX100. And man that synth sounds analog nowadays. Press a key a few times and you get all different notes.

But I am a minimalist. The laptop is my studio. Since 2003.

User avatar
bitley
Posts: 1673
Joined: 03 Jul 2015
Location: sweden

Post 16 Nov 2018

Wanna send it up to Sweden? :D

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2504
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 16 Nov 2018

bitley wrote:
16 Nov 2018
Wanna send it up to Sweden? :D
I guess there are old farts like me in sweden too :D

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2849
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 16 Nov 2018

24 bitdepth is a lot of extra headroom. 16bitdepth should be clipping at the exact red part of the meter though.
Producer/Programmer.
Reason, FLS and Cubase NFR user.

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2504
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 16 Nov 2018

Oquasec wrote:
16 Nov 2018
24 bitdepth is a lot of extra headroom. 16bitdepth should be clipping at the exact red part of the meter though.
no 24 bit doesn't have more headroom. it has a lower noisefloor.

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 3866
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 16 Nov 2018

I don't know why you dudes can't tell when someone is trolling or not. All the replies were very constructive; even the light banter between our most famous RT contributors was.
It is against my religious belief to Rob you from a good laugh. C you latter Baby Jesus. :puf_smile:
757365206C6F67696320746F207365656B20616E73776572732075736520726561736F6E20746F2066696E6420776973646F6D20676574206F7574206F6620796F757220636F6D666F7274207A6F6E65206F7220796F757220696E737069726174696F6E2077696C6C206372797374616C6C697A6520666F7265766572

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2849
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 16 Nov 2018

Its not that 24 bits of data makes the sound better. It actually does not. What is does is give your audio more room to breathe in the numeric realm of digital audio. Remember, we are talking about numbers, calculations, not analog waveforms. With 24 bits of data demarcing your recording medium, its is possible to record extremely dynamic music, with very quiet soft passages and extraordinary loud passages. Quiet passages will be less likely struggling to stay above the noise floor on your system.
Producer/Programmer.
Reason, FLS and Cubase NFR user.

User avatar
devilfish
Posts: 183
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Post 16 Nov 2018

IMO Hardware ! Analog Hardware !

It is just „that fat Sound“...
The Filtersound, Overdrive, Distortion, Saturation..
you can‘t have that sick full and deep sound with a Software.. never!

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 3866
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 16 Nov 2018

Reason 10 + Elektron Analog Heat MKII?
757365206C6F67696320746F207365656B20616E73776572732075736520726561736F6E20746F2066696E6420776973646F6D20676574206F7574206F6620796F757220636F6D666F7274207A6F6E65206F7220796F757220696E737069726174696F6E2077696C6C206372797374616C6C697A6520666F7265766572

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2504
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 16 Nov 2018

devilfish wrote:
16 Nov 2018
IMO Hardware ! Analog Hardware !

It is just „that fat Sound“...
The Filtersound, Overdrive, Distortion, Saturation..
you can‘t have that sick full and deep sound with a Software.. never!
yes you can. you can even have great guitar saturation in digital.

User avatar
adfielding
Posts: 959
Joined: 19 May 2015

Post 16 Nov 2018

jam-s wrote:
14 Nov 2018
If it would still be working on modern OS the free ReBirth-338 would be the perfect all in one box tool for acid.
For what it's worth - it is entirely possible to get Rebirth up and running in Win10, and if you want to use it in macOS then it's actually considerably easier to get the Windows version up and running via Wine as opposed to the Mac version. I used Wineskin to create a wrapper for the Windows version of Rebirth, works perfectly.

sdst
Competition Winner
Posts: 898
Joined: 14 Jun 2015

Post 17 Nov 2018

at the end Software win because of portability, you can have a studio in a laptop

and today Software are very close to Hardwares

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2504
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 17 Nov 2018

if people think hardware is better they simply need to go that road. nothing wrong with it. just do it.

but there's no either better or worst in this, sound is subjective.

come1
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2018

Post 18 Nov 2018

I’m thinking about getting a CS80, Jupiter 8, DX7, Linn 900, Synclavier and a Fairlight to start with. Then I’ll run it all through an SSL mixer. Would that sound fat?

Can I sync these synths with reason?

User avatar
bitley
Posts: 1673
Joined: 03 Jul 2015
Location: sweden

Post 18 Nov 2018

The Fairlight will make an excellent sequencer for the awesome sounds in WBF R2 ;) That's if you dig a text command interface with just one disturbing color and have the electricity to spare. :D

come1
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2018

Post 18 Nov 2018

bitley wrote:
18 Nov 2018
The Fairlight will make an excellent sequencer for the awesome sounds in WBF R2 ;) That's if you dig a text command interface with just one disturbing color and have the electricity to spare. :D
So I need to get the Fairlight and the WBF R2 refill? Interesting. Is anyone else using this combo?

User avatar
Faastwalker
Posts: 2292
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: NSW, Australia

Post 18 Nov 2018

I've started getting more into hardware again these days. But it's not to do with sound. I think hardware V software consideration with regards to sound quality is a moot point in 2018. It's more about lack of decent (still, after all these years) MIDI control over software, having hands-on control, getting away from the screen & Eurorack GAS! Reason is still the central component & I use plenty of RE's / Reason devices + a handful of VST's. But for Acid Techno Reason is a great starting point with ABL3, some of the retro drum module RE's and maybe some suitable samples. Aciieeeedd! :D

User avatar
bitley
Posts: 1673
Joined: 03 Jul 2015
Location: sweden

Post 18 Nov 2018

come1: Quite a few actually!

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2504
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Post 19 Nov 2018

a Fairlight is not hardware, it's software :D

User avatar
bitley
Posts: 1673
Joined: 03 Jul 2015
Location: sweden

Post 19 Nov 2018

8 x voice cards in a seriously huge computer, dedicated light pen, keyboard controller - it was the hardest hardware and hardly for any soft wallet ;)

kinkujin
Posts: 206
Joined: 01 Mar 2018

Post 20 Nov 2018

Anyone use the Fairlight emulator on ios? Can't remember the name but I heard mixed reviews. Is there one for desktop? hehe

User avatar
QVprod
Moderator
Posts: 3503
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 20 Nov 2018

kinkujin wrote:
20 Nov 2018
Anyone use the Fairlight emulator on ios? Can't remember the name but I heard mixed reviews. Is there one for desktop? hehe
Arturia has an emulation. https://www.arturia.com/cmi-v/overview. They also have a sale where you can get all of their synth emulations for just a little more.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Steedus and 7 guests