Zoom your Reason rack

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
rcbuse
Posts: 898
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: SR388

Post 17 Jan 2015

For anyone on OS X, System Prefrences > Accessilibity -> Zoom.  I personally enable the 'Use scroll gesture with modifier to zoom': ^ Control, Turn smooth images off, Zoom style: Fullscreen.

Then its just Control + Scroll Up/Down and it works like magic.

User avatar
jfrichards
Posts: 1171
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: New York

Post 17 Jan 2015

On my iMac, it's System Preferences>Accessibility>Zoom  and then you have choices how to do it.  Mine is set up for Command Mouse-Scroll.  Really good for rack device twiddling.

User avatar
rvman
Posts: 125
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 17 Jan 2015

I'll check it out. I've used the magnifier tool with windows 8 on my laptop a few times.
********************************
Reason 8, EZ Drummer 2, Loop Loft loops

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6067
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 18 Jan 2015

I don't see any reason to Install ZoomIt. Using your Windows Key plus "+/-" keys, you have this functionality already in Windows. The resolution seems about the same as well, IMHO.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Namahs Amrak
Banned user
Posts: 609
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Australia

Post 18 Jan 2015

EnochLight wrote:I don't see any reason to Install ZoomIt. Using your Windows Key plus "+/-" keys, you have this functionality already in Windows. The resolution seems about the same as well, IMHO.
The zoom increment looks more precise with this software, whereas with your suggestion it jumps immediately to a 200% magnification. Ideally I would like the feature of CTRL +/- to work in Reason as it does in a browser window, where you can increase the size a little bit as required. Zoomit seems to work more like the CTRL +/- feature, although I haven't installed it, just basing it on a quick look at the video Nicola posted.

EDIT: Just discovered that magnifier can be customised to 25% increments, which looks to be on par with that video. So indeed, where is the value of installing this for Windows 8 users I wonder.
My Words are my ART

User avatar
Orion
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2015

I'm already learning stuff here. Great!

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6067
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 18 Jan 2015

EnochLight wrote:I don't see any reason to Install ZoomIt. Using your Windows Key plus "+/-" keys, you have this functionality already in Windows. The resolution seems about the same as well, IMHO.
Namahs Amrak wrote:
The zoom increment looks more precise with this software, whereas with your suggestion it jumps immediately to a 200% magnification. Ideally I would like the feature of CTRL +/- to work in Reason as it does in a browser window, where you can increase the size a little bit as required. Zoomit seems to work more like the CTRL +/- feature, although I haven't installed it, just basing it on a quick look at the video Nicola posted.

EDIT: Just discovered that magnifier can be customised to 25% increments, which looks to be on par with that video. So indeed, where is the value of installing this for Windows 8 users I wonder.
Yep. Also, Magnifyer is built-in to Windows 7 as well. I do like the fact that you can use the scroll wheel to zoom in the ZoomIt app though. That's pretty cool.
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
tiker01
Posts: 1230
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2015

Nice, thank you.
    
Budapest, Hungary
Reason 10
Lenovo ThinkPad e520 Win10x64 8GB RAM Intel i5-2520M 2,5-3,2 GHz and AMD 6630M with 1GB of memory.
:rt: :reason: :essentials: :re: :refill: :PUF_balance: :ignition: :PUF_figure:

User avatar
Arrant
Posts: 309
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2015

Great info, thanks! Can't believe I didn't know about windows +/-

Off to program some synths, close-up style :)

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6067
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 18 Jan 2015

Full disclosure: shameless plug. :D

I used the built-in Windows Magnifyer for the zoom effect in the Synapse Audio GQ-7 promo I made for them:

https://shop.propellerheads.se/product/ ... equalizer/

http://youtu.be/AePQFo25FPU
Win 10 | Reason 11 |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live | Roland System 8 and System 1 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
Marketblandings
Posts: 168
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2015

EnochLight wrote:I don't see any reason to Install ZoomIt. Using your Windows Key plus "+/-" keys, you have this functionality already in Windows. The resolution seems about the same as well, IMHO.
Bless you, my child. I really needed this and didn't realize it was right there in the laptop.
Took a few minutes to figure out that you move the zoomed in window by banging against the sides of it, though.........

Oooo. Maybe the arrow keys might move it? Will try.

Heater
Posts: 312
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2015

Given that the props force all devs to produce their GUI's in 3D.  I never understood why you couldn't have every element in Reason resizable.  


User avatar
flightONE
Posts: 67
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 18 Jan 2015

It's probably safe to assume that something will  be done at some point, given that most displays are going hi-res these days....  maybe they are improving the way the rack is displayed in future versions,  you can sort of  tell that reason 8 has a 3d-ish feel to the transport bar with those take-esque block things , also the mobile apps,take and figure are already hi-res... 

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Jmax, Sterioevo and 10 guests