remotemap for Jackbox 7R909 for MaschineR MK3 RemoteControl

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Post Reply
madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

14 Sep 2021

I tried to create my own remotemap for the 7R909 for my MaschineR MK3 Controller Setup.

Since now, a got the pots working. But the buttons/pads are still a mystery to me.

here is my code

Code: Select all

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Scope	Quadelectra Audioworx	com.quadelectra.Jackbox909

Define Group	Drums	Drums1	Drums2	Drums3	Drums4	Drums5	

Map	button1		Drums=Drums1
Map	button2		Drums=Drums2
Map	button3		Drums=Drums3
Map	button4		Drums=Drums4
Map	button5		Drums=Drums5

// Bassdrum
Map	pot1		Bassdrum Level			Drums1
Map	pot2		Bassdrum Tune			Drums1
Map	pot3		Bassdrum Attack			Drums1
Map	pot4		Bassdrum Decay			Drums1

// Snaredrum
Map	pot5		Snare Level			Drums1
Map	pot6		Snare Tune			Drums1
Map	pot7		Snare Tone			Drums1
Map	pot8		Snare Snappy			Drums1

// Low Tom
Map	pot1		Low Tom Level			Drums2
Map	pot2		Low Tom Tune			Drums2
Map	pot3		Low Tom Decay			Drums2

// Mid Tom
Map	pot5		Mid Tom Level			Drums2
Map	pot6		Mid Tom Tune			Drums2
Map	pot7		Mid Tom Decay			Drums2

// Hi Tom
Map	pot1		Hi Tom Level			Drums3
Map	pot2		Hi Tom Tune			Drums3
Map	pot3		Hi Tom Decay			Drums3

// Rimshot
Map	pot5		Rimshot Level			Drums3

// Handclap
Map	pot7		Handclap Level			Drums3

// Hihats
Map	pot1		Hihat Level			Drums4
Map	pot2		Hihat Closed Decay			Drums4
Map	pot3		HiHat Open Decay			Drums4

// Crash Cymbal
Map	pot5		Crash Cymbal Level			Drums4
Map	pot6		Crash Cymbal Tune			Drums4

// Ride Cymbal
Map	pot7		Ride Cymbal Level			Drums4
Map	pot8		Ride Cymbal Tune			Drums4

// Global
Map	pot1		Flam Size			Drums5
Map	pot2		VelSens			Drums5
Map	pot3		Accent Level			Drums5
Map	pot4		Volume			Drums5

##This parts seems so work as it should

Map	button41		Pad #1 (Bassdrum)
Map	button42		Pad #2 (Bassdrum)
Map	button43		Pad #3 (Snare)
Map	button44		Pad #4 (Snare)
Map	button45		Pad #5 (Low Tom)
Map	button46		Pad #6 (Low Tom)
Map	button47		Pad #7 (Mid Tom)
Map	button48		Pad #8 (Mid Tom)
Map	button49		Pad #9 (Hi Tom)
Map	button50		Pad #10 (Hi Tom)
Map	button51		Pad #11 (Rimshot)
Map	button52		Pad #12 (Handclap)
Map	button53		Pad #13 (Hihat Closed)
Map	button54		Pad #14 (Hihat Open)
Map	button55		Pad #15 (Crash Cymbal)
Map	button56		Pad #16 (Ride Cymbal)

Map	button57		Accent
My hope was, to get the buttons used with the 16 padfield on the mk3 like a Kong. Maybe someone can give me a hint. Is there a way, to set the Pads to specific notes? The Kicks e.g. are on H0 and C1, but to use it with the RMK3 I need C3 and C#3.

Funny fact. button41-56 i find a way to "push" and "release" the Buttons on the 7R via the step-section on the Maschine.

Best regrads,

madacid

rmtcvolte
Posts: 205
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

15 Sep 2021

I do not have this combination of devices, but you can set specific notes in the remotemap like so:

Code: Select all

Scope	Propellerheads	Dr.REX Loop Player
//	Control Surface Item	Key	Remotable Item	Scale	Mode

//upper Pads
Map	Pads	C1	Select Loop 1
Map	Pads	C#1	Select Loop 2
Map	Pads	D1	Select Loop 3
Map	Pads	D#1	Select Loop 4
Map	Pads	E1	Enable Loop Playback
Map	Pads	F1	Select Next Patch
//lower Pads
Map	Pads	F#1	Select Loop 5
Map	Pads	G1	Select Loop 6
Map	Pads	G#1	Select Loop 7
Map	Pads	A1	Select Loop 8
Map	Pads	A#1	Run
Map	Pads	B1	Select Previous Patch
(from the remotemap of my Kong nano pad, but in this case all "Pads" are defined as "keyboard". Dont know how your "Buttons.." are set up in the mk3 remote codec)

madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

15 Sep 2021

thanks for your reply.

so how do you define "Pads"

Code: Select all

Define Group	Pads	
in the beginning, and then your block?

die MK3 in "Pad-Mode" uses C3-E#4 as standard. Normally you should scale the octaves in "Keyboard"-Menu, but this doesn't seem to work at the moment, haven't figure out why.
That's why I had the idea to chance the remote mapping for that.

rmtcvolte
Posts: 205
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

15 Sep 2021

How do you set up your MK3? There should be a corresponding "*.lua", where all the assignments take place. All your buttons and pots needs some kind of definiton: name, kind of control, midi cc, range... (all done in "*.lua"). "*.remotemap" is for telling the remotesystem which Control Surface Item (on your MK3) controls which Remotable Item (in Reason). In Pad-Mode the MK2 should send out midi notes, if it is implemented in the codec, it could look like:
Map Keyboard C3 Pad #1 (Bassdrum)
in your Remotemap.

madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

15 Sep 2021

if i push the pads you see midi-notes in the piano-roll, right.

i tried now

Code: Select all

Map	Keyboard	C3	Pad #1 (Bassdrum)
Map	Keyboard	C#3	Pad #2 (Bassdrum)
Map	Keyboard	D3	Pad #3 (Snare)
Map	Keyboard	D#3	Pad #4 (Snare)
Map	Keyboard	E3	Pad #5 (Low Tom)
Map	Keyboard	E#3	Pad #6 (Low Tom)
Map	Keyboard	F3	Pad #7 (Mid Tom)
Map	Keyboard	F#3	Pad #8 (Mid Tom)
Map	Keyboard	G3	Pad #9 (Hi Tom)
Map	Keyboard	G#3	Pad #10 (Hi Tom)
Map	Keyboard	A3	Pad #11 (Rimshot)
Map	Keyboard	A#3	Pad #12 (Handclap)
Map	Keyboard	B3	Pad #13 (Hihat Closed)
Map	Keyboard	C4	Pad #14 (Hihat Open)
Map	Keyboard	C#4	Pad #15 (Crash Cymbal)
Map	Keyboard	D4	Pad #16 (Ride Cymbal)
Interestingly it creates a Map File Error in the middle at F3 "Map entry: control surface item already mapped in this scope". But this is the only section in the scope, where Keyboard is mapped, and i can't see any typo. Strange...

madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

15 Sep 2021

stupid error. there is no e#3. or in other words e#3 is f3...

now I got the error fixed... But still no reaction in the 7r-909

Code: Select all

Map	Keyboard	C3	Pad #1 (Bassdrum)
Map	Keyboard	C#3	Pad #2 (Bassdrum)
Map	Keyboard	D3	Pad #3 (Snare)
Map	Keyboard	D#3	Pad #4 (Snare)
Map	Keyboard	E3	Pad #5 (Low Tom)
Map	Keyboard	F3	Pad #6 (Low Tom)
Map	Keyboard	F#3	Pad #7 (Mid Tom)
Map	Keyboard	G3	Pad #8 (Mid Tom)
Map	Keyboard	G#3	Pad #9 (Hi Tom)
Map	Keyboard	A3	Pad #10 (Hi Tom)
Map	Keyboard	A#3	Pad #11 (Rimshot)
Map	Keyboard	B3	Pad #12 (Handclap)
Map	Keyboard	C4	Pad #13 (Hihat Closed)
Map	Keyboard	C#4	Pad #14 (Hihat Open)
Map	Keyboard	D4	Pad #15 (Crash Cymbal)
Map	Keyboard	D#4	Pad #16 (Ride Cymbal)

madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

15 Sep 2021

rmtcvolte wrote:
15 Sep 2021
How do you set up your MK3? There should be a corresponding "*.lua", where all the assignments take place. All your buttons and pots needs some kind of definiton: name, kind of control, midi cc, range... (all done in "*.lua"). "*.remotemap" is for telling the remotesystem which Control Surface Item (on your MK3) controls which Remotable Item (in Reason). In Pad-Mode the MK2 should send out midi notes, if it is implemented in the codec, it could look like:
Map Keyboard C3 Pad #1 (Bassdrum)
in your Remotemap.
I setup my Maschine MK3 via MaschineR from RetouchControl.
I checked the MK3Devices.lua and found out that the remote_init function initialised next to pitchbend and modwheel, pot 1-10 and 99-114, LCD 1-27, button 1-99 and Keyboard. :o

rmtcvolte
Posts: 205
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

16 Sep 2021

Looks like they have lots of mappings already done. Try to find a scope for a device similar to jackbox. How about the „play buttons“ on redrum (the ones next to the samples)?

madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

16 Sep 2021

button 41-56 are related to "STEP"-Mode
button 57-72 are related to "MUTE"-Mode
button 73-88 are related to "SOLO"-Mode
button 89-104 are related to "PATTERN"-Mode

LCD1-24 are related to "SELECT"-Mode

button1-16 in Kong and Redrum are used for group-assignments (Group=Group1-16)

rmtcvolte
Posts: 205
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

16 Sep 2021

madacid wrote:
16 Sep 2021
button 41-56 are related to "STEP"-Mode
button 57-72 are related to "MUTE"-Mode
button 73-88 are related to "SOLO"-Mode
button 89-104 are related to "PATTERN"-Mode

LCD1-24 are related to "SELECT"-Mode

button1-16 in Kong and Redrum are used for group-assignments (Group=Group1-16)
no mapping for the play button?

madacid
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Oct 2019

16 Sep 2021

"Drum x is playing" is setup to button 41-50 in Redrum, but if i commented it out in the remotemap, it's only the indication that is affected. The Sample is still playing.

curiosity: when I play the first Pad in Redrum, it sends a C1 in the Key-Editor, when I play it in 7r-909 in plays a C3 in the Keyroll...

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: zorak and 22 guests