File>Export Device Remote Info - New feature, new community project

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 1000
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 29 May 2017

Hey everyone,

I am going to start the project of compiling Remote Info for all the vsts into a github archive.

In 9.5, in the File menu, there is a new option to "Export Device Remote Info" which will generate a text file based on your selected device. Please do some of your VSTs, zip them up and send them to ReasonRemoteInfo@gmail.com

I'll take what I get and put it onto Github where we as a community can use them for creating remotemaps. But the first step is to get a central archive of them. I'm not too worried about duplicates right now I can weed those out, but if I run into any conflicts I'll probably respond and ask you which version of the VST you are using.

I'll update this post tomorrow with the github link.

(Note that there is an old project started by Koshdukai here, which compiles remotable items in Rack Extensions. This project is in that same spirit.)

Thanks
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

User avatar
Noise
Posts: 425
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lisbon

Post 29 May 2017

Looking forward to this, I've got a bunch of free vst's and I will try to send you the remote info! Thanks!!
Albums: BandCamp | Youtubz: Noise Channel
Projects: P1 Easy Remote Mapping | Personal Refill Sale Store: https://payhip.com/noisesystems | Title Generator! untitled.noiseshadow.com

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2798
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 29 May 2017

:thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: Nice one. :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up:

Why not hold RE's as well?

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 1000
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 29 May 2017

Carly(Poohbear) wrote::thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: Nice one. :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up:

Why not hold RE's as well?
I should have all of the REs (and stock devices) in my initial set. I'm going to have them up on github later today. I'm going to include a directory for scripts so we can make one to generate a list of what is there.
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

User avatar
gullum
Posts: 1245
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Faroe Islands

Post 29 May 2017

a much newer list on my dropbox for RE's https://www.dropbox.com/sh/hzzfb7sadljb ... N6YFa?dl=0 all from Koshdukai list are also in my folder

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 1000
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 29 May 2017

gullum wrote:a much newer list on my dropbox for RE's https://www.dropbox.com/sh/hzzfb7sadljb ... N6YFa?dl=0 all from Koshdukai list are also in my folder
Thank you for the updated link. We will be able to parse through the Remote Info exports to generate that format. (I'm going to include a directory for parsing scripts in the github, though warning I just run a local webserver and use php for quick and dirty coding.) I'll also generate a list of what's there when I do.

When I put the github up, I expect to have about 400 Reason devices and REs and maybe 300 or so VSTs that have been submitted so far. If you'd like to contribute, as you are taking your VST screenshots, just File>Export Device Remote Info and then send those exports to ReasonRemoteInfo (at) gmail.com
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

User avatar
Koshdukai
Posts: 367
Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Location: Portugal

Post 05 Jun 2017

Just in case anyone finds this useful, I'll share here the latest awk script I'm currently using to keep a global template compatible tab-separated flat table out of the info.txt files (this can then be loaded into something like a spreadsheet and you can do filtering, transforming, translation or cross-matching with your codecs for quick map building):

mkRemoteTemplate.awk:

Code: Select all

BEGIN	{
		FS="\t";
		NextLineIs="";
		print "//\tManufacturer/Control\tModel/Remoteable\tRemotable Item\tScale\tMode\t//\tMin\tMax\tInput type\tOutput type\tLINE\tMANUFACTURER\tMODEL\tTYPE";
		}

/^Scope$/	{
		man="";
		mod="";
		NextLineIs="";
		print "//";
		}

(NextLineIs=="Map")	{
			ctrl = "_control_";
			if ($4 == "-") {
				ctrl = "_output_";
			};
			print "//Map\t" ctrl "\t\t" $1 "\t\t\t\t//\t" $2 "\t" $3 "\t" $4 "\t" $5 "\t" NextLineIs "\t" man "\t" mod;
		}

(NextLineIs=="Scope")	{
		man = $1;
		mod = $2;
		print "Scope\t" man "\t" mod "\t\t\t\t//\t\t\t\t\t" NextLineIs "\t" man "\t" mod;
		NextLineIs="Header";
		print "//\tControl Surface Item\tKey\tRemotable Item\tScale\tMode" "\t//\t\t\t\t\t" NextLineIs "\t" man "\t" mod;
		NextLineIs="";
		}

/^Manufacturer\tModel$/	{
		NextLineIs="Scope";
		}

/^Remotable\tMin\tMax\tInput type\tOutput type$/ {
		NextLineIs="Map";
		}
So, doing:
awk -f mkRemoteTemplate.awk *Remote?Info.txt > GlobalRemoteTemplate.csv
will generate something like:

Code: Select all

//	Manufacturer/Control	Model/Remoteable	Remotable Item	Scale	Mode	//	Min	Max	Input type	Output type	LINE	MANUFACTURER	MODEL
Scope	Applied Acoustics Systems	vst.APl1.AAS Player				//					Scope	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//	Control Surface Item	Key	Remotable Item	Scale	Mode	//					Header	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Proxy Pitch Bend				//	-8192	8191	 Value 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Proxy Mod Wheel				//	0	127	 Value 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy Enabled				//	0	2	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy Note On Indicator				//	0	1	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy CV Input Indicator				//	0	1	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy Parameter Automation Indicator				//	0	1	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy Input Audio Meter				//	0	20	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy Output Audio Meter				//	0	20	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Proxy Power Button				//	0	1	 - 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	: Volume				//	0	4194304	 Value 	 ValueOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Device Name				//	0	0	 - 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_output_	Patch Name				//	0	0	 - 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Select Patch Delta				//	0	0	 Delta 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Select Previous Patch				//	0	0	 Trig 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Select Next Patch				//	0	0	 Trig 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Select Program Delta				//	0	0	 Delta 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Select Previous Program				//	0	0	 Trig 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
//Map	_control_	Select Next Program				//	0	0	 Trig 	 TextOutput 	Map	 Applied Acoustics Systems 	 vst.APl1.AAS Player
(Don't try to copy/paste the example above since ReasonTalk turns tabs into spaces, destroying the format. It's here just for reference)

This was done quickly, last night so it'll need some time to mature, optimize and evolve (I'll add "FORMAT" next, to distinguish between VST, RE and Native), but it's a start for a Template "new format", IMHO.

I'm also going to add "TYPE" for device type soon, but unfortunately, this one will need a master table for lookup, since the info.txt doesn't include the Instrument/Effect/Utility/Player info.
(I know we can infer Effects through the "Enabled 0 2 Value ValueOutput" line/Remoteable, but that's about it and not failsafe)

I guess next will be to output in XML instead, but I did this to get it in a quick text-editable Remote Map compatible format, for those needing that output ASAP.
Last edited by Koshdukai on 08 Sep 2018, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
jdotp
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 May 2017

Post 05 Jun 2017

I'm at around 750 VSTs, any you are looking for sooner rather than later?
--------
JP
No rhythm, can't carry a tune.

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 1000
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 12 Aug 2017

Thanks for the replies! I missed the replies here due to a family emergency in June. I've finally gotten this project up on Github here

https://github.com/KittenVillage/ReasonRemoteInfo

I've got a directory with all of the VST and REs all together, and there's a lot. I've also got a folder where I've parsed the Remotables list from last Feb for the the 488 device scopes that were in there. They all don't contain the "Note: Will match scope definitions" line in case you need to search them out to isolate the VSTs in there.

Please use the data in the repo! Add to it if you'd like. I'll be cleaning up some of my php parsing scripts and adding it to a Tools/Php/ directory.


Koshdukai wrote:
05 Jun 2017
Just in case anyone finds this useful, I'll share here the latest awk script I'm currently using to keep a global template compatible tab-separated flat table out of the info.txt files (this can then be loaded into something like a spreadsheet and you can do filtering, transforming, translation or cross-matching with your codecs for quick map building):

SNIP

(I know we can infer Effects through the "Enabled 0 2 Value ValueOutput" line/Remoteable, but that's about it and not failsafe)

I guess next will be to output in XML instead, but I did this to get it in a quick text-editable Remote Map compatible format, for those needing that output ASAP.
I had no idea there was a way to tell the Instrument from the Effect VST! Thank you!

jdotp wrote:
05 Jun 2017
I'm at around 750 VSTs, any you are looking for sooner rather than later?
Let's get them added!
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

djsmex
Posts: 241
Joined: 23 Aug 2016

Post 13 Aug 2017

Hi, will it be ok to share this github link on my downloads page: http://www.reasonremoter.uk/free/
just wanting to help spread the free resources

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 1000
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 13 Aug 2017

djsmex wrote:
13 Aug 2017
Hi, will it be ok to share this github link on my downloads page: http://www.reasonremoter.uk/free/
just wanting to help spread the free resources
Yes, please. I am just trying to get as many as I can in one place so everyone can use them. And if anyone wants to share a parsing script or something, there's a tools folder for those.

I was eventually going to parse things out to make a larger Remotemap for Automap using VSTs. The Remote codec for Automap is dense, interesting stuff to me. But my takeaway after looking at it months ago was that it has a unique way of passing the remotable item's name off to the Automap program.

But I digress. Yes, share the link. There's 488 Reason and RE Remote Infos in there, and 2500+ VSTs. I have noticed a few differences between mac and pc VST Remote Infos and also between versions of VSTs. But the point of gathering them was to mine the data, see what's there and see what people want to do with it. Oh, and I'm fine with people sending me VST Remote Infos anonymously.
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2798
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 02 Dec 2017

Do you have the data in a database ? (or just separate files?)

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 1000
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 02 Dec 2017

Carly(Poohbear) wrote:
02 Dec 2017
Do you have the data in a database ? (or just separate files?)
I have everything up as separate files. I've just added some of the new R10 REs. In the RE folder where you see the company name in the file name, that's parsed from the last semi-official remoteinfo list that Propellerhead gave the developers in Feb or June.
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2798
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 02 Dec 2017

Catblack wrote:
02 Dec 2017
Carly(Poohbear) wrote:
02 Dec 2017
Do you have the data in a database ? (or just separate files?)
I have everything up as separate files. I've just added some of the new R10 REs. In the RE folder where you see the company name in the file name, that's parsed from the last semi-official remoteinfo list that Propellerhead gave the developers in Feb or June.
It's all cool, I have them in db now.... lot easier to work with..

Not quite all as I don't have the ones you have just added... :)

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests