nano Kontrol Studio

Want to talk about music hardware or software that doesn't include Reason?
dwiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jan 2020

Post 22 Nov 2020

Hi All,

I am trying to get a nanoKontrol studio to work with Reason 11, on mac running Mojave OS.

In the midid studio setup utilityt teh dievec eappears, in reason I can select the devce as a control surface, but I canot map the controls either manually or via a few codec I've foudn floating around. I've installed Korg Kontrol editor, whenever I try to writE a scene to device an error comes up "COMMUNICATION - FAILED TO OPEN MIDI PORT"

Any troubleshooting tips here?

rmtcvolte
Posts: 65
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

Post 23 Nov 2020

Hi,
in case you did not found it by yourself:
https://github.com/maghul/Reason-KorgNa ... Studio.lua

Remember to set back your nano to firmware states, if you made changes to something in the past.
The codec setup info is:
"The program will set your nanoKontrol Studio to Native Mode. This requires that Global MIDI Channel 1 is selected. The nanoKontrol Studio will be returned to normal mode when you disable it in the Preferences or quit the program."

stuk71
Posts: 95
Joined: 15 Apr 2020
Location: Scotland

Post 23 Nov 2020

I used to have one and could never get it to map over... was very frustrating.

Sorry can’t help... I eventually went with Nektar.

dwiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jan 2020

Post Yesterday

THANKYOU for the githhub hookup.

Reason now sees the kontorl as a mappable surface

rmtcvolte
Posts: 65
Joined: 15 Nov 2018

Post Yesterday

No problem, only thing I'd not mentioned was, that you have to map all the newer devices by yourself. Maybe this could help: http://reasonremoter.co.uk/, search for "djsmex" in this forum. maybe he is willing to add the nanoKontrol Studio to his list.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Sorped and 0 guests