Looking for Reason 1.0 - Yes, the first version

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
datucker
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Aug 2019

Post 11 Aug 2019

Hi,

I am searching for Reason 1.0. Yes, the first version! Ebay wasn't helpful. Anyone who knows where I could get it?

Cheers!

User avatar
jappe
Posts: 2172
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 15 Aug 2019

Welcome to the forum datucker!

Old Reason versions here: https://www.propellerheads.com/en/reason/updates

future-bit
Posts: 100
Joined: 07 May 2017

Post 15 Aug 2019

You lost install cd, or you want buy license?

User avatar
boingy
Posts: 425
Joined: 01 Feb 2019

Post 15 Aug 2019

Go on then. I'll bite. Why do you want Reason 1?

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 16 Aug 2019

boingy wrote:
15 Aug 2019
Go on then. I'll bite. Why do you want Reason 1?
A very long time ago, cave men made music with sand and sticks and rocks. Modern people like to try the same thing to get a feel for what it was like. I think the OP might be after something similar.

future-bit
Posts: 100
Joined: 07 May 2017

Post 16 Aug 2019

If you need an old Reason, then you need version 2.5. That will work on Windows x64, and that can be bought on ebay. But 3.0.4 is better - because it has a combinator for convenient modulation and an m-class set for mastering.

You will also need Recycle to work with wav files in Dr. Rex.

User avatar
chimp_spanner
Posts: 2094
Joined: 06 Mar 2015

Post 16 Aug 2019

I mean assuming it's not a cost issue (and if it is, totally understand!) you can use Reason 10 like Reason 1. Just do everything through the mixer and ignore the SSL and audio tracks. For added authenticity, run without REs ;) OR, maybe a Favourites list that only contains the devices that were present in version 1. Restricting options can be a good tool for creativity sometimes!
Enjoy!

http://www.paulortizmusic.com

2017 MBP | 16GB | Steinberg UR44 | Reason 10.4 | Cubase Pro 10.5

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 936
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 16 Aug 2019

chimp_spanner wrote:
16 Aug 2019
I mean assuming it's not a cost issue (and if it is, totally understand!) you can use Reason 10 like Reason 1. Just do everything through the mixer and ignore the SSL and audio tracks. For added authenticity, run without REs ;) OR, maybe a Favourites list that only contains the devices that were present in version 1. Restricting options can be a good tool for creativity sometimes!
I agree 100%, but there's one big elephant in the room: It's performance. CPU and - primarily - RAM usage. Especially in combination with a modern OS like Win10.

I have Reason Lite 10 installed on an old netbook, SSD, dual core 1.66 GHz, 2 GB RAM. That machine would have been totally overpowered back in the days, but with Reason 10, after 5 legacy stock instruments you're done. Don't even think about adding a delay or a reverb.

future-bit
Posts: 100
Joined: 07 May 2017

Post 16 Aug 2019

diminished wrote:
16 Aug 2019
but there's one big elephant in the room: It's performance. CPU and - primarily - RAM usage.
Yes, on my weak laptop Pentium m 1700 / RAM 2 gb (2004) and netbook Atom N570 / RAM 2 gb installed Reason 3. I am not going to get rid of laptops, they are in excellent condition. But I don’t see the point of installing Reason 10 on them.

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 936
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 16 Aug 2019

future-bit wrote:
16 Aug 2019
and netbook Atom N570 / RAM 2 gb
Ha. Asus? That's exactly the one I have. Also in excellent condition. It's such a pity you can't upgrade RAM in this one because of the processor.
With a cheap SSD it takes me only 25 seconds to log into Windows 10, and Reason 10 is fine for multitrack recording, but other than that... the Netbook ran great with Win7/Reason5

Something like "Reason.exe -oldschool" would be soooo cool and helpful.
Last edited by diminished on 16 Aug 2019, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 16 Aug 2019

future-bit wrote:
16 Aug 2019
If you need an old Reason, then you need version 2.5. That will work on Windows x64, and that can be bought on ebay. But 3.0.4 is better - because it has a combinator for convenient modulation and an m-class set for mastering.

You will also need Recycle to work with wav files in Dr. Rex.
I didn't think about this, I'm surprised even 2.5 will work on 64 bit. I thought it was Reason 5 or 6 that started supporting 64 bit, can older versions now work with this? :O

future-bit
Posts: 100
Joined: 07 May 2017

Post 16 Aug 2019

Why not? 64 bit Windows supports 32 bit applications. I just noticed that the buttons turned black.

Here is the song that I am working on right now.


diminished wrote:
16 Aug 2019
Ha. Asus?
Yes, a lightweight netbook. Only 1 kg in the backpack)

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 1431
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 16 Aug 2019

future-bit wrote:
16 Aug 2019
Why not?
I have never seen this question come up before so I had no idea.

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 267
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 17 Aug 2019

future-bit wrote:
16 Aug 2019
Why not? 64 bit Windows supports 32 bit applications. I just noticed that the buttons turned black.

Here is the song that I am working on right now.


diminished wrote:
16 Aug 2019
Ha. Asus?
Yes, a lightweight netbook. Only 1 kg in the backpack)
Reason 3... wow, that brings back memories. Funnily enough that is the version the uplifting trance guru Daniel Kandi used for basically all of his biggest hits. He was still using it even a few years ago.
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019) | Intel 8-Core i9 9900K | Radeon Pro Vega 48 | 24GB RAM

future-bit
Posts: 100
Joined: 07 May 2017

Post 17 Aug 2019

I think, oddly enough, the small number of tools in the old Reason is an advantage. It stimulates inventiveness.

My first synthesizer was the Yamaha PSS-51. For 5 years I did on it, everything that is possible and impossible. I knew all the features of the PSS-51 by heart. Then I grew up, I got a job, I got new synthesizers, but one I did not know as well. I did not have enough time to explore all the possibilities. I did not use them 100%.

User avatar
boingy
Posts: 425
Joined: 01 Feb 2019

Post 17 Aug 2019

future-bit wrote:
17 Aug 2019
I think, oddly enough, the small number of tools in the old Reason is an advantage. It stimulates inventiveness.
That is very true. I must have 60 or 70 soft synths at my fingertips. I only use about 4 of them!

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests