Reason 9.5 & above CPU Stress Tests (2017, two different songfiles included)!

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
splangie
Posts: 202
Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Location: Park County, Colorado

Post 05 Mar 2019

Przemyslaw wrote:
05 Mar 2019

Many thanks for the description. It's very interesting that you went through the whole reason test complex. I have i7 7820x, after OC 19990 points in the passmark and I reach 56 seconds in this complex test. The remaining specification is comparable to yours. With the fact that it's great if you carried out the test on Tascam US2x2 drivers (preferably with 1024samples latency in Reason audio preferences). The control surface is unlikely to affect the test.
You have a very strong single core processor, I wonder if this determines such a huge performance. Your 3038 to 2489 in my single thread processor. That's 20% more.
As jam-s suggested I was running with CPU limit at none. Setting it 95% made a difference. I will try running out to the Tascam when I get a chance and see if that changes anything.

User avatar
splangie
Posts: 202
Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Location: Park County, Colorado

Post 05 Mar 2019

EnochLight wrote:
05 Mar 2019
splangie wrote:
04 Mar 2019

I don't have the option of turning off HT with a 9700k.
Of course you do - under Reason’s Preferences. And there should be an option under your motherboard BIOS if you want to turn it off for Windows (which I don’t recommend).
The 9700k doesn't run HT, just 8 straight cores. It is a slightly slower 9900k with HT turned off and less L3 cache. I picked it because it was about 150 cheaper than the 9900k at the time and I feel slightly less vulnerable to side channel attacks. Probably just a pipe dream and I probably should have sucked it up and picked the 9900.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5497
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 06 Mar 2019

splangie wrote:
05 Mar 2019
The 9700k doesn't run HT, just 8 straight cores.
viewtopic.php?p=434834#p434834

;)

Meh, that 9900 isn't really that much faster - single thread is almost identical to the 9700k. I'm sure you're fine.
Windows 10 | Reason 10.4 |  Studio One 4.5 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro| Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion

User avatar
splangie
Posts: 202
Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Location: Park County, Colorado

Post 06 Mar 2019

EnochLight wrote:
06 Mar 2019
splangie wrote:
05 Mar 2019
The 9700k doesn't run HT, just 8 straight cores.
viewtopic.php?p=434834#p434834

;)

Meh, that 9900 isn't really that much faster - single thread is almost identical to the 9700k. I'm sure you're fine.
It feels almost like buying a new 4x4 F250 and not getting the offroad package. Sorta. But maybe not.

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 5497
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 06 Mar 2019

splangie wrote:
06 Mar 2019
It feels almost like buying a new 4x4 F250 and not getting the offroad package. Sorta. But maybe not.
Lol! Yeah, that's a great comparison.
Windows 10 | Reason 10.4 |  Studio One 4.5 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Mushkin Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro| Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion

LiberalTugboat
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2017

Post 06 Mar 2019

splangie wrote:
04 Mar 2019
LiberalTugboat wrote:
01 Mar 2019
Does anyone still have this file? The links on the first page no longer work.
If you need a copy of those files let me know.
Yes, I would like a copy of the files. Can you upload them to a file service and DM me the link?

User avatar
splangie
Posts: 202
Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Location: Park County, Colorado

Post 07 Mar 2019

LiberalTugboat wrote:
06 Mar 2019
splangie wrote:
04 Mar 2019


If you need a copy of those files let me know.
Yes, I would like a copy of the files. Can you upload them to a file service and DM me the link?
Try this -
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... Cx5j6B_ApQ

User avatar
Kategra
Posts: 288
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 07 Mar 2019

splangie wrote:
07 Mar 2019
LiberalTugboat wrote:
06 Mar 2019


Yes, I would like a copy of the files. Can you upload them to a file service and DM me the link?
Try this -
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... Cx5j6B_ApQ

Hi all!
I've updated the links on the main post and now they should work!
I moved my online storage and did not realize I messed up, sorry :)

LiberalTugboat
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2017

Post 08 Mar 2019

Front page downloads work now. Thanks everyone! I will let you know how my computer does.

LiberalTugboat
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Oct 2017

Post 08 Mar 2019

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (stock speeds, Using Ryzen Balanced power setting)
RAM: 16GB DDR4 3200
Sound Card: Blue Yeti microphone (using ASIO4all @ 44.1 kHz and 512 Buffer)

When playback stops / Computer too slow warning appears COMPLEX RE ----> 4.4.2.49 (7 sec)
When playback stops / Computer too slow warning appears Simple FX Chain ----> 35.1.2.86 (1 min 8 sec)

User avatar
Kategra
Posts: 288
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 15 Mar 2019

"And as a nice bonus, it improves performance if you're not using VSTs too! Read on for the details..." https://www.propellerheads.com/blog/rea ... ow-in-beta

Can someone with access to the BETA 10.3 test before and after with the complex file to see the performance difference?

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2292
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 15 Mar 2019

Kategra wrote:
15 Mar 2019
"And as a nice bonus, it improves performance if you're not using VSTs too! Read on for the details..." https://www.propellerheads.com/blog/rea ... ow-in-beta

Can someone with access to the BETA 10.3 test before and after with the complex file to see the performance difference?
It's my understanding that the first round of beta testing is going to be with logging on, so one should wait until logging has been turned off before running the benchmark.

User avatar
Kategra
Posts: 288
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2019

:D Can someone with access to the BETA 10.3 test before and after with the complex file to see the performance difference?

User avatar
Neo
Posts: 73
Joined: 21 May 2015
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post 03 Apr 2019

Kategra wrote:
03 Apr 2019
:D Can someone with access to the BETA 10.3 test before and after with the complex file to see the performance difference?
Yeah i was wondering with this notification. Update hasn't officially drop yet. lol
:reason: :re: :ignition: | :PUF_take:

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2292
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 04 Apr 2019

OLD
Carly(Poohbear) wrote:
09 Nov 2018
i97940@4Ghz (base speed 3.1GHz)
Test settings 44.1Khz buffer 1024 samples and cpu 95%

Complex HT OFF 1:21
Complex With HT all the way through.

Simple HT OFF 2:00
Simple with HT 1:14

Reason 10.3
Test settings 44.1Khz buffer 1024 samples
Note you can't set the CPU limit anymore as that option has been removed.

Complex HT OFF All the way through, 3 Bars Just.
Complex With HT All the way through, 3 Bars Solid.

Simple HT OFF, @2:00 hit 6 bars, 2:15 first clicks and pops.
Simple with HT, @1:14 hit 6 bars, 1:20 first clicks and pops.

With the option "Render Audio using the Audio Card buffer size" turned off
Complex HT OFF All the way through, 5 Bars solid.
Complex With HT All the way through, 4 Bars Solid.

Reason 10.2
Test settings 44.1Khz buffer 1024 samples CPU limit set to none.

Complex HT OFF All the way through, 6 Bars @1:18, NO clicks or pops.
Complex With HT All the way through, just hiting the 6 Bars (no clicks or pops) 5 seconds before the end.

Simple HT OFF, @1:50 hit 6 bars, 1:58 first clicks and pops.
Simple with HT, @1:10 hit 6 bars, 1:16 first clicks and pops.

Note the original (old) test would have been Reason 10.0 (maybe 10.1)

Regards
PoohBear

User avatar
Kategra
Posts: 288
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 04 Apr 2019

Carly(Poohbear) wrote:
04 Apr 2019
OLD
Carly(Poohbear) wrote:
09 Nov 2018
i97940@4Ghz (base speed 3.1GHz)
Test settings 44.1Khz buffer 1024 samples and cpu 95%

Complex HT OFF 1:21
Complex With HT all the way through.

Simple HT OFF 2:00
Simple with HT 1:14

Reason 10.3
Test settings 44.1Khz buffer 1024 samples
Note you can't set the CPU limit anymore as that option has been removed.

Complex HT OFF All the way through, 3 Bars Just.
Complex With HT All the way through, 3 Bars Solid.

Simple HT OFF, @2:00 hit 6 bars, 2:15 first clicks and pops.
Simple with HT, @1:14 hit 6 bars, 1:20 first clicks and pops.

With the option "Render Audio using the Audio Card buffer size" turned off
Complex HT OFF All the way through, 5 Bars solid.
Complex With HT All the way through, 4 Bars Solid.

Reason 10.2
Test settings 44.1Khz buffer 1024 samples CPU limit set to none.

Complex HT OFF All the way through, 6 Bars @1:18, NO clicks or pops.
Complex With HT All the way through, just hiting the 6 Bars (no clicks or pops) 5 seconds before the end.

Simple HT OFF, @1:50 hit 6 bars, 1:58 first clicks and pops.
Simple with HT, @1:10 hit 6 bars, 1:16 first clicks and pops.

Note the original (old) test would have been Reason 10.0 (maybe 10.1)

Regards
PoohBear
Thank you for testing and posting your results!
So performance really improved for RE, not just VSTs! That's so wonderful! Hats of to Propellerhead team!

mcatalao
Posts: 971
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 21 Apr 2019

I just had a nice surprise... This file didn't run with R10.2 and with 10.3 it runs until 57 secs without crackling!

Reason 10.3 Buffer 1024, Intel I7 4790k

With the option "Render Audio using the Audio Card buffer size" turned off
Complex HT OFF plays up to 35 secs
Complex With HT ON plays up to 57 secs

I'm going to say again! This thing barely played one in 10.2 no matter what settings.

Cheers,
MC

Royal
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Apr 2019

Post 22 Apr 2019

i9 -9900K 3.6 ghz, / max 5 ghz
16 gb
MOTU 828 MK3
44100 Hz 1024 samples
m.2 ssd ADATA 1tb

Both simple and complex go all the way, completely smooth.
At complex my CPU was at 80%@ 4,6 GHZ (but i have multiple VirtualMachines running on this machine).

CPU limit seems to be missing in reason 10.3.

On my macbook pro 13 i7 no touch the song stops at < 1 sec :oops:

WongoTheSane
Moderator
Posts: 1726
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

Post 22 Apr 2019

Royal wrote:
22 Apr 2019
CPU limit seems to be missing in reason 10.3.
Yes, it's been removed.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests