Reason File Locations: a handy reference

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5919
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 24 Oct 2019

Preferences
There are separate Preferences files for deployment and testing builds of Reason, called respectively:
*Reason Preferences
*Reason Preferences debug
On Windows, these have the file ending .prf

  • macOS: ~/Library/Preferences/Reason x Preferences
  • Windows: %APPDATA%\Propellerhead Software\Reason

Factory Sound Banks
  • macOS: /Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Soundbanks
  • Windows: %programdata%\Propellerhead Software\Soundbanks

Program Folder
  • macOS: User can set any folder, but typically Macintosh HD/Applications/Reason 11
  • Windows: C:\Program Files\Propellerhead\Reason 11

Propellerhead Logs
If there has been an ASSERT, the current logs should be copied to a folder on the Desktop.
  • macOS: ~/Library/Logs/Propellerhead Software/
    This folder is hidden by default
  • Windows: My Documents\Propellerhead Logs

Rack Extensions
  • macOS: ~/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/RackExtensions
  • Windows: %AppData%\Propellerhead Software\RackExtensions

Remote
  • macOS: /Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Remote
  • Windows: %ProgramData%\Propellerhead Software\Remote

Favorites
  • macOS: ~/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Reason
  • Windows: %APPDATA%\Propellerhead Software\Reason

Template Songs
  • macOS: ~/Music/Reason/Template Songs
  • Windows: This PC\Music\Reason\Template Songs

VST3
  • macOS: /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST3
  • Windows: C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\

VST folders that Reason scans at launch:
  • macOS:
    Library/Audio/Plug-ins/VST
    ~/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/VST
  • Windows:
    C:\Program Files\VSTplugins
    C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTplugins
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Steinberg\VST2

VST thumbnails / screenshots are stored here:
  • macOS: ~/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Reason/Plugin Screenshots
  • Windows: %AppData%\Local\Propellerhead Software\Reason
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 1568
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 24 Oct 2019

Sticky post candidate. Thanks.
:reason: Most recent track: The Test (feat. MrFigg) || Others: on my YouTube channel •ᴗ•

User avatar
EpiGenetik
Posts: 326
Joined: 19 Jan 2015
Location: Glasgow, EU

Post 24 Oct 2019

A quick additional thing to note...

If you have bought Suite and wish to keep the old template songs, then they are available in the AppData folder on Windows. So if you were thinking about blitzing that folder then you might want to check that first.

Cheers
B

xboix
Posts: 139
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 24 Oct 2019

Yep. Sticky this please.
Thanks EL.
(Do you ever wonder why things are spread across so many different folders in Windows?)

User avatar
tiker01
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 24 Oct 2019

It has been a sticky since the first post :roll:
    
Budapest, Hungary
Reason 10
Lenovo ThinkPad e520 Win10x64 8GB RAM Intel i5-2520M 2,5-3,2 GHz and AMD 6630M with 1GB of memory.
:rt: :reason: :essentials: :re: :refill: :PUF_balance: :ignition: :PUF_figure:

xboix
Posts: 139
Joined: 22 Oct 2019

Post 24 Oct 2019

tiker01 wrote:
24 Oct 2019
It has been a sticky since the first post :roll:
If you enter the forum each day via "new posts" there is absolutely no indication that a thread is sticky.

So you can have your somewhat patronising :roll: back.

Thanks for your patience and understanding.

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2414
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 24 Oct 2019

Great reference however you might want to update it to include the Reason suite e.g.

%APPDATA%\Propellerhead Software\Reason Suite
C:\Program Files\Propellerhead\Reason Suite 11

also this is wrong
%AppData%\Local\Propellerhead Software\Reason
it should be
%LocalAppData%\Propellerhead Software\Reason
%LocalAppData%\Propellerhead Software\Reason Suite


Here are my upgrade notes

When you upgrade to Reason Suite it installs it to a new directory and you lose your existing Preferences, Folder setup(favorites browser view) and your Snapshot Icons for your VST’s. You can get this back.

For Windows:-
First copy all from
%AppData%\Propellerhead Software\Reason
to
%AppData%\Propellerhead Software\Reason Suite

Rename the file (example for Reason 10)
Reason 10 Preferences.prf
to
Reason Suite 11 Preferences.prf

For Snapshot Icons copy *.png from
%LOCALAPPDATA%\Propellerhead Software\Reason
to
%LOCALAPPDATA%\Propellerhead Software\Reason Suite

For Mac:-
user/library/application support/propellerhead software/reason
to
user/library/application support/propellerhead software/reason Suite
The user (~) Library folder is hidden by default. To open it, press the Option key while opening the "Go" menu in Finder, then select "Library".


The PoohBear...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tips & Tutorial's viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7503909
PoohBears Reason Channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqCNsA ... p4cQF4j-8A
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Soundcloud Page ....... Nektar Mappings
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 3199
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 26 Oct 2019

Thought this may be useful for those slightly obsessive users (like myself).

If you look in Reason under Preferences and then Advanced you can see a list of VST locations. Sometimes there are entries of folders there in RED which can't be deleted or removed. Well...here's how to do it.

Go to "C:\Users\YourName\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software\Reason"
There you will find a file called "Reason Plugin Folders". Delete that and start Reason...all the folders except the default one are gone Taaadaaaaa!!!! Now just add your VST locations again and get on with living :)

User avatar
ShelLuser
Posts: 225
Joined: 25 Aug 2019

Post 27 Oct 2019

Interesting post but some things don't add up...

You make it sound as if Windows users can't use a custom installation folder which isn't true. Mine is c:\program files\reason 10 for example.

The logs on Windows are located in %appdata%\Propellerhead Software\Reason\Logs. What you're describing are the authenticator logs, which involve the authentication process but not Reason itself.

The template location for Windows isn't necessarily wrong but it's also not something you can use in your file browser. A location which does work is this: %homepath%\music\Reason\Template Songs.

Fun fact: "music" will even work on localized versions of Windows because Windows basically translates this 'on the fly', which I think is a very impressive feature.
--- :reason:
Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5919
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 27 Oct 2019

ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
Interesting post but some things don't add up...

You make it sound as if Windows users can't use a custom installation folder which isn't true.
You misunderstand. Obviously the original post assumes you haven't changed anything from Reason's "default" paths. It's impossible to list every possible user customization. :shock:
ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
The logs on Windows are located in %appdata%\Propellerhead Software\Reason\Logs. What you're describing are the authenticator logs, which involve the authentication process but not Reason itself.
No, what is described in the OP is the location for assert logs. This mostly pertains to beta testing, but these logs are also generated when running Reason's stable channel and are useful for troubleshooting with support. They are all in text format and users can interpret them also. They are also categorized via various things: Authorize logs, Reason Engine logs, Reason logs, etc.

What you are describing are Reason's minidump logs that are not in text format.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
ShelLuser
Posts: 225
Joined: 25 Aug 2019

Post 27 Oct 2019

EnochLight wrote:
27 Oct 2019
You misunderstand. Obviously the original post assumes you haven't changed anything from Reason's "default" paths. It's impossible to list every possible user customization. :shock:
With the MacOS location it clearly says "User can set any folder", with the Windows section that comment is omitted. This can easily lead to newbie conclusions that you cannot set a default location on Windows. And it would make sense too considering that there is plenty of stuff which you can't customize in Reason (soundbank location, vst location, etc.).
EnochLight wrote:
27 Oct 2019
ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
The logs on Windows are located in %appdata%\Propellerhead Software\Reason\Logs. What you're describing are the authenticator logs, which involve the authentication process but not Reason itself.
No, what is described in the OP is the location for assert logs. This mostly pertains to beta testing, but these logs are also generated when running Reason's stable channel and are useful for troubleshooting with support. They are all in text format and users can interpret them also. They are also categorized via various things: Authorize logs, Reason Engine logs, Reason logs, etc.
Odd, because the only thing I find in that location are authorizer logs, and nothing else. These weren't even generated by Reason but the authorizer app. And considering that there's also a Logs directory inside the Reason data directory right next to the template songs directory makes it kind of logical for me to assume that this would be the Reason log location. I suppose one way to find out is to get Reason to generate logs but I can't be bothered to try and find out how to do that ;)
EnochLight wrote:
27 Oct 2019
What you are describing are Reason's minidump logs that are not in text format.
No I'm not:

logs.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
--- :reason:
Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5919
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 27 Oct 2019

ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
With the MacOS location it clearly says "User can set any folder", with the Windows section that comment is omitted. This can easily lead to newbie conclusions that you cannot set a default location on Windows. And it would make sense too considering that there is plenty of stuff which you can't customize in Reason (soundbank location, vst location, etc.).
First all: don't shoot the messenger. I was provided this list by Reason Studios themselves. ;) How would you propose the language is changed in the OP to satisfy your concerns?
ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
Odd, because the only thing I find in that location are authorizer logs, and nothing else. These weren't even generated by Reason but the authorizer app. And considering that there's also a Logs directory inside the Reason data directory right next to the template songs directory makes it kind of logical for me to assume that this would be the Reason log location. I suppose one way to find out is to get Reason to generate logs but I can't be bothered to try and find out how to do that ;)
ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
EnochLight wrote:
27 Oct 2019
What you are describing are Reason's minidump logs that are not in text format.
No I'm not:

logs.jpg
Interesting.

ShelLuser wrote:
27 Oct 2019
The logs on Windows are located in %appdata%\Propellerhead Software\Reason\Logs.
^^ That location leads to this according to my system:

your_instructions.JPG

Whereas the OP location (as provided by Reason Studios) leads to this:




OP_instructions.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
ShelLuser
Posts: 225
Joined: 25 Aug 2019

Post 27 Oct 2019

EnochLight wrote:
27 Oct 2019
First all: don't shoot the messenger.
I'm not, I'm providing feedback in hopes to improve the information.
--- :reason:
Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], kitekrazy and 3 guests