Reason 12 is coming!

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
KGB
Posts: 67
Joined: 22 Nov 2016

Post 01 Jul 2021

BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
I'm new to reason. It seems pretty neat. Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
Tough love..I can't use any other software even if I wanted. Been here since 2.5, almost 10 versions in.
No other DAW for me out there and I've tried them all.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7277
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 01 Jul 2021

BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
Nonsense. Some of us are just salty that Reason 12 stand-alone DAW doesn’t have any core sequencer improvements planned. There’s only a handful of users here who seem hell bent on sending vitriol towards Reason Studios. Most of us want them to succeed and keep developing Reason.
Win 10 | Reason 12 |  Studio 1 4.6 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7 Expansion, MX1, JX8P, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

npinero1
Posts: 60
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 01 Jul 2021

EnochLight wrote:
01 Jul 2021
BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
Nonsense. Some of us are just salty that Reason 12 stand-alone DAW doesn’t have any core sequencer improvements planned. There’s only a handful of users here who seem hell bent on sending vitriol towards Reason Studios. Most of us want them to succeed and keep developing Reason.
100000% I have ProTools, Studio One and Ableton Live to help write with others and IMHO those programs have some cool features I wish were also in Reason. (e.g. VST3 Support and Punch In Record), BUT I would MUCH prefer to only work in Reason. Its like, I would not get divorced from Reason because I know what I have, is good with reason.
:reason: :re: :refillpacker: :reload: :ignition:

Eddi-16
Posts: 162
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 02 Jul 2021

Yes, it's crazy, most people would like to use only Reason, but they force people to move to another DAW, that they can use this Rack-Plugin. In my opinion they spread a lot of mistrust in their own community, which is a terrible marketing strategy (edit: I do not want to say that a rack plugin is bad at all, its a really good idea I think).
Reason DAW just needs some core updates and features to competite with the others, but they just don't see it how it seems.
I really don't understand that kind of product organisation. I hope they will become rational A.S.A.P. and focus on the the DAW and clear communication before its too late.
I am thinking about switching (to Fruity Loops), too...

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4402
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 02 Jul 2021

ljekio wrote:
20 Jun 2021
is there any rumours about vst3 support?
when we can see it in the Reason?
I don't think it'll be in the initial main Reason 12 release but reckon in the following point versions but that's just my guess.
:reason:

Reason Studio's 12.2 / Cockos Reaper 6.38 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

User avatar
Kategra
Posts: 326
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 02 Jul 2021

EnochLight wrote:
01 Jul 2021
BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
Nonsense. Some of us are just salty that Reason 12 stand-alone DAW doesn’t have any core sequencer improvements planned. There’s only a handful of users here who seem hell bent on sending vitriol towards Reason Studios. Most of us want them to succeed and keep developing Reason.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: Reason Sequencer updates please! Especially for Audio clips!

slic
Posts: 124
Joined: 01 Jun 2021

Post 02 Jul 2021

The fact is that if (like me) you have been looking at Reason from the 'outside' it seems that Reason is primarily a 'Rack' of cool stuff that can be used in any DAW that also has its own DAW as an option... The rack is the headline, not the DAW...and that seems intentional.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7277
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 02 Jul 2021

slic wrote:
02 Jul 2021
The fact is that if (like me) you have been looking at Reason from the 'outside' it seems that Reason is primarily a 'Rack' of cool stuff that can be used in any DAW that also has its own DAW as an option... The rack is the headline, not the DAW...and that seems intentional.
Sure, it’s intentional as of Reason 11, but between 6 and 10 - literally five full versions - Reason DAW was the only option (unless you wanted to deal with the clunkiness of ReWire). 12 just makes those intentions even more… intentional? :lol:
Win 10 | Reason 12 |  Studio 1 4.6 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7 Expansion, MX1, JX8P, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
plaamook
Posts: 1778
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: Abajo del mar...

Post 02 Jul 2021

Billy+ wrote:
01 Jul 2021
BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
I'm new to reason. It seems pretty neat. Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
Welcome,


It's not so much toxic and more like when your favourite long lost uncle turns up with a new toy that can't be found anywhere on the planet but the batteries are impossible to buy..

You love the toy but really wished he had thought about the batteries as well :lol:
Yup. That’s pretty much the feeling.
Course we do have work arounds for the batteries...
Perpetual Reason 12 Beta Tester

You can check out my music here.
https://m.soundcloud.com/ericholmofficial

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4402
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 03 Jul 2021

Kategra wrote:
02 Jul 2021
EnochLight wrote:
01 Jul 2021


Nonsense. Some of us are just salty that Reason 12 stand-alone DAW doesn’t have any core sequencer improvements planned. There’s only a handful of users here who seem hell bent on sending vitriol towards Reason Studios. Most of us want them to succeed and keep developing Reason.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: Reason Sequencer updates please! Especially for Audio clips!
We don't know there's no core daw improvements planned for 12 do we.

Yes to audio improvements:- slice by song position pointer, tempo detect and fit to tempo for audio, transient sensitivity, punch in/out, vertical allignment and multiple curves for crossfades (which should've been there from the start) and one I'd like to see which I've not heard anyone else mention, auditioning audio clip parts with the speaker tool or I key in the sequencer.
:reason:

Reason Studio's 12.2 / Cockos Reaper 6.38 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

User avatar
Neo
Posts: 186
Joined: 21 May 2015
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post 03 Jul 2021

EnochLight wrote:
01 Jul 2021
BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
Nonsense. Some of us are just salty that Reason 12 stand-alone DAW doesn’t have any core sequencer improvements planned. There’s only a handful of users here who seem hell bent on sending vitriol towards Reason Studios. Most of us want them to succeed and keep developing Reason.
+1 This^
:reason: :re: :ignition: Atari 1040ST | R11 Suite 🡭 R12 | i7 | RME

epoch
Posts: 62
Joined: 15 May 2021

Post 13 Jul 2021

MattiasHG wrote:
17 May 2021
epoch wrote:
17 May 2021


Mattias, given OS X El Capitan is getting long in the tooth now, I was wondering if Reason 12 will still support it or if the macOS system requirement will be higher this time round?

Are you in a position to let us know at this point in development?
Yes, we'll bump the system requirements to macOS 10.13 and above and Windows 10 and above. This was a long time coming and it really helps development when we don't have support older, quite technically different systems. :)
Hi Mattias. I'm in the process of upgrading an old Mac to get it to support 10.13 so I'm ready for Reason 12. I have a question though; do I need a graphics card that support Metal to run Reason 12, or will it still OK run on a non-metal card as long as the Mac is running macOS High Sierra?

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2635
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jul 2021

BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
I'm new to reason. It seems pretty neat. Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
* image removed by moderator *
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

User avatar
craven
Posts: 655
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jul 2021

Just made use of the three months for 3 Euros offer for Reason+ to get an early look on 12 (I had bought the perpetual update for September already so I am independent from the subscription). Just looking at the great user flow in the companion app makes me happy and I am looking forward to having this for Reason 12 "standard". Seeing all these sound packs with preview audio is super nice, I'm just not the subscription kinda guy, I have less time for music as a hobby and generally avoid software as a subscription whenever possible. Nevertheless, R+ looks neat so far.
:ugeek:

kitekrazy
Posts: 865
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jul 2021

BrainDeadApe69 wrote:
30 Jun 2021
I'm new to reason. It seems pretty neat. Community seems a little toxic toward the developers.
It's hard to find a community that isn't. You will have your fanboys but there are plenty of other forums and youtube comments that are not friendly. What a user pays for a license has a lot to do with it.

User avatar
EnochLight
Moderator
Posts: 7277
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Useless Moderator

Post 13 Jul 2021

bxbrkrz wrote:
13 Jul 2021
* image removed by moderator *
The OP hasn't been here since posting that 2 weeks ago. Can we not dig this up in an attempt to start drama?
Win 10 | Reason 12 |  Studio 1 4.6 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 & Akai Force | Roland System 8, TR-8 7x7 Expansion, MX1, JX8P, TB3 | Dreadbox Typhon | Korg Minilogue XD

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2635
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 13 Jul 2021

EnochLight wrote:
13 Jul 2021
bxbrkrz wrote:
13 Jul 2021
* image removed by moderator *
The OP hasn't been here since posting that 2 weeks ago. Can we not dig this up in an attempt to start drama?
I agree 100%
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

User avatar
devilfish
Posts: 182
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Post 15 Jul 2021

Still just one Midi-Bus to send a Midi-Clock.

What should i do, if i had several USB-Midi Hardware Synths, Grooveboxes, … that need a Midi-Clock???

northside76
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 May 2015

Post 16 Jul 2021

I have installed and reinstalled reason 12 Numerous times and keep getting this and after I click (ok) the program will never load. Could someone help me solve this problem?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slic
Posts: 124
Joined: 01 Jun 2021

Post 16 Jul 2021

devilfish wrote:
15 Jul 2021
Still just one Midi-Bus to send a Midi-Clock.

What should i do, if i had several USB-Midi Hardware Synths, Grooveboxes, … that need a Midi-Clock???


(although personally I would use Reason as a Rack in Bitwig if I was going to use all my outboard)

Calazzus
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Sep 2019

Post 16 Jul 2021

What about multi timbral MIDI? Someone mentioned that it will not be in reason 12 but does reason studios ever plan to offer it? Does anyone know?

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1605
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 17 Jul 2021

northside76 wrote:
16 Jul 2021
I have installed and reinstalled reason 12 Numerous times and keep getting this and after I click (ok) the program will never load. Could someone help me solve this problem?
You can try to delete your Reason Preferences.prf file in C:\Users\...\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software\Reason
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace. ... Pool's closed due to corona.

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 1605
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 17 Jul 2021

Calazzus wrote:
16 Jul 2021
What about multi timbral MIDI? Someone mentioned that it will not be in reason 12 but does reason studios ever plan to offer it? Does anyone know?
I think there has not been any comment on this from RS.
If you're in Aachen, come and visit us at the Voidspace. ... Pool's closed due to corona.

gphg
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Nov 2015

Post 17 Jul 2021

Calazzus wrote:
16 Jul 2021
What about multi timbral MIDI? Someone mentioned that it will not be in reason 12 but does reason studios ever plan to offer it? Does anyone know?
maybe this will help?

https://koshdukaimusicreason.blogspot.c ... emote.html

User avatar
mjxl
Posts: 524
Joined: 23 Nov 2018

Post 17 Jul 2021

So, I've searched the topic for "keyboard shortcuts" and didn't find anything about it, but only just now I found out i can zoom in/out with kb shortcuts.

For some weirdass "Reason" , it's

Code: Select all

Ctrl / Shift / -
to zoom out, but

Code: Select all

Numpad +
seems to zoom in. lol ? Whatsup with that?
:reason: 11Suite + :re:
Patch Randomizer: topic - https://mjxl.net/remoter/
Complex-1 Community Refill: topic - https://mjxl.net/rsn/Complex-1%20Community%20ReFill.rfl

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests