Beat Map and Drum Sequencer Note Lock

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
MirrorEyEs
Posts: 107
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 24 Jan 2024

Currently when you change presets all the the note assignments are reset to defaults (C1 ascending). Some Kong and Redrum kits have the individual hits organised in different ways. Sometimes entire refills or folders worth of kits have the same setup, that differs from the default C1 ascending.

It would be useful to be able to lock and unlock the midi note assignments, linked to the browser would be a really nice touch ie. you could switch it on and off via the device itself and in browser! It could be nice and visible with the player display showing the notes in red and/or the display dimming to red or red accents and a red Midi Notes Locked light on the device front panel to ensure there is no doubt!
Reason 12 - Horrible plastic M-Audio Oxygen 49 and a battered pair of Sony MDR V6 cans

User avatar
deeplink
Competition Winner
Posts: 1073
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai / Cape Town

Post 24 Jan 2024

Totally agree.

For now, the work around is to target CV to the note # - which can be done in the through combinator environment.

This works for any other device too that you wish to "lock" into a particular state, as long as it assignable the combinator.
Get more Combinators at the deeplink website

User avatar
huggermugger
Posts: 1301
Joined: 16 Jul 2021

Post 24 Jan 2024

It's not a perfect solution, but Delta can do the note reassignments easily enough, and you can save and recall different Delta maps for various kit configurations so they're easy to recall.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 2321
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

Post 24 Jan 2024

huggermugger wrote:
24 Jan 2024
It's not a perfect solution, but Delta can do the note reassignments easily enough, and you can save and recall different Delta maps for various kit configurations so they're easy to recall.
Nice solution. Although I've picked up Delta during the last BF-sale, I got Grid64P0 specifically for remapping assignments a (longer) while ago. Setting up a mapping is a bit involved with this one, but after setting up it's just loading the preset, of course. If someone doesn't have Delta, Grid64P0 could be a cheaper alternative. Also, Grid64P0 uses less CPU than Delta.
-------
Analog tape ⇒ ESQ1 sequencer board ⇒ Atari/Steinberg Pro24 ⇒ Atari/Cubase ⇒ Cakewalk Sonar ⇒ Orion Pro/Platinum ⇒ Reaper ⇒ Reason DAW.

User avatar
MirrorEyEs
Posts: 107
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 28 Jan 2024

Good workarounds but yeah I don't have either RE.

It's such a small oversite that makes both players a chore to use, instead of the instant fun there supposed to be!
Reason 12 - Horrible plastic M-Audio Oxygen 49 and a battered pair of Sony MDR V6 cans

Bes
Competition Winner
Posts: 1128
Joined: 22 Feb 2017

Post 29 Jan 2024

step1. inside a combinator, sit those players above any instrument with its audio out uncoupled
step2. also within the combinator, create your drum machine of choice. flip the rack, map the triggers as you please from the players to the drum machine
step3. save it like this so you can open it anytime
you get it right? now you can patch surf with the mapping locked
- Certified Reason expert

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest