Reason 12 doesn't work with old video card (OpenGL old version)

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
dasmode
Posts: 31
Joined: 09 Dec 2020

Post 04 Sep 2021

What are the new requirements for video cards?

Unfortunately, I am having problems working on an ATI Radeon HD 3870 video card.
Yes, it's an old card, but I don't play games. Reason 11 and other programs work without problems. But Reason 12 doesn't show the whole interface.

I'm afraid I can't afford the new modern video cards.

ATI.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by dasmode on 04 Sep 2021, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3898
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 04 Sep 2021

I'm using it ok with an intel HD 4000 based laptop, maybe it's not the video card but something else?

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 4242
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 04 Sep 2021

damn, that sucks. cards are super expensive these days. first thing to check would be that you have the most updated card drivers to see if that helps. if that doesn’t work, does it render properly if you use an integrated graphics output, instead of the card? hopefully it’s a bug with Reason 12 that will get patched.
I write good music for good people

https://slow-robot.com/
https://slowrobot.bandcamp.com/

dasmode
Posts: 31
Joined: 09 Dec 2020

Post 04 Sep 2021

guitfnky wrote:
04 Sep 2021
damn, that sucks. cards are super expensive these days. first thing to check would be that you have the most updated card drivers to see if that helps. if that doesn’t work, does it render properly if you use an integrated graphics output, instead of the card? hopefully it’s a bug with Reason 12 that will get patched.
I tormented for two days, figuring out the reason, and realized that it was a video card.

If I remove the video card driver then Reason 12 works. But this blurry image is 1024 * 768 instead of 1920 * 1080.

noATI.png

Unfortunately, this is a regular desktop computer and will not work without a video card.

The driver is the latest, it is installed automatically. I have tried older versions of the driver, the same situation. Windows 10 is reinstalled, clean and updated to the latest version.

So I think the old video cards cannot work with Reason 12.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dasmode
Posts: 31
Joined: 09 Dec 2020

Post 04 Sep 2021

I found a solution. I assumed it might have something to do with OpenGL.
ATI Radeon HD 3870 video card drivers were last updated in 2015. It is impossible to install new drivers, I tried it.

I downloaded the new Non-WHQL-Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2020-21.5.2-Win10-64Bit-May17.exe drivers and unpacked via 7-zip.
I found two dlls that may be related to OpenGL:

atio6axx.dll
atioglxx.dll

OpenGL.png

Then I copied it to the С:\Windows\System32

Reason 12 now works fine, fonts and other elements are now displayed.

work.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

robotgard
Posts: 146
Joined: 08 Sep 2018

Post 08 Sep 2021

I have an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 550 Ti card.
Also a problem with OpenGL. Incorrect scaling.

1630658889759.png
Buttons do not work.

zoom2.gif
Recent drivers have been released in 2018.

I have our two files that affect OpenGL: nvoglv32.dll and nvoglv64.dll.

I found two workarounds:

1. Delete from system folder

C:\Windows\System32\nvoglv64.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\nvoglv32.dll

2. Install the latest official drivers, in which to replace similar dlls from the current drivers of another card.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 10131
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 08 Sep 2021

Pretty brave to exchange DLLs. Good that it works. Maybe this can help others too.
Reason12, Win10

CaptainBlack
Posts: 120
Joined: 24 Mar 2015

Post 09 Sep 2021

guitfnky wrote:
04 Sep 2021
damn, that sucks. cards are super expensive these days.
Only if you want a top of the range gaming card. You can buy a very useable new card for well below 100.

User avatar
guitfnky
Posts: 4242
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 09 Sep 2021

CaptainBlack wrote:
09 Sep 2021
guitfnky wrote:
04 Sep 2021
damn, that sucks. cards are super expensive these days.
Only if you want a top of the range gaming card. You can buy a very useable new card for well below 100.
maybe doesn’t impact low-end cards, but it’s still a problem for even mid-tier. I had to replace my GPU earlier this year and got a bargain bin 1660 Super for $370. a month or two later the same card was selling for $600. it’s only down to $550 now at Best Buy, where I bought it.
I write good music for good people

https://slow-robot.com/
https://slowrobot.bandcamp.com/

robotgard
Posts: 146
Joined: 08 Sep 2018

Post 14 Oct 2021

I created Reason Beta issue # 104024 about OpenGL.
I spent two evenings reinstalling Windows and provided all the information in the ticket.

But in the end, they thanked me and my ticket was closed. The problem still exists.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 2227
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 14 Oct 2021

robotgard wrote:
14 Oct 2021
I created Reason Beta issue # 104024 about OpenGL.
I spent two evenings reinstalling Windows and provided all the information in the ticket.

But in the end, they thanked me and my ticket was closed. The problem still exists.
Sounds like Loui from RS support misunderstood your comment. You should reply to the ticket and state that the problem is not solved.

RobC
Posts: 1428
Joined: 10 Mar 2018

Post 26 Jun 2022

Just updated to R12, same issue here, even the login screen has no text. Otherwise everything else would be fine.

PC is old, too, but plenty enough for music. But yeah, the integrated ATI Radeon HD 4200 crap gives me a hard time, too. Heck, I had to install a legacy AMD catalyst driver thing, because the IPS monitor was underscanned with Win10 default drivers (meaning shrunk/scaled down, and having black boarders).

But basically, either I get a graphics card, or I should risk adding those .dll files?
Also, could you please share those two files?

RobC
Posts: 1428
Joined: 10 Mar 2018

Post 26 Jun 2022

Never mind, found it! https://www.dll-files.com/atio6axx.dll.html
Worked!

Thank you, dasmode!

sofine
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Aug 2019

Post 02 Aug 2022

dasmode wrote:
04 Sep 2021
I found a solution. I assumed it might have something to do with OpenGL.
ATI Radeon HD 3870 video card drivers were last updated in 2015. It is impossible to install new drivers, I tried it.

I downloaded the new Non-WHQL-Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2020-21.5.2-Win10-64Bit-May17.exe drivers and unpacked via 7-zip.
I found two dlls that may be related to OpenGL:

atio6axx.dll
atioglxx.dll


OpenGL.png


Then I copied it to the С:\Windows\System32

Reason 12 now works fine, fonts and other elements are now displayed.


work.png
I want to thank you for this fix. It worked perfectly for me. :clap: :thumbup:

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1290
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 03 Aug 2022

That's why I have never bought a laptop with discrete video card. Only integrated.
OEM drivers for laptops is a nightmare.
ATi HD 3850-70-90 videocards are some of the best ever made.
I keep one to this day bc it just post. I bet W10 is the one giving headache.
I had written MS a gazillion times to stop screwing up my AMD Drivers.

DDOS attacks are your best friends. Joking :D MS update service stopped working... firewalls... better move...
Jokes apart... other RS bugs could be related to this two .dll...
interesting...

Mich01
Posts: 119
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 03 Aug 2022

Wow, thanks for sharing this solution. I Had the same issue here on an ATI Radeon 4300.
I replaced the atio6axx.dll (only) and so far everything seems right. (didn't try the zoomfunction yet though ;D)

At last I can mess around with R 12.

Best regards Michel

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 2227
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 03 Aug 2022

loui wrote: ... (just for notification)
@loui: Wouldn't adding the workaround be a good thing to add to the trouble shooting FAQ?

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7856
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Imladris

Post 03 Aug 2022

dasmode wrote:
04 Sep 2021
I found a solution. I assumed it might have something to do with OpenGL.
ATI Radeon HD 3870 video card drivers were last updated in 2015. It is impossible to install new drivers, I tried it.

I downloaded the new Non-WHQL-Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2020-21.5.2-Win10-64Bit-May17.exe drivers and unpacked via 7-zip.
I found two dlls that may be related to OpenGL:

atio6axx.dll
atioglxx.dll


OpenGL.png


Then I copied it to the С:\Windows\System32

Reason 12 now works fine, fonts and other elements are now displayed.
I just wanted to chime in and bump thank you for this suggestion. Reason 12 has long been broke on my old-ass office computer at work, so tooling around on lunch was never an option due to my old integrated Radeon HD6450. The PC is about 12 years old, and the employer has no desire to update them right now, so I've just been stuck not using R12 at work.

I did a Google search and pulled up the exact "Non-WHQL-Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-2020-21.5.2-Win10-64Bit-May17.exe" file, and used 7-zip to unpack it as well. Did a search for those two *.dll's and copied them to the System32 folder. Restarted Windows, and BAM!!!! Reason 12 now displays correctly on my old machine.

Cheers mate!
Win 10 | Ableton Live 11 Suite |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

loui
Reason Studios
Posts: 19
Joined: 17 Jun 2015

Post 04 Aug 2022

jam-s wrote:
03 Aug 2022


@loui: Wouldn't adding the workaround be a good thing to add to the trouble shooting FAQ?
I know what you mean and it might sound as an easy fix. But we would have to investigate what these dll's do and if they are safe to install before we would even consider pointing our users to this installer.

Even if this graphic issue has existed for a long time now I can assure you we are still working on it. And I hope we can include a fix for it in an update soon. We know that the issue started after a certain Skia update (it's necessary to update Skia) we just have to decide how to circumnavigate it. Maybe we can learn something by studying these dll's.

So don't give up your hopes on this issue.
Meanwhile, I'm glad to hear many of you were helped by this work around.

Thanks for sharing!

Loui

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Trendiction [Bot] and 2 guests