Ok So Who Wants To Play the "What The Hell Is This?" Game?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Post Reply
User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 388
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

15 Sep 2018

I noticed this while playing with the beta, but it's not just in the beta, it's in regular Reason 10.1. You can go to the beta thread for more info, but in the meantime - what is it, how do we use it, and what does it do? :puf_bigsmile:

mixer-inspector.jpg
mixer-inspector.jpg (103.89 KiB) Viewed 706 times

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 5539
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Richmond, VA

15 Sep 2018

These are my guesses...

A) It's maybe what the "navigator" in the Mixer used to be called, before perhaps being joined with all Navigators, but for some reason still shows up when viewing 'About Reason'?
B) It's a feature yet to come?
C) Something that was implemented in a test, but removed (but evidently, not completely)?
D) Some background development thing unrelated to a feature?

But nonetheless, regardless what it is, perhaps considered a bug that it is showing at all?

User avatar
QVprod
Posts: 1907
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Contact:

15 Sep 2018

Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 4582
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

16 Sep 2018

QVprod wrote:
15 Sep 2018
Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.
Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
Windows 10 64-bit | Reason 10 |  Studio One 3.5| Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD | RME babyface Pro| Nektar Panorama P-4 | M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 5539
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Richmond, VA

16 Sep 2018

EnochLight wrote:
16 Sep 2018
QVprod wrote:
15 Sep 2018
Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.
Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
The About Reason window needs to be open and have focus when also viewing Options, which is perhaps not possible to do on Windows.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 4582
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

16 Sep 2018

joeyluck wrote:
16 Sep 2018
EnochLight wrote:
16 Sep 2018


Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
The About Reason window needs to be open and have focus when also viewing Options, which is perhaps not possible to do on Windows.
It is possible on dual-monitors (which I am on).


10.1.2d1_duals.jpg
10.1.2d1_duals.jpg (402.23 KiB) Viewed 26 times


Anyway, I'm pretty sure this is a vestige leftover from the days when there was a channel inspector slider thingy at the top of Reason's main mixer back in the day. It's present in Reason 7.1, but was removed at version 8 and replaced with an always-present scroll bar at the bottom of the mixer. The funny thing is, I don't see an option to turn it off or on in 7.1 on Windows - there's only one option for all inspectors to be on/off.

Here's what it used to look like in 6.0-7.1:

Last edited by EnochLight on 18 Sep 2018, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 64-bit | Reason 10 |  Studio One 3.5| Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD | RME babyface Pro| Nektar Panorama P-4 | M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 388
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

16 Sep 2018

A-ha I found it!

inspector.jpg
inspector.jpg (138.45 KiB) Viewed 467 times




JK.

But it's what I think it could be.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 5539
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Richmond, VA

16 Sep 2018

It also displays when you have other windows open:

Preferences
Manage Plugins
Manage Content
Additional Remote Overrides...
Surface Locking...


I was thinking it's a remnant from a past version. Although I don't recall anything ever being called "inspector"
Before, even when we had the mixer navigator, it was still Mixer Navigator and Channel Strip Navigator. At least according to the old manual...

Image

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 6980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

16 Sep 2018

hurricane wrote:
16 Sep 2018
A-ha I found it!


inspector.jpg





JK.

But it's what I think it could be.
That would be SO cool!
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 388
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

16 Sep 2018

Yeah, I wish this is how it worked. It would be pretty awesome and extremely handy.

User avatar
QVprod
Posts: 1907
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Contact:

16 Sep 2018

EnochLight wrote:
16 Sep 2018
QVprod wrote:
15 Sep 2018
Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.
Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
Nope I'm a Mac guy.

Image

User avatar
kuhliloach
Posts: 528
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

16 Sep 2018

That's either Mario. Or Luigi. Just be careful with new features. If you inspect a Mixer Channel with it you might have to deal with a Goomba.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1022
Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

17 Sep 2018

hurricane wrote:
16 Sep 2018
inspector.jpg
Oh, I'd love that! :o

And this :)

Image
Reason 10 // Bitwig 2 // Live 10 // Studio One 4 @ Surface Pro 4 i7 8/256GB
My music: https://soundcloud.com/antic604

Palmeira
Posts: 105
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

17 Sep 2018

hurricane wrote:
16 Sep 2018
A-ha I found it!


inspector.jpg





JK.

But it's what I think it could be.
Fkin love that idea!

Post Reply
  • Information