Plugins that are VST3/AU only

Discuss VST stuff here!
User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 8285
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 28 Sep 2018

I thought it would be interesting to get a topic going which keeps track of what plugins are VST3 only.
We can also look at plugins that are AU only, etc, but I assume most of the general public is more interested in VST3, which most everyone could use if supported by Reason (depending on OS support by individual developers).

And this as I understand can even vary between operating systems. For example, something might be VST3 only on macOS, but available in VST2 on Windows (or vice versa).

Is there a good resource out there that already keeps track of this?
Otherwise, we can start keeping track here to rally for support for these formats.

I'll start it off with what I have come across! And maybe I can edit this first post with updates whenever I have time. Let me know of any corrections :puf_smile:



Antares
https://www.antarestech.com/
VST3, AU, etc, but no support for VST2

Line6 PodFarm 2.5 (for Mac)
https://line6.com/pod-farm/
macOS doesn't have 64bit VST 2.4 version. Only AU is 64 Bit and VST is 32 Bit.

Roland Cloud Legendary Series
https://rolandcloud.com/catalog/legendary
VST2 available for Windows only, macOS is VST3/AU only

Scuffham S-GEAR (for Mac)
https://www.scuffhamamps.com/download/s-gear-v2
VST3, AU and AAX only

Sinevibes
https://www.sinevibes.com/plugins/
AU only (macOS only)

sonicprojects - OP-X PRO-II (for Mac)
http://www.sonicprojects.ch/opxpro2/macversion.html
AU/VST3 only for macOS

Sonoma Wire Works - DrumCore 4
https://www.sonomawireworks.com/drumcore/
VST3/AU/AAX

Steinberg - Absolute VST Collection
https://new.steinberg.net/absolute/
VST3/AU/AAX

Yamaha
VST editors for their hardware synths are VST3 only.

Reminiscence
Posts: 159
Joined: 31 May 2016

Post 02 Oct 2018

Sonoma Wire Works - DrumCore 4 :ugeek:
https://www.sonomawireworks.com/drumcore/

zumBeispiel
Posts: 207
Joined: 16 Jul 2015

Post 02 Oct 2018

Scuffham S-GEAR for Mac

AU, VST3 and AAX only:
https://www.scuffhamamps.com/download/s-gear-v2
Last edited by zumBeispiel on 02 Oct 2018, edited 1 time in total.

Resonator
Posts: 316
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: New York

Post 02 Oct 2018

Roland Cloud Legendary Series

https://rolandcloud.com/catalog/legendary

Too bad I need a faster computer to run them. But since I’m not using any other DAWs, I guess I can wait until Props add VST3 compatibility.

User avatar
Despondo
Posts: 714
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Post 02 Oct 2018

Line6 PodFarm 2.5 for Mac doesn't have 64bit VST 2.4 version. Only AU is 64 Bit and VST is 32 Bit.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1632
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 03 Oct 2018

I have to use a wrapper to use my beloved OPX PRO II because it is VST3/AU only on mac.

Same for Halion and Padshop Pro.
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO


koshal
Posts: 50
Joined: 19 Apr 2015

Post 03 Oct 2018

Yeah everything in Absolute VST Collection by Steinberg is only VST3/AU on Mac. So that means in Reason on my Mac I can't use the following plugins (without a special wrapper like Bluecat Patchwork)...

Dark Planet
Groove Agent
HALion
HALion Sonic
HALion Symphonic Orchestra
Hypnotic Dance
Padshop
Retrologue
The Grand
Triebwerk
Zero Gravity

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1632
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 24 Jan 2021

Can't use Plasmonic: https://rhizomatic.fr

Can't us OSL's Hex Drum or Side Effects: https://oblivionsoundlab.com/product-category/plugins/

Can't use the new and improved Surge: https://surge-synthesizer.github.io

surge.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8771
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 24 Jan 2021

hurricane wrote:
24 Jan 2021
Can't use Plasmonic: https://rhizomatic.fr
Yea, even with its incredible ugly UI i wanted at least give it a try...
:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
arqui
Posts: 374
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 24 Jan 2021

Celemony Melodyne
All Plugins of Presonus
      Reason 11 Suite, perpetual license :reason:

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1632
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 24 Jan 2021

PA's Fiedler Audio Stage: https://www.plugin-alliance.com/en/prod ... stage.html

stage.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 6246
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 24 Jan 2021

The last 5 VSTs Ive looked at with any interest have been VST3 only. It’s just going to get worse for Reason users if RS don’t get it together.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 390
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 24 Jan 2021

MrFigg wrote:
24 Jan 2021
The last 5 VSTs Ive looked at with any interest have been VST3 only. It’s just going to get worse for Reason users if RS don’t get it together.
To be fair Ableton Live didn't support VST3 until late 2019, a full 11 years after the VST3 format was introduced. Considering the Reason rack plugin is itself a VST3 now RS clearly understand the format, so I'm sure it's just a matter of time and hopefully not too much longer.

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 390
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 24 Jan 2021

All of the Aberrant DSP plugins are VST3 only: SoundShifter and SketchCassette

Unrelated, but they're also among the few (along with Fabfilter) that are already Apple Silicon native.

User avatar
hurricane
Posts: 1632
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Post 24 Jan 2021

Can't use Caelum Audio's uber cool tape plugin: https://www.caelumaudio.com/CaelumAudio/?Page=TapePro

Image
https://soundcloud.com/hurricane-music | https://soundcloud.com/hurricaneaudiolab
Mac mini | Logic Pro | Reason 10.4 | DX7 | DX7s | TX7 | CZ-1 | JP-8080 | Virus Classic | Roland XP-80/XP-30/RD-700/D2/TR-09 | microKorg I 03R/W | SL990 PRO

User avatar
manisnotabird
Posts: 390
Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Location: Austin, TX

Post 27 Jan 2021

The Moog Model 15 app (and it's only available if you have the Big Sur Mac OS).

User avatar
zoidkirb
Posts: 571
Joined: 18 Nov 2018
Location: Brisbane Australia

Post 27 Jan 2021

manisnotabird wrote:
27 Jan 2021
The Moog Model 15 app (and it's only available if you have the Big Sur Mac OS).
It's not a Vst as far as I can tell.

DaveyG
Posts: 750
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 27 Jan 2021

Melodyne 5.

V4 and earlier were VST2 so this is an example of a well-established product dropping the VST2 version.

User avatar
manisnotabird
Posts: 390
Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Location: Austin, TX

Post 27 Jan 2021

zoidkirb wrote:
27 Jan 2021
manisnotabird wrote:
27 Jan 2021
The Moog Model 15 app (and it's only available if you have the Big Sur Mac OS).
It's not a Vst as far as I can tell.
isn't the point of this thread plugins that aren't VSTs?

User avatar
zoidkirb
Posts: 571
Joined: 18 Nov 2018
Location: Brisbane Australia

Post 27 Jan 2021

manisnotabird wrote:
27 Jan 2021
zoidkirb wrote:
27 Jan 2021


It's not a Vst as far as I can tell.
isn't the point of this thread plugins that aren't VSTs?
On closer inspection, yes :oops:
I guess I'd just never heard the grievance of Reason not running Au's before.

User avatar
Loque
Moderator
Posts: 8771
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 27 Jan 2021

:reason: 11, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
bitley
Posts: 1524
Joined: 03 Jul 2015
Location: sweden

Post 18 Feb 2021

So I installed Roland Cloud yesterday finding that I actually have several licenses which was nice to know. But none of them appear in Reason to my dismay. Having Logic Pro X and Ableton Live Lite as well I surely prefer working in Reason. Call me names but I didn't know AU support was missing.

Lotuz2019
Posts: 69
Joined: 04 Jul 2020

Post 19 Feb 2021


User avatar
aeox
Posts: 2891
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: mars soon

Post 19 Feb 2021

Lotuz2019 wrote:
19 Feb 2021
waveTracing SP950
https://www.reasonstudios.com/shop/rack ... converter/

If you're into RE

I know it's not related to topic but I love this device :D

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: gritz and 0 guests