Authorizer folder bug: empty it and free up space (26 GB for me)

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 4578
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 30 Mar 2020

Yeah. Well we’ve been asking for selective downloads since the dawn of REs and been deftly ignored.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
Ixus
Posts: 270
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 Mar 2020

joeyluck wrote:
30 Mar 2020
Ixus wrote:
30 Mar 2020
19.9 GB removed. Thanks alot!
My 3 TB hdd died recently and my small SSD is getting quite full,so this is very nice!
Great! Was this the Authorizer folder?
I think it was atleast, what the heck did I actually remove!! :shock:

Haha no well the location is as follows Local disk - users- mycompuers name - appdata - local - prop software - reason
and in that Reason folder theres a folder with my computers name with all of those wierd files 19 gb in total.

I just looked now after using Reason once and its up to 350mb.

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 7063
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 30 Mar 2020

Ixus wrote:
30 Mar 2020
joeyluck wrote:
30 Mar 2020


Great! Was this the Authorizer folder?
I think it was atleast, what the heck did I actually remove!! :shock:

Haha no well the location is as follows Local disk - users- mycompuers name - appdata - local - prop software - reason
and in that Reason folder theres a folder with my computers name with all of those wierd files 19 gb in total.

I just looked now after using Reason once and its up to 350mb.
Sounds like you cleared the cache. The Authorizer folder is located here:

macOS:
Users/username/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Authorizer

Windows: Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software\Authorizer

User avatar
Ixus
Posts: 270
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 30 Mar 2020

joeyluck wrote:
30 Mar 2020
Ixus wrote:
30 Mar 2020


I think it was atleast, what the heck did I actually remove!! :shock:

Haha no well the location is as follows Local disk - users- mycompuers name - appdata - local - prop software - reason
and in that Reason folder theres a folder with my computers name with all of those wierd files 19 gb in total.

I just looked now after using Reason once and its up to 350mb.
Sounds like you cleared the cache. The Authorizer folder is located here:

macOS:
Users/username/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Authorizer

Windows: Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software\Authorizer
LOL you just saved me another 26 GB, My SSD thanks you!

haha :redface:

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 7063
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 30 Mar 2020

Ixus wrote:
30 Mar 2020
joeyluck wrote:
30 Mar 2020


Sounds like you cleared the cache. The Authorizer folder is located here:

macOS:
Users/username/Library/Application Support/Propellerhead Software/Authorizer

Windows: Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software\Authorizer
LOL you just saved me another 26 GB, My SSD thanks you!

haha :redface:
Awesome! Sounds like the same as mine. That's the real deal here! :)

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 7063
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 31 Mar 2020

I've renamed this thread to make it a little more clear hopefully :)

kitekrazy
Posts: 824
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 31 Mar 2020

Isn't sync all just for the licenses?

User avatar
joeyluck
Moderator
Posts: 7063
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 31 Mar 2020

kitekrazy wrote:
31 Mar 2020
Isn't sync all just for the licenses?
Sync All will also download any REs from your account that are not on your computer.

User avatar
challism
Posts: 1832
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 31 Mar 2020

Sorry I kind of derailed the topic here, Joey.

So I guess we have three main ideas in this thread now:

1) Authorizer folder - It's important to know that the Authorizer folder is basically full of useless garbage files, which can be deleted. This was Joey's original point of this thread.

2) Cache folder - The cache folder does serve a purpose, they can be deleted too, and your OS will recreate the files it needs, but the program might run slower doing certain tasks until they are rewritten. This was me confusing everybody and derailing the thread.

3) RE folder/Factory Soundbank refills - these are necessary files for the DAW/REs to run. The Factory Soundbank can't be deleted (Reason won't run without it). The RE folder content can be deleted, but REs won't work without their files. If you don't want an RE, you can remove it from the RE folder, not just from Authorizer.
***IF you delete an RE from your Authorizer app, it's a good idea to go into the RE folder and also delete the files in there manually, because deleting from Authorizer DOES NOT delete them from the RE folder. You could have some big, unwanted REs in there taking up precious space!

I guess you can move the RE folder/Soundbank files to another drive, if you want. Instructions here: viewtopic.php?p=492690#p492690
Reason 2.5, Windows 95, 4MB RAM, 133Mhz CPU, integrated audio 14.4k dial-up modem

:rt: :reason: :rt: :reason: :rt: :reason: :rt: :reason: :rt: :reason: :rt:
ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

Yonatan
Posts: 1204
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 01 Apr 2020

Found that Authorizer folder on one of my laptops, just to see the download map only freed like 95mb for me. But the older Macbook 13" (High Sierra), strangely, there is no library folder at all under "usersname" folder.
Last edited by Yonatan on 01 Apr 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
littlejam
Posts: 246
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 01 Apr 2020

hello,

if you are on windows
you can turn off 'hibernate' which will save you around 4-5 gb of memory

blackviper website has many tweaks to reduce disk size, memory / cpu usage
and it's a tiered system to see how aggressive you want to be
very clear, very precise

also
msautoruns program allows you to select which programs you want to start up when you boot the machine
i have a lot of stuff turned off
until i decide to start them
shaves off a lot of time on start up

if you proceed, be sure to take notes and screen shots of programs / services you turn off so you can turn them back on again

at startup my win7 machine only has 50 processes working

i did make some mistakes
but i took notes and was able to get things going again

i turned off my printer
i turned off my audio

however, all is not rotten in denmark for 3 years now

at this point, i don't touch a thing

jchayote
littlejamaicastudios
i7 2.8ghz / 24GB ddr3 / Quadro 4000 x 2 / ProFire 610
reason 10 / reaper / acidpro /akai mpk mini / korg padkontrol / axiom 25 / radium 49
'i get by with a lot of help from my friends'

User avatar
demt
Posts: 1082
Joined: 16 Sep 2016

Post 01 Apr 2020

seems my computer cleaner program got there first ,only a log file of 1 kb
currently akai touch mpc. reasonsuite11, android kaosilater .behringer ddm4000 dj mixer
hear scince reason 2.5

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 4578
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 01 Apr 2020

littlejam wrote:
01 Apr 2020
hello,

if you are on windows
you can turn off 'hibernate' which will save you around 4-5 gb of memory

blackviper website has many tweaks to reduce disk size, memory / cpu usage
and it's a tiered system to see how aggressive you want to be
very clear, very precise

also
msautoruns program allows you to select which programs you want to start up when you boot the machine
i have a lot of stuff turned off
until i decide to start them
shaves off a lot of time on start up

if you proceed, be sure to take notes and screen shots of programs / services you turn off so you can turn them back on again

at startup my win7 machine only has 50 processes working

i did make some mistakes
but i took notes and was able to get things going again

i turned off my printer
i turned off my audio

however, all is not rotten in denmark for 3 years now

at this point, i don't touch a thing

jchayote
Check this out man. This guy is the best.

丰2ॐ

KevTav
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Jun 2016

Post 02 Apr 2020

joeyluck wrote:
27 Mar 2020
I was cleaning up my hard drive and I found that my Authorizer folder was over 26 GB! 5 GB more than my RackExtensions folder. I don't know how I didn't catch this before, but I finally noticed.

The Authorizer folder contains a Downloads folder. In that folder are partial RE downloads. When a RE successfully downloads and installs, that '.part' file is automatically removed from that folder.
Thanks for this. I was just cleaning up yesterday and found so much hidden stuff from stopped downloads, hidden files on trees I din't even see, program files logs, blah blah blah. Yeah this stuff can build up. I'm gonna check the locations you mentioned just to be sure.
Yamaha DGX-650 (Controller) - Komplete Audio Interface - Asus GR8 2 - Intel Core i7-7700 3.60 GHz - 16GB RAM - Audio Technica ATH M50x - Yamaha HS 80Ms - Reason 10 - Izotope - Cubase - Pro Tools - Ableton - Epiphones - Taylors - SH*TLOAD of Plug-Ins

User avatar
Oquasec
Posts: 2779
Joined: 05 Mar 2017

Post 02 Apr 2020

I think CCleaner took care of this
Producer/Programmer.
Do not connect mouse or hard drive to power ports on hub with an interface in the hub.

User avatar
MannequinRaces
Posts: 1295
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2020

50.6 ... ... ... MB. Wah wah, lol. I was hoping for more to free up some space!

KevTav
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Jun 2016

Post 03 Apr 2020

MannequinRaces wrote:
03 Apr 2020
50.6 ... ... ... MB. Wah wah, lol. I was hoping for more to free up some space!
"Pssst....it's me...Satan. Why not just format your computer and start over!?" :twisted:
Yamaha DGX-650 (Controller) - Komplete Audio Interface - Asus GR8 2 - Intel Core i7-7700 3.60 GHz - 16GB RAM - Audio Technica ATH M50x - Yamaha HS 80Ms - Reason 10 - Izotope - Cubase - Pro Tools - Ableton - Epiphones - Taylors - SH*TLOAD of Plug-Ins

User avatar
plaamook
Posts: 1149
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: probably underwater

Post 03 Apr 2020

Only 603 bytes in mine

User avatar
demt
Posts: 1082
Joined: 16 Sep 2016

Post 03 Apr 2020

plaamook wrote:
03 Apr 2020
Only 603 bytes in mine
im betting youve got an all in won do everything computer cleaner fixer speeder whatsit , itll add years to the life of your machine
currently akai touch mpc. reasonsuite11, android kaosilater .behringer ddm4000 dj mixer
hear scince reason 2.5

User avatar
plaamook
Posts: 1149
Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Location: probably underwater

Post 03 Apr 2020

demt wrote:
03 Apr 2020
plaamook wrote:
03 Apr 2020
Only 603 bytes in mine
im betting youve got an all in won do everything computer cleaner fixer speeder whatsit , itll add years to the life of your machine
No. I think it's just that I don't buy that many Re's

User avatar
littlejam
Posts: 246
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2020

hello,

on windows,
another thing you can do is limit the size of your 'page file'
that'll save another like 4GB of space
i turned mine off completely
yahoo for instructions on how to do it
i have mine turned off for 5 years and still going strong
all my critical files are back up on 2 different hard drives

cheers,

j
littlejamaicastudios
i7 2.8ghz / 24GB ddr3 / Quadro 4000 x 2 / ProFire 610
reason 10 / reaper / acidpro /akai mpk mini / korg padkontrol / axiom 25 / radium 49
'i get by with a lot of help from my friends'

User avatar
Neo
Posts: 96
Joined: 21 May 2015
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post 21 May 2020

joeyluck wrote:
29 Mar 2020
challism wrote:
29 Mar 2020
Joey had mentioned to me that he also cleaned out his Reason cache folder/files and freed up a lot of space. He's on a Mac. I'm on Windows. I want to clean out my Reason cache folder for Windows. Does anybody know where I would find that folder?

For reference, the Mac folder is located here: users/username/Library/Caches/Reason
I guess once you figure it out, we can add it to this stickied list:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7514631

It is weird that Reason Preferences (which lets you set the cache location and reset to the "default") doesn't tell you there where the default is...
Cheers gents.
Thanks for asking the question @challism
Just cleared the cache.
:reason: :re: :ignition: | :PUF_take:

User avatar
Skimrok
Posts: 290
Joined: 12 Jun 2018
Location: U.K.

Post 22 May 2020

thank you so much for this :thumbs_up: :thumbs_up: I cleared 4gb now to fill that back up with goodies :lol:
Reason 11 Suite :reason: Novation Launchkey Mini mk3 / Nektar LX25+ / MPD218 / HS8s Monitors / Mrs10 Sub

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: avasopht, EnochLight, guitfnky, SebAudio and 2 guests