Ok So Who Wants To Play the "What The Hell Is This?" Game?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 441
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 15 Sep 2018

I noticed this while playing with the beta, but it's not just in the beta, it's in regular Reason 10.1. You can go to the beta thread for more info, but in the meantime - what is it, how do we use it, and what does it do? :puf_bigsmile:

mixer-inspector.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 5692
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Richmond, VA

Post 15 Sep 2018

These are my guesses...

A) It's maybe what the "navigator" in the Mixer used to be called, before perhaps being joined with all Navigators, but for some reason still shows up when viewing 'About Reason'?
B) It's a feature yet to come?
C) Something that was implemented in a test, but removed (but evidently, not completely)?
D) Some background development thing unrelated to a feature?

But nonetheless, regardless what it is, perhaps considered a bug that it is showing at all?

User avatar
QVprod
Posts: 1995
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 15 Sep 2018

Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 4814
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 16 Sep 2018

QVprod wrote:
15 Sep 2018
Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.
Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
Windows 10 64-bit | Reason 10 |  Studio One 3.5 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD | RME babyface Pro| Nektar Panorama P-4 | M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 5692
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Richmond, VA

Post 16 Sep 2018

EnochLight wrote:
16 Sep 2018
QVprod wrote:
15 Sep 2018
Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.
Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
The About Reason window needs to be open and have focus when also viewing Options, which is perhaps not possible to do on Windows.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 4814
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 16 Sep 2018

joeyluck wrote:
16 Sep 2018
EnochLight wrote:
16 Sep 2018


Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
The About Reason window needs to be open and have focus when also viewing Options, which is perhaps not possible to do on Windows.
It is possible on dual-monitors (which I am on).


10.1.2d1_duals.jpg


Anyway, I'm pretty sure this is a vestige leftover from the days when there was a channel inspector slider thingy at the top of Reason's main mixer back in the day. It's present in Reason 7.1, but was removed at version 8 and replaced with an always-present scroll bar at the bottom of the mixer. The funny thing is, I don't see an option to turn it off or on in 7.1 on Windows - there's only one option for all inspectors to be on/off.

Here's what it used to look like in 6.0-7.1:

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by EnochLight on 18 Sep 2018, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 64-bit | Reason 10 |  Studio One 3.5 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD | RME babyface Pro| Nektar Panorama P-4 | M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 441
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 16 Sep 2018

A-ha I found it!

inspector.jpg




JK.

But it's what I think it could be.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 5692
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Richmond, VA

Post 16 Sep 2018

It also displays when you have other windows open:

Preferences
Manage Plugins
Manage Content
Additional Remote Overrides...
Surface Locking...


I was thinking it's a remnant from a past version. Although I don't recall anything ever being called "inspector"
Before, even when we had the mixer navigator, it was still Mixer Navigator and Channel Strip Navigator. At least according to the old manual...

Image

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 7251
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 16 Sep 2018

hurricane wrote:
16 Sep 2018
A-ha I found it!


inspector.jpg





JK.

But it's what I think it could be.
That would be SO cool!
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 441
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 16 Sep 2018

Yeah, I wish this is how it worked. It would be pretty awesome and extremely handy.

User avatar
QVprod
Posts: 1995
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 16 Sep 2018

EnochLight wrote:
16 Sep 2018
QVprod wrote:
15 Sep 2018
Probably a bug. Don't have that option on 10.1.
Are you on Windows? It's not on the Windows version of 10.1.2d1, even with the "About" window displayed, but it appears on the OSX version.
Nope I'm a Mac guy.

Image

User avatar
kuhliloach
Posts: 551
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

Post 16 Sep 2018

That's either Mario. Or Luigi. Just be careful with new features. If you inspect a Mixer Channel with it you might have to deal with a Goomba.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 1272
Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post 17 Sep 2018

hurricane wrote:
16 Sep 2018
inspector.jpg
Oh, I'd love that! :o

And this :)

Image
Reason 10 // Bitwig 2 // Live 10 @ Surface Pro 4 i7 8/256GB
My music: https://soundcloud.com/antic604

Palmeira
Posts: 105
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 17 Sep 2018

hurricane wrote:
16 Sep 2018
A-ha I found it!


inspector.jpg





JK.

But it's what I think it could be.
Fkin love that idea!

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests