My computer won't stay sleep!

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 22 Mar 2021

After I updated my computer with an windows 10 point update my computer won't go to sleep. I click sleep from setting and a few minutes later it's back on. It even wakes up out of being shutdown which I've never seen. Does anyone know what the issue could be??

User avatar
Noise
Posts: 387
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lisbon

Post 24 Mar 2021

Well, I have this issue, usually I unplug the mouse (razor) and it's fine. I know it's the culprit, to lazy to find a actual fix for this.
I'm guessing it got something to do with usb-power saving options. (device manager section)
Try to unplug everything USB just to check if this is the issue.
Albums: BandCamp | Youtubz: Noise Channel
Projects: P1 Easy Remote Mapping | Personal Refill Sale Store: https://payhip.com/noisesystems

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2667
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 24 Mar 2021

I had a ghost for many years. My ghost was the Korg PadKrontrol via USB.
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

User avatar
StephenHutchinson
Posts: 180
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 24 Mar 2021

Yeah, this has happened on almost every Windows computer I've owned. The trick I found that works is not to us "Sleep" but use "Hibernate" (there is also a mixed mode for "hybrid sleep" mode which works great too). Here are instructions on how to hibernate or hybrid sleep your PC:

Hibernate
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 972e8e6eff

Hybrid Sleep

https://www.howtogeek.com/102897/what ... ur%20work.
Last edited by StephenHutchinson on 24 Mar 2021, edited 1 time in total.
:reason: Reason+ - (Reason user since v.1.0)
:refill: Reason Sound Design & Content Creation
Sound Dimension https://www.sounddimension.io

ReFiils: Ambientia Cinematic Soundscapes | String Theory (Friktion) | Algoritmo (Algoritm)

User avatar
Noise
Posts: 387
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Lisbon

Post 24 Mar 2021

bxbrkrz wrote:
24 Mar 2021
I had a ghost for many years. My ghost was the Korg PadKrontrol via USB.
I like ms-paint
DawnOfTheUSB.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Albums: BandCamp | Youtubz: Noise Channel
Projects: P1 Easy Remote Mapping | Personal Refill Sale Store: https://payhip.com/noisesystems

User avatar
bxbrkrz
Posts: 2667
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 24 Mar 2021

Noise wrote:
24 Mar 2021
bxbrkrz wrote:
24 Mar 2021
I had a ghost for many years. My ghost was the Korg PadKrontrol via USB.
I like ms-paint

DawnOfTheUSB.jpg
Image
757365206c6f67696320746f207365656b20616e73776572732075736520726561736f6e20746f2066696e6420776973646f6d

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1037
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 24 Mar 2021

Same. New update and then after few days after it crashed completely. I had the feeling it was going to crash because it would restart and not shut down. Every time.
I had to reinstall everything with new version 20H something. Now it's back to normal.

User avatar
rgdaniel
Posts: 505
Joined: 07 Sep 2017
Location: Canada

Post 24 Mar 2021

Had nothing but trouble with waking up from Sleep or Hibernate, going back to Win 7. Finally tech repair guy suggested I just have Display go to sleep, but hard drives set to "Never". They still spin down after a period of inactivity, so things are pretty quiet when it goes dark at 30 minutes. But awake instantly when mouse wiggled. Haven't used Sleep or Hibernate in 3-4 years now. Also, straight up wired USB mouse for me, only. The wire keeps it from falling all the way to the floor... :)

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 24 Mar 2021

Hmmm I never had an issue until I did a windows update. I will try unhooking some usb things thanks.

Noise wrote:
24 Mar 2021
Well, I have this issue, usually I unplug the mouse (razor) and it's fine. I know it's the culprit, to lazy to find a actual fix for this.
I'm guessing it got something to do with usb-power saving options. (device manager section)
Try to unplug everything USB just to check if this is the issue.

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 24 Mar 2021

:lol:


bxbrkrz wrote:
24 Mar 2021
I had a ghost for many years. My ghost was the Korg PadKrontrol via USB.

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 24 Mar 2021

Thank you will check these out!





StephenHutchinson wrote:
24 Mar 2021
Yeah, this has happened on almost every Windows computer I've owned. The trick I found that works is not to us "Sleep" but use "Hibernate" (there is also a mixed mode for "hybrid sleep" mode which works great too). Here are instructions on how to hibernate or hybrid sleep your PC:

Hibernate
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 972e8e6eff

Hybrid Sleep

https://www.howtogeek.com/102897/what ... ur%20work.

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 24 Mar 2021

You had to reinstall all of your software??


Re8et wrote:
24 Mar 2021
Same. New update and then after few days after it crashed completely. I had the feeling it was going to crash because it would restart and not shut down. Every time.
I had to reinstall everything with new version 20H something. Now it's back to normal.

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 24 Mar 2021

Ok thanks.


rgdaniel wrote:
24 Mar 2021
Had nothing but trouble with waking up from Sleep or Hibernate, going back to Win 7. Finally tech repair guy suggested I just have Display go to sleep, but hard drives set to "Never". They still spin down after a period of inactivity, so things are pretty quiet when it goes dark at 30 minutes. But awake instantly when mouse wiggled. Haven't used Sleep or Hibernate in 3-4 years now. Also, straight up wired USB mouse for me, only. The wire keeps it from falling all the way to the floor... :)

User avatar
xylyx
Posts: 204
Joined: 11 Feb 2015

Post 25 Mar 2021

Goriila Texas wrote:
22 Mar 2021
After I updated my computer with an windows 10 point update my computer won't go to sleep. I click sleep from setting and a few minutes later it's back on. It even wakes up out of being shutdown which I've never seen. Does anyone know what the issue could be??
I had this issue a number of times but it hasn't happened in the last 6 months. This link has some information about how to find what is blocking Windows from going into sleep mode, using the powercfg command. I can't find the original link I used to solve the issue but I think the linked page should help with resolving it.

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 26 Mar 2021

Thanks I'll check this out too.





xylyx wrote:
25 Mar 2021
Goriila Texas wrote:
22 Mar 2021
After I updated my computer with an windows 10 point update my computer won't go to sleep. I click sleep from setting and a few minutes later it's back on. It even wakes up out of being shutdown which I've never seen. Does anyone know what the issue could be??
I had this issue a number of times but it hasn't happened in the last 6 months. This link has some information about how to find what is blocking Windows from going into sleep mode, using the powercfg command. I can't find the original link I used to solve the issue but I think the linked page should help with resolving it.

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1037
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 26 Mar 2021

Goriila Texas wrote:
24 Mar 2021
You had to reinstall all of your software??


Re8et wrote:
24 Mar 2021
Same. New update and then after few days after it crashed completely. I had the feeling it was going to crash because it would restart and not shut down. Every time.
I had to reinstall everything with new version 20H something. Now it's back to normal.
I had to format my main C drive... yes, total bummer...

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 29 Mar 2021

Ok sorry to hear that.
Re8et wrote:
26 Mar 2021
Goriila Texas wrote:
24 Mar 2021
You had to reinstall all of your software??



I had to format my main C drive... yes, total bummer...

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1037
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 15 Nov 2021

Goriila Texas wrote:
29 Mar 2021
Ok sorry to hear that.
Re8et wrote:
26 Mar 2021


I had to format my main C drive... yes, total bummer...

I just made to install win 10 on a nvme adata drive!!! superfast read and write!!!
And, managed to install Linux alongside to the old SSD main drive, and use grub to get into windows!!!
I have made a SHARED folder on the old SSD so now, every documents and programs are on this shared partition.
I mantain the NVME drive just for the main win 10 OS, and it look superstable at the moment.
I also got to the end of life cycle for win 10 updates, and the system has not collapsed...
it took me about a week in order to make the new double system up and ready, but it was
worth every moment!!! The last Win 10 img contain the drivers that allows to install into Nvme drives,
this wasn't possible with earlier install win imges...

So I can use Linux for my Kicad DIY projects, and say goodbye to only windows environment for coding and extra stuff!!

Windows doesn't like that you mess with indexing and folder permissions, last install I had tried to
minimize windows control but then the system collapsed with 100% disk usage on main C:
I am avoiding customization on new install and I have normal reading...
We have to live with the new philosophy of win looking ionto every single Hd connected for
the well being of the system... win defence is here to stay..

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 1037
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 01 Dec 2021

I just came across to this article posted at techpowerup.
It basically says that windows could install radeon.exe driver if you have an AMD cpu,
that could cause an infinite loop on a thread. This would cause 100% cpu usage and slowdown.
It might not be your case.
PC sleep could hang over power options also. Fast Startup and such could not get well with old mobos, etc.
definitely if capable you should look into debugging some of the console errors.

this is the AMD driver article I was referring to
https://www.techpowerup.com/274967/psa- ... -installed

Goriila Texas
Posts: 733
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Location: Houston TX

Post 02 Dec 2021

:clap: :thumbup:


Re8et wrote:
01 Dec 2021
I just came across to this article posted at techpowerup.
It basically says that windows could install radeon.exe driver if you have an AMD cpu,
that could cause an infinite loop on a thread. This would cause 100% cpu usage and slowdown.
It might not be your case.
PC sleep could hang over power options also. Fast Startup and such could not get well with old mobos, etc.
definitely if capable you should look into debugging some of the console errors.

this is the AMD driver article I was referring to
https://www.techpowerup.com/274967/psa- ... -installed

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests