Audio rate maths

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
RoryM0
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Jun 2017

Post 06 Jan 2022

Is there any way with Reason or the RE world to perform audio rate signal maths? for example taking two inputs say one from Subtractor and one from Kong and multiplying them?

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9919
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 06 Jan 2022

Its a VST:
https://socalabs.com/developer-tools/maths/

As a RE, but not supported anymore and i heard from a few bugs - not sure about it:
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... th-module/
Reason12, Win10

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2185
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 06 Jan 2022

RoryM0 wrote:
06 Jan 2022
Is there any way with Reason or the RE world to perform audio rate signal maths? for example taking two inputs say one from Subtractor and one from Kong and multiplying them?
I can multiply stereo audio signals (it's called amplitude or ring modulation btw) in my Extreme Dynamics RE (INPUT and GAIN sockets on the back). It can even use oversampling for both inputs to help suppress intermodulation and aliasing effects.

User avatar
Pepin
Posts: 290
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 06 Jan 2022

If you have Complex-1, it can multiply audio signals using the "Scale & Amp" section.
And there's various other operations than can be done using the Function section.

User avatar
RoryM0
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Jun 2017

Post 06 Jan 2022

Loque wrote:
06 Jan 2022
As a RE, but not supported anymore and i heard from a few bugs - not sure about it:
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... th-module/
Thanks all for your responses. Loque this made me realise that I actually have this RE but have never used it!

This brings something completely unrelated up that I was thinking while looking at the devices I have to see if any had this functionality and I had missed it... I wish there was a way to search REs based on their lower level functions! With devices 'having their own character' with much crossover of abilities and features it can be hard to find a solution that might be buried in the available features and ins and outs of a device. More exploration needed of my RE collection it seems :)

User avatar
RoryM0
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Jun 2017

Post 07 Jan 2022

Checking out Equation and it certainly does the sort of thing I was looking for so that's great - any idea what these bugs are that were mentioned?

Also I realised I can get the effect I'm looking for with Thor (is there anything it doesn't do?!) by sending an audio input 1 to the input of Filter 3 and then scaling that with audio input 2 :)

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2185
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 07 Jan 2022

RoryM0 wrote:
07 Jan 2022
Also I realised I can get the effect I'm looking for with Thor (is there anything it doesn't do?!) by sending an audio input 1 to the input of Filter 3 and then scaling that with audio input 2 :)
Thor doesn't do it properly. It definitely resamples the "scale" signal at CV rate (sample rate / 64).

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 10002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 07 Jan 2022

orthodox wrote:
07 Jan 2022
RoryM0 wrote:
07 Jan 2022
Also I realised I can get the effect I'm looking for with Thor (is there anything it doesn't do?!) by sending an audio input 1 to the input of Filter 3 and then scaling that with audio input 2 :)
Thor doesn't do it properly. It definitely resamples the "scale" signal at CV rate (sample rate / 64).
I just tried ring mod with Thor, just using inputs and outputs and not connecting to filter 3 and it is definitely not limited to CV rate (able to produce clean tones well above 5 kHz). Not sure if that is what you're talking about?
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2185
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 07 Jan 2022

selig wrote:
07 Jan 2022
orthodox wrote:
07 Jan 2022


Thor doesn't do it properly. It definitely resamples the "scale" signal at CV rate (sample rate / 64).
I just tried ring mod with Thor, just using inputs and outputs and not connecting to filter 3 and it is definitely not limited to CV rate (able to produce clean tones well above 5 kHz). Not sure if that is what you're talking about?
Yea, it works! Filter 3 was the bad move, definitely.

User avatar
RoryM0
Posts: 389
Joined: 21 Jun 2017

Post 07 Jan 2022

orthodox wrote:
07 Jan 2022
selig wrote:
07 Jan 2022


I just tried ring mod with Thor, just using inputs and outputs and not connecting to filter 3 and it is definitely not limited to CV rate (able to produce clean tones well above 5 kHz). Not sure if that is what you're talking about?
Yea, it works! Filter 3 was the bad move, definitely.
Oh yeah, no idea why I thought I needed to use filter 3. Thanks :)

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 10002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 07 Jan 2022

orthodox wrote:
07 Jan 2022
selig wrote:
07 Jan 2022


I just tried ring mod with Thor, just using inputs and outputs and not connecting to filter 3 and it is definitely not limited to CV rate (able to produce clean tones well above 5 kHz). Not sure if that is what you're talking about?
Yea, it works! Filter 3 was the bad move, definitely.
Hold on a sec, just tried routing the same signal through filter 3 L/R and it sounds exactly the same.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2185
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 07 Jan 2022

selig wrote:
07 Jan 2022
orthodox wrote:
07 Jan 2022


Yea, it works! Filter 3 was the bad move, definitely.
Hold on a sec, just tried routing the same signal through filter 3 L/R and it sounds exactly the same.
For me it makes a difference, I double checked.

User avatar
orthodox
RE Developer
Posts: 2185
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: 55°09'24.5"N 37°27'41.4"E

Post 12 Jan 2022

UPDATE:

I checked it once again in Thor, and even the mapping AudioIn1*AudioIn2 -> AudioOut1 didn't work properly. I must have looked at the wrong file last time, sorry, I was more concerned about checking that the Filter3 path still didn't work.

The test description:
I have a test audio @48k with a sine wave sweeping from 20 to 20000 Hz, two channels having phase difference of Pi/2:

Image

I fed it to AudioIn1 and AudioIn2 and this is what I got:

Image

There is clearly something going wrong. There are lots of repeated lines and aliased images at multiples of 750 Hz (the CV sample rate).

And this is what the "proper" modulator produced:

Image

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests