PC Upgrade

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 10 Jul 2024

So I'm moving from

Dell Desktop Inspiron 3847
Windows 10
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.20 GHz
Installed RAM 8.00 GB

To
OptiPlex Small Form Factor
Windows 11
Processor Intel® Core™ i7 14700 vPro® (33 MB cache, 20 cores, 28 threads, up to 5.3 GHz Turbo)
Installed RAM 32 GB: 2 x 16 GB, DDR5

A bit nervous because I recall the last time I did this it was not simple to get everything going like I wanted.

Wish me luck.

User avatar
Neo
Posts: 555
Joined: 21 May 2015
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post 11 Jul 2024

What an update.. Luck.
:reason: :re: :ignition: Atari 1040ST | R11 Suite 🡭 R12 | i7 | RME

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 11 Jul 2024

Neo wrote:
11 Jul 2024
What an update.. Luck.
Thanks Neo.

I expect I'll be back for advice as I get more into this new system, setting up Reason and all.

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 13 Jul 2024

The first issue revealed itself this morning. The new box only has display port 1.4a connections. And all I have are HDMI cables. So tomorrow the new adapter should arrive from Amazon.

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 15 Jul 2024

Ok then I recon I'm, screwed with my audio interfaces.

Neither my Balance nor my M-Audio Fast Track pro are available due to their drivers being unavailable.

I tried to download the Balance driver from RS, but my machine won't do it. "Can't be downloaded securely"

I am not happy.

These two devices worked fine before.

:(

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3128
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 15 Jul 2024

You can try Asio4All. Also that "Can't be downloaded securely" can be ignored/worked around (it is simply complaining that the link is just plain http instead of https, so simply fix the link).

Edit: keep this thread in mind, though: viewtopic.php?t=7507111

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 15 Jul 2024

jam-s wrote:
15 Jul 2024
You can try Asio4All. Also that "Can't be downloaded securely" can be ignored/worked around (it is simply complaining that the link is just plain http instead of https, so simply fix the link).

Edit: keep this thread in mind, though: viewtopic.php?t=7507111

The system refused to complete the install.
I had to turn off memory integrity under core isolation for it to go in.
Now I can't turn memory integrity back on due to the Balance driver.
I'm not comfortable with this off.

Regards.

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 16 Jul 2024

Ok then. That was not fun.

One of the balance drivers refused to be deleted.

Found a solution though.

Run C:\Users\*****\Downloads\DriverStoreExplorer.v0.11.92

That took it away.

I had to delete the .sys and .inf files in order to turn core isolation back on.

Guess I will be shopping for a new audio interface. Who hoo!

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 16 Jul 2024

Well, working around this lack-of-interface for the moment.

Exported my track to my Tascam DP-24SD.

Now I can do live audio, but my usual workflow is jacked up bad now.

Oh well, it's a hobby.

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 17 Jul 2024

Well, I think I want the M-Audio M-Track Duo audio interface.

Except it only has one monitor out.

I have two sets of monitor speakers hence why I had two interfaces.

What kind of a gizmo would I need to allow me to run the monitor out to a switch or patch box that I could choose either set of monitor speakers or both?

Thanks

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 17 Jul 2024

Dabbler wrote:
17 Jul 2024
Well, I think I want the M-Audio M-Track Duo audio interface.

Except it only has one monitor out.

I have two sets of monitor speakers hence why I had two interfaces.

What kind of a gizmo would I need to allow me to run the monitor out to a switch or patch box that I could choose either set of monitor speakers or both?

Thanks
Something like "Mackie Big Knob Passive Studio Monitor Controller" is perfect for your exact situation and around $70 USD.
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... 4kQAvD_BwE
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... lsrc=aw.ds
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 17 Jul 2024

selig wrote:
17 Jul 2024
Dabbler wrote:
17 Jul 2024
Well, I think I want the M-Audio M-Track Duo audio interface.

Except it only has one monitor out.

I have two sets of monitor speakers hence why I had two interfaces.

What kind of a gizmo would I need to allow me to run the monitor out to a switch or patch box that I could choose either set of monitor speakers or both?

Thanks
Something like "Mackie Big Knob Passive Studio Monitor Controller" is perfect for your exact situation and around $70 USD.
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... 4kQAvD_BwE
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... lsrc=aw.ds
Yea that would work.
Thanks Selig.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3128
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 17 Jul 2024


User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 17 Jul 2024

jam-s wrote:
17 Jul 2024
Another option might be https://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_studio_l.htm
This will work too, though a bit too much for what I need at the moment.

Thanks jam-s

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3128
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 17 Jul 2024

Dabbler wrote:
17 Jul 2024
jam-s wrote:
17 Jul 2024
Another option might be https://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_studio_l.htm
This will work too, though a bit too much for what I need at the moment.

Thanks jam-s
The nice thing about it is that it includes the audio interface.

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 19 Jul 2024

jam-s wrote:
17 Jul 2024
Dabbler wrote:
17 Jul 2024


This will work too, though a bit too much for what I need at the moment.

Thanks jam-s
The nice thing about it is that it includes the audio interface.
Yes.
It is a sweet unit.
I like it.
Maybe next time.
Thanks for the suggestion.

User avatar
Theo.M
Posts: 1230
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 22 Jul 2024

Very nice specs, that's the key that some don't realise if wanting to buy a brand name PC for audio work. Buy from the business line. HP are apparently really great too with their workstations and DAWs. How's the noise level and performance so far?
Mac Studio M2 Ultra/64Gb/Apollo T-Bolt 3/OS 14.5.0/PT 2024/Nuendo 13
MSI GT77/13980HX/RTX 4090m/64GB/Arturia Minifuse 2/Win 11 Pro/S1 V6/Bitwig 5/Low DPC latency tuned

User avatar
Dabbler
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Jan 2015
Location: Louisville, KY

Post 23 Jul 2024

So far great. The Duo is doing fine.
Just ordered a USB/IDE adapter in order to get Abbey Road Keys installed. Then I’m going to remove my old HDD to get some other files I’m missing.
The noise level is good. There’s only a fan but I usually don’t hear it.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests