CPU usage and R12 crashs

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Teebie
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Sep 2021

Post 14 Sep 2021

CRAZY R12 CPU percentages

Downloaded r12 today.
I have 2019 iMac with 64gig of ram
I9 processor
1TB ssd.

The cpu time and opening songs is actually taking more time than r11

Also use mk3 and native 12 complete
With nektar keyboard and komplete kontrol s88
So it does take about 10 -15 seconds to open a song with all the instruments but with r12 my cpu fan has actually came on 4 times today. I have never heard this in 2 years. And now takes over 20 seconds to open a song

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7718
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 14 Sep 2021

Teebie wrote:
14 Sep 2021
CRAZY R12 CPU percentages

Downloaded r12 today.
I have 2019 iMac with 64gig of ram
I9 processor
1TB ssd.

The cpu time and opening songs is actually taking more time than r11

Also use mk3 and native 12 complete
With nektar keyboard and komplete kontrol s88
So it does take about 10 -15 seconds to open a song with all the instruments but with r12 my cpu fan has actually came on 4 times today. I have never heard this in 2 years. And now takes over 20 seconds to open a song
Contact support here and submit it as a bug:

https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
Win 10 | Enabling the Abelton ABLERS Live 11 Suite-Ably |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

Adamfw
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 May 2020

Post 14 Sep 2021

As with everyone here my cpu usage is thru the ceiling... hoping for an update soon

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7718
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 15 Sep 2021

Adamfw wrote:
14 Sep 2021
As with everyone here my cpu usage is thru the ceiling... hoping for an update soon
Contact support here and submit it as a bug:

https://help.reasonstudios.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
Win 10 | Enabling the Abelton ABLERS Live 11 Suite-Ably |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
AttenuationHz
Posts: 2048
Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Location: Back of the Rack-1

Post 15 Sep 2021

I have a feeling the top post is VST issue. If sample rates are changing and the VST is not handling it correctly then it can cause a hiccup. I'd eliminate and replace that VST with another one to troubleshoot the issue.
It is not too much of an ask for people or things to be the best version of itself!

User avatar
AttenuationHz
Posts: 2048
Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Location: Back of the Rack-1

Post 15 Sep 2021

Teebie wrote:
14 Sep 2021
CRAZY R12 CPU percentages

Downloaded r12 today.
I have 2019 iMac with 64gig of ram
I9 processor
1TB ssd.

The cpu time and opening songs is actually taking more time than r11

Also use mk3 and native 12 complete
With nektar keyboard and komplete kontrol s88
So it does take about 10 -15 seconds to open a song with all the instruments but with r12 my cpu fan has actually came on 4 times today. I have never heard this in 2 years. And now takes over 20 seconds to open a song
The HD graphics are not well optimised yet. Even pressing TAB will show noticeable lag.
It is not too much of an ask for people or things to be the best version of itself!

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 9908
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 15 Sep 2021

AttenuationHz wrote:
15 Sep 2021
Teebie wrote:
14 Sep 2021
CRAZY R12 CPU percentages

Downloaded r12 today.
I have 2019 iMac with 64gig of ram
I9 processor
1TB ssd.

The cpu time and opening songs is actually taking more time than r11

Also use mk3 and native 12 complete
With nektar keyboard and komplete kontrol s88
So it does take about 10 -15 seconds to open a song with all the instruments but with r12 my cpu fan has actually came on 4 times today. I have never heard this in 2 years. And now takes over 20 seconds to open a song
The HD graphics are not well optimised yet. Even pressing TAB will show noticeable lag.
Agree. Windows 10 is not optimized too. Still slower than GEOS on a C64.
Reason12, Win10

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7718
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 16 Sep 2021

Loque wrote:
15 Sep 2021
Still slower than GEOS on a C64.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Win 10 | Enabling the Abelton ABLERS Live 11 Suite-Ably |  Reason 12 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | RME Babyface Pro | Akai MPC Live 2 & Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7, MX1, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

nebraskafire
Posts: 40
Joined: 10 Mar 2021

Post 18 Sep 2021

When I use my combinator guitar patch in reason 12 I got weird sound dropouts and crackles and I don't see any CPU spikes or something like that. There is no such problem in reason 11 with the same patch.

drloop
Posts: 243
Joined: 27 Jan 2015

Post 18 Sep 2021

nebraskafire wrote:
18 Sep 2021
When I use my combinator guitar patch in reason 12 I got weird sound dropouts and crackles and I don't see any CPU spikes or something like that. There is no such problem in reason 11 with the same patch.
Are you looking at your computers resource manager? Because Reasons DSP meter tells me that its not using a lot of resources but the computers CPU meter tells another story, much higher then Reasons DSP.
Last song I made had 1 -2 bars of DSP inside Reason but use 55-70% of the CPU in Windows.

User avatar
syzygianrrf9999
Posts: 30
Joined: 14 Aug 2018

Post 24 Sep 2021

DaveyG wrote:
05 Sep 2021
jam-s wrote:
05 Sep 2021

Looks like you don't have proper OpenGL drivers installed.
Because all musicians want to be worrying about f***ing graphics drivers. :thumbs_down:
This. So much f***ing this.

But, complaining aside, b/c nothing will slow me down if I'm trying to get my DAW to work, I took that poster's advice and updated OpenGL. No change. I submitted a request and was told to download a debug/logging version and provide the logs after attempting to run it. The logs grew to nearly 1GB in under 1 minute, and I sent them in... 9 days ago.

Crickets.

Seriously. I'm in my mid 30s, I've been using Reason since I was 18, version 2.5. On both PCs and Macs. Never had to deal with this before on either OS, and certainly never had to worry about my graphics card or drivers. Like, wtf... if how pretty Reason is has become such a priority that your graphics drivers can make or break the installation, Reason Studios' priorities are an utter mystery. Who are they listening to? Like, what customers' feedback contributed to a version of Reason that has graphics driver dependencies?
industrial/psycore/breakcore/electronic modular metal: https://soundcloud.com/rose-red-flechette

KellyForte
Posts: 19
Joined: 13 Aug 2017

Post 25 Sep 2021

I wanted to upgrade to R12... then I saw this thread.

Now I’m sad.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest