Drawing notes - little known feature

Have an urge to learn, or a calling to teach? Want to share some useful Youtube videos? Do it here!
User avatar
dioxide
Posts: 1117
Joined: 15 Jul 2015

Post 01 May 2019

If you draw a note in the main sequencer, you can hold the Shift key to move it up and down the keyscale. I've been using Reason for years and only discovered this yesterday! Try it!

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 678
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 01 May 2019

dioxide wrote:
01 May 2019
If you draw a note in the main sequencer, you can hold the Shift key to move it up and down the keyscale. I've been using Reason for years and only discovered this yesterday! Try it!
Image
buy BTC

WongoTheSane
Moderator
Posts: 1773
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

Post 02 May 2019

You have to keep the mouse pressed after the second click, then press Shift without releasing the mouse, and bingo, you can slide it up and down. Thanks dioxide, great tip!

User avatar
diminished
Posts: 1554
Joined: 15 Dec 2018

Post 02 May 2019

This is great, thanks for the tip!

While we're at it:
Selecting a note or a group of notes, then using your arrow keys while pressing CTRL moves them either up or down, or sideways on the grid you defined.
:reason: Most recent track: The Test (feat. MrFigg) || Others: on my YouTube channel •ᴗ•

User avatar
mjxl
Posts: 360
Joined: 23 Nov 2018

Post 02 May 2019

WongoTheSane wrote:
02 May 2019
You have to keep the mouse pressed after the second click, then press Shift without releasing the mouse, and bingo, you can slide it up and down. Thanks dioxide, great tip!
And instead of double clicking, we can use Alt + click. Alt-Shift + click also works :mrgreen:
:reason: 10+ :re:

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 1503
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 02 May 2019

I wish I was able to test this right now, because I’m not getting it...why would you need to hold shift when dragging a note up and down? or does this just lock it to its current position in time, so if you don’t have snap on, you don’t end up screwing up the timing?

WongoTheSane
Moderator
Posts: 1773
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

Post 02 May 2019

guitfnky wrote:
02 May 2019
I wish I was able to test this right now, because I’m not getting it...why would you need to hold shift when dragging a note up and down? or does this just lock it to its current position in time, so if you don’t have snap on, you don’t end up screwing up the timing?
It's not when you move a note, it's when you create it. Usually, if you double-click (or, as mjxl notes, alt-click) to create a note, keep the mouse pressed after the second click and move the mouse, it allows you to set its length. But now if you press Shift, you can instead change its note value.

shift.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 1503
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 02 May 2019

WongoTheSane wrote:
02 May 2019
guitfnky wrote:
02 May 2019
I wish I was able to test this right now, because I’m not getting it...why would you need to hold shift when dragging a note up and down? or does this just lock it to its current position in time, so if you don’t have snap on, you don’t end up screwing up the timing?
It's not when you move a note, it's when you create it. Usually, if you double-click (or, as mjxl notes, alt-click) to create a note, keep the mouse pressed after the second click and move the mouse, it allows you to set its length. But now if you press Shift, you can instead change its note value.


shift.gif
ah, got it now! I don’t manually add notes very often, so I didn’t even know you could drag to set the length when you create a note until just now. that’s two shortcuts for the price of one! 😆

WongoTheSane
Moderator
Posts: 1773
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

Post 03 May 2019

May Madness for tips! :D

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests