Reason 12 Wishlist

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 2082
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 01 Mar 2021

Yeah when labelling clips which I do a lot, I always have to change them to a lighter colour, using white text as suggested above would be fantastic.

Also please implement all the features everybody has been begging for since forever, then in 7000 years when you're done - please consider adding video support with a few basic features.

ltbrunt00
Posts: 494
Joined: 10 Jan 2017

Post 16 Mar 2021

Is everyone else getting excited for Reason 12 as I am. Every now and then I need a new shiny toy. To allow them to get everything they want in it I hope it is later in the year.

I have to assume looking at some of the features added to other DAW software, since they will be one of the last of the big boys to release a new version this year they will take to time to get it mostly right from the start. I think the sequencer and mixer will get the most love in this update...But alas I hold out hope for some for of music to video sequencing feature.
Reason, Nuendo, Studio One
https://soundcloud.com/user-404930848

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2782
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 16 Mar 2021

ltbrunt00 wrote:
16 Mar 2021
Is everyone else getting excited for Reason 12 as I am. Every now and then I need a new shiny toy. To allow them to get everything they want in it I hope it is later in the year.

I have to assume looking at some of the features added to other DAW software, since they will be one of the last of the big boys to release a new version this year they will take to time to get it mostly right from the start. I think the sequencer and mixer will get the most love in this update...But alas I hold out hope for some for of music to video sequencing feature.
I'm not sure about incorporating video sequencing into Reason, it can be quite an advanced set of requirements that have been well covered by any number of other software packages and given RS's track record on needed features and current technology implementation it would just end up being something else that never quite does what you need.

I'm not holding out much hope for V12.
VST 2.4 MIDI It's definitely on the list of todos
What MIDI tools are you itching to use

ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ Time for a good long sleep ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ

ludz
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Oct 2019

Post 16 Mar 2021

I just came to know they're about to release a v12. Not sure wht to expect, I stopped using Reason as a standalone DAW and I now mostly use it inside of bitwig.

I surely would love to see:

- BETTER COMBIS! They were cool when they came out but they're simply too dated right now. I always need more knobs, buttons, cv-ins and modulation possibilities in general. I can modulate more things, with more flexibility, when modulating from bitwig, which is a shame!

- Rack Extension Plugins needs to allow for the use of 3rd parties plugins. The fact that I can only use Rack Extensions is extremely limiting!

- UI! especially old rack extensions, they look so grainy, my eyes get quite tired quite easily. The rack seriously need a ZOOM option of some sort!

- midi/audio editing needs to get better. Audio editing in particular. The all timeline really; personally I never sequence from it, I only use it to record automations and audio; it would need to undergo some serious changes, but I doubt that will ever happen at this point.

- better modules to work with external gear. hardware integration is super basic and pretty much sucks.

User avatar
zoidkirb
Posts: 660
Joined: 18 Nov 2018
Location: Brisbane Australia

Post 16 Mar 2021

This thread is old and I forgot what I requested before but I've re-evaluated everything anyway.
The priority now is:

1: Retrospective midi record

2: Midi comping/clip stacking

3: Better combinator

4: Many small QOL improvements in the rack and sequencer (too much detail to go into here)

If that all makes it into R12 then I won't be buying R13 :p

Irruchi
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Mar 2021

Post 17 Mar 2021

Gonna put my ideas

1. Faster Responding GUI / GUI improvements across the board

2. VST3 is a no brainer at this point.

3. More support for control surfaces since all the support for motorized fader controllers is all in outdated discontinued products.

4. Custom color themes would be loved

5. MIDI IN TO VST!!!!!

6. Full 16 stereo outs in the VST container for things like Maschine. 16 outs for Reason is only 8 stereo

7. Either Key scale folding of the piano roll ORRRR Highlighting selecting which key and notation on the piano roll

8. Channel and Track FOLDERS!

9. Being able to hide mix channels that aren't in use.

Oh

10. WASAPI support.

User avatar
R303
Posts: 60
Joined: 15 Feb 2021

Post 19 Mar 2021

Irruchi wrote:
17 Mar 2021
Gonna put my ideas

1. Faster Responding GUI / GUI improvements across the board

2. VST3 is a no brainer at this point.

3. More support for control surfaces since all the support for motorized fader controllers is all in outdated discontinued products.

4. Custom color themes would be loved

5. MIDI IN TO VST!!!!!

6. Full 16 stereo outs in the VST container for things like Maschine. 16 outs for Reason is only 8 stereo

7. Either Key scale folding of the piano roll ORRRR Highlighting selecting which key and notation on the piano roll

8. Channel and Track FOLDERS!

9. Being able to hide mix channels that aren't in use.

Oh

10. WASAPI support.
Yes, WASAPI, I always have to use Audacity for this.

User avatar
Jagwah
Posts: 2082
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 20 Mar 2021

I only ask that they implement all these suggestions, then in 7000 years when they are done, please consider video editing support.

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 519
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia

Post 29 Mar 2021

well, i think this would be a great benefit to reason program:
when you leave/close/exit reason 12, reason 12 would put settings of your sound card to state (khs/bit) as they were before you launched reason 12.
i constanty have to manually set this. it gets on my nerves already. - problem is sometimes the song project is just too heavy for my CPU in my notebook. so i have to lover khs for real time play in reason. and when i exit reason (close the program) i again and again have to manualy set my sound card to max settings: that is 192/24.

damn! this should be done.
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro x64 | Propellerhead Reason 10 | Reason+ Subscription

User avatar
Noise
Posts: 360
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lisbon

Post 07 Apr 2021

I present to you the "DigiCV"
CTRL+ALT to Source > Target
Somewhere else a button: Hide DigiCV. dunno, I'm not a engineer :D

What if, you could just automate any fader / knob easily, without going around the combinator cv1 / cv2 etc..
DigiCV.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Albums: BandCamp | Youtubz: Noise Channel
Projects: P1 Easy Remote Mapping | Personal Refill Sale Store: https://payhip.com/noisesystems

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4341
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 07 Apr 2021

dezma wrote:
17 Sep 2019
I'll copy paste from my other response

AUTOSAVE > face it, VST's make reason less stable, and I've lost several hours of work since introduction because of crashes
previewing wav/REX files in browser IN SYNC with the playing track/loop
a missing samples search that actually works
midi out/thru for VST, preferably patchable in the rack
sample drag n drop from browser to VST
working automation for all VST (avenger needs a combinator to be automated because of the number of parameters the synth has)
folders in sequencer
( updated automation process and curved automation ) > done

Then we can talk cosmetics such as GUI or updates or new stuff

Additionally after having worked with presonus studio one (which features all of the above btw):
[*]Export directly to MP3
[*]Customizable macro's and adjustable key bindings
[*]Piano roll that is not crap

I always knew it was crap but never could explain why, but now working with studio one made me realize it's how on the same quantize settings things are so much easier in Studio one. Studio one has lettering on 1.2 AND makes it a bigger vertical line making the whole things much more readible.

Image
Image
For anyone saying hit Ctrl S for saving regularly, yes you should but there are times you forget.

Also, that piano roll looks nice in Studio One, would be a good opportunity in Reason 12 for Reason Studio's to make the piano look better / cooler. It looks ok but could look really great if the graphics of it were changed.
:reason:

Reason Studio's 12.2 / Cockos Reaper 6.35 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4341
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 07 Apr 2021

Noise wrote:
07 Apr 2021
I present to you the "DigiCV"
CTRL+ALT to Source > Target
Somewhere else a button: Hide DigiCV. dunno, I'm not a engineer :D

What if, you could just automate any fader / knob easily, without going around the combinator cv1 / cv2 etc..

DigiCV.jpg
That looks cool as mate.

:thumbup:
:reason:

Reason Studio's 12.2 / Cockos Reaper 6.35 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

deeplink
Posts: 482
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai

Post 07 Apr 2021

Noise wrote:
07 Apr 2021
I present to you the "DigiCV"
CTRL+ALT to Source > Target
Somewhere else a button: Hide DigiCV. dunno, I'm not a engineer :D

What if, you could just automate any fader / knob easily, without going around the combinator cv1 / cv2 etc..

DigiCV.jpg
This actually looks a lot more intuitive then I previously imagined. One thing missing is the amount of CV control passing through (maybe a temporary pop up display would be required)

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 2782
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 07 Apr 2021

deeplink wrote:
07 Apr 2021
Noise wrote:
07 Apr 2021
I present to you the "DigiCV"
CTRL+ALT to Source > Target
Somewhere else a button: Hide DigiCV. dunno, I'm not a engineer :D

What if, you could just automate any fader / knob easily, without going around the combinator cv1 / cv2 etc..

DigiCV.jpg
This actually looks a lot more intuitive then I previously imagined. One thing missing is the amount of CV control passing through (maybe a temporary pop up display would be required)
Agreed, it would make it quicker but you still need to have access to an amount per link so you could scale.
VST 2.4 MIDI It's definitely on the list of todos
What MIDI tools are you itching to use

ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ Time for a good long sleep ˁ˚ᴥ˚ˀ

User avatar
Noise
Posts: 360
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lisbon

Post 07 Apr 2021

Ok, new and improved:

If you mousover with CTRL+ALT a little popup appears:
it disappears, when you let go of CTRL+ALT
DigiCV_v2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Albums: BandCamp | Youtubz: Noise Channel
Projects: P1 Easy Remote Mapping | Personal Refill Sale Store: https://payhip.com/noisesystems

User avatar
Kilsane
Posts: 184
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Location: Villeneuve saint Georges - France

Post 08 Apr 2021

Hi,
When I move a wav file from the explorer to the Rack window, I would like it to open an NN19 or NNXT with my wav inside, or while it offers me a menu asking me in which Rack I want to insert my wav
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

deeplink
Posts: 482
Joined: 08 Jul 2020
Location: Dubai

Post 08 Apr 2021

Kilsane wrote:
08 Apr 2021
Hi,
When I move a wav file from the explorer to the Rack window, I would like it to open an NN19 or NNXT with my wav inside, or while it offers me a menu asking me in which Rack I want to insert my wav
+1 for this. Or perhaps a new sampler which becomes the default device loaded in. Having options (including grain) would be awesome

User avatar
Rising Night Wave
Posts: 519
Joined: 03 Sep 2019
Location: Vransko, Slovenia

Post 08 Apr 2021

deeplink wrote:
08 Apr 2021
Kilsane wrote:
08 Apr 2021
Hi,
When I move a wav file from the explorer to the Rack window, I would like it to open an NN19 or NNXT with my wav inside, or while it offers me a menu asking me in which Rack I want to insert my wav
+1 for this. Or perhaps a new sampler which becomes the default device loaded in. Having options (including grain) would be awesome
this could be done via right mouse knob
Rising Night Wave & Extus at SoundCloud
HW: Asus ROG Strix G513QM | Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen | M-Audio M3-8 | M-Audio Uber Mic | Shure SRH1840 | Shure SE215 | LG 49UK6400
SW: Windows 11 Pro x64 | Propellerhead Reason 10 | Reason+ Subscription

User avatar
R303
Posts: 60
Joined: 15 Feb 2021

Post 13 Apr 2021

Why does the height of the new tracks no longer automatically adjust to the vertical zoom level?

And now I've noticed what has changed with the grid lines in the sequencer compared to R5.
The three narrow lines are reduced (more often) to one when zooming and the bar numbering was adjusted.
I must accept this, but I don't like it :lol: There are way too many thick lines :reason: So a slider to reduce the contrast would be a good agreement.
I don't use blocks in all cases.

Oh and why is there a different height in AUDIO and MIX tracks... I mean this uneven... does that look really g...?
Sorry, I'm too much at R5.

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4341
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 17 Apr 2021

I'd like to know if things like curved automation only having one curve and same for crossfades and no verticle allignment, things like that, were they design decisions or can we expect improvements in the future?
:reason:

Reason Studio's 12.2 / Cockos Reaper 6.35 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

plaingraywall
Posts: 22
Joined: 12 Apr 2021

Post 19 Apr 2021

R303 wrote:
13 Apr 2021
Why does the height of the new tracks no longer automatically adjust to the vertical zoom level?

And now I've noticed what has changed with the grid lines in the sequencer compared to R5.
The three narrow lines are reduced (more often) to one when zooming and the bar numbering was adjusted.
I must accept this, but I don't like it :lol: There are way too many thick lines :reason: So a slider to reduce the contrast would be a good agreement.
I don't use blocks in all cases.

Oh and why is there a different height in AUDIO and MIX tracks... I mean this uneven... does that look really g...?
Sorry, I'm too much at R5.
Sometimes I wish that when they upgraded the Reason interface they'd have allowed us to keep using the old one behind a 'Legacy UI' checkbox. Reason certainly looks nicer since v8 but sometimes I find it's not quite as usable as the old interface, however clunky the slick new UI makes the old versions appear...

User avatar
manisnotabird
Posts: 402
Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Location: Austin, TX

Post 22 Apr 2021

Ability to use samples inside refills in VSTs. Some kind of sample/preset manager.

User avatar
Aquila
Posts: 644
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

Post 22 Apr 2021

ltbrunt00 wrote:
16 Mar 2021
Is everyone else getting excited for Reason 12 as I am.
I dunno. Last time I was truly excited by a new version was V7 when they finally added external MIDI capability. V9.5 came second with the addition of VST support though.

The way I see it, V12 could go one of two ways:
1) They do their usual trick and only add a small handful of features nobody really asked for.
2) They finally listen to user requests and add an impressive plethora of features people actually want.

For me, the next version really needs to be a significant improvement to get me excited. Hell, I only upgraded to V10 because I needed compatibility with a fellow collaborator's project files. Until I see an official announcement and full feature list, I'm not holding my breath.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1708
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 22 Apr 2021

Aquila wrote:
22 Apr 2021
ltbrunt00 wrote:
16 Mar 2021
Is everyone else getting excited for Reason 12 as I am.
The way I see it, V12 could go one of two ways:
1) They do their usual trick and only add a small handful of features nobody really asked for.
But then they'll claim those features were actually highly requested for years. :wtf:
Soundcloud | Youtube
Logic Pro | Reason 12

User avatar
Creativemind
Posts: 4341
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England, UK

Post 29 Apr 2021

Noise wrote:
07 Apr 2021
Ok, new and improved:

If you mousover with CTRL+ALT a little popup appears:
it disappears, when you let go of CTRL+ALT

DigiCV_v2.jpg
What did you design those cables on?
:reason:

Reason Studio's 12.2 / Cockos Reaper 6.35 / Cakewalk By Bandlab / Orion 8.6
http://soundcloud.com/creativemind75/iv ... soul-mix-3

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests