Redrum steps1-64 follow

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
Marc64
Posts: 713
Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 14 Apr 2023

When using more than 16 steps I wish it automaticaly changed to next 16 steps up to 64 when hit play.
Or atleast an button with the option to do so on Redrum.

User avatar
w1pl0c
Posts: 173
Joined: 10 Oct 2017

Post 14 Apr 2023

gate out player combi shenanigans solution?

Marc64
Posts: 713
Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 14 Apr 2023

w1pl0c wrote:
14 Apr 2023
gate out player combi shenanigans solution?
How? :)

User avatar
deeplink
Competition Winner
Posts: 994
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai / Cape Town

Post 15 Apr 2023

Interesting, one of the things I don't like about Polystep is that it does just this!

OP, I doubt this feature would ever been implemented - so I work around for now is to automate 4x16 step patterns.
Get more Combinators at the deeplink website

User avatar
mimidancer
Posts: 511
Joined: 30 Sep 2021

Post 13 May 2023

Marc64 wrote:
14 Apr 2023
When using more than 16 steps I wish it automaticaly changed to next 16 steps up to 64 when hit play.
Or atleast an button with the option to do so on Redrum.
rt click on the pattern select buttons edit automation the put the clip numbers by measure on the sequencer. I do that often with Robotic Beans Sequences cause 2 measures are not enough for me. also, that method will shut off the player when a clip is not on the track.

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 4524
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Fanboy Shill, Boomertown

Post 13 May 2023

Marc64 wrote:
14 Apr 2023
When using more than 16 steps I wish it automaticaly changed to next 16 steps up to 64 when hit play.
Or atleast an button with the option to do so on Redrum.
I wish Redrum had a lot of features it doesn't have. I would LOVE to see Reason Studios revisit their old devices and give them major updates (similar to what they did with RV7k). That would be more interesting and exciting for me to have in Reason 13 than them adding any new devices.

What I am understanding that you want to do here, Marc64, is to have a button to press that will play the next set of 16 steps. Well, you do have the option of 28 patterns in the bank that you can select between. Just build a bunch of 16 step patterns in each of the 28 banks (A1, A2, A3, A4... B1, B2, B3... and so on).

Redrum has very limited automation options, which is ridiculous. You can't automate the number of steps or resolution knob, but you CAN automate the pattern selection buttons.

You could also program a Combi to control the pattern selection buttons via a Matrix, which opens up a bunch of new possibilities, as the Matrix has the same number of pattern banks as the Redrum.
Combi patch:
RedrumPatternSelect-CM.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Players are to MIDI what synthesizers are to waveforms.

ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

Marc64
Posts: 713
Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 19 May 2023

Well I know that you can switch between different patterns like the video but I mean when you have like 64 steps the edit step should (optional) move with it to show 1-16, 17-32 etc.

rmtcvolte
Posts: 189
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

Post 11 Jun 2023

Marc64 wrote:
19 May 2023
Well I know that you can switch between different patterns like the video but I mean when you have like 64 steps the edit step should (optional) move with it to show 1-16, 17-32 etc.
As "Edit Steps" is a remotable item, you can do this with a remote codec and a virtual midi device locked to the redrum you working on. Still interested?

Marc64
Posts: 713
Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 15 Jun 2023

rmtcvolte wrote:
11 Jun 2023
Marc64 wrote:
19 May 2023
Well I know that you can switch between different patterns like the video but I mean when you have like 64 steps the edit step should (optional) move with it to show 1-16, 17-32 etc.
As "Edit Steps" is a remotable item, you can do this with a remote codec and a virtual midi device locked to the redrum you working on. Still interested?
I can't control the edit step. How is/what is the remote codec for that?

Never mind, I found it :)

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11287
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 15 Jun 2023

deeplink wrote:
15 Apr 2023
Interesting, one of the things I don't like about Polystep is that it does just this!

OP, I doubt this feature would ever been implemented - so I work around for now is to automate 4x16 step patterns.
The sequencer in the MiniBrute 2s has both options, which I find most useful.
Selig Audio, LLC

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests