Akai MPK25 recognized only as a general MIDI keyboard in v10

This forum is for discussing Reason. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
Mode7
Posts: 31
Joined: 30 Nov 2018

Post 09 Nov 2019

Hi there,

I bought an Akai MPK25, I downloaded all teh drivers and remote files but it still doesn't appear in the Akai devices list in the Midi settings.
I cannot use the Reason Profile on my Akai MPK25, so I have to map everything manually which is quite long.

Does anyone know the solution ?

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2551
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 10 Nov 2019

Where has it installed the remote files and codec?

visheshl
Posts: 164
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 11 Nov 2019

If it doesn't automatically get recognised, select akai mpk25 from the add controller dialog. If you've installed the codecs and maps correctly, it should show up in the controllers list.
Btw you also need to use the Reason preset on mpk25.
Free reason control surface for iOS and Android - download here - viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7514723

User avatar
kuhliloach
Posts: 737
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

Post 11 Nov 2019

I've some to expect Reason will not be able to automatically detect or map my hardware devices. Most all my devices wind up in Reason as "<Other> MIDI Control Keyboard". That said everything does work. It just doesn't get detected or mapped automatically.

Mode7
Posts: 31
Joined: 30 Nov 2018

Post 13 Nov 2019

The Akai MPK25 does not appears in the "add controller " dialog :'(...

I put all the files in almost every Reason / Remote directories i could, toggled on Reason profile before laucnhing the program, still nothing changes...

visheshl
Posts: 164
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 13 Nov 2019

Thats wierd. Maybe open up a support ticket at reason studios
Free reason control surface for iOS and Android - download here - viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7514723

Cadenz
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Dec 2019

Post 25 Jun 2020

I got it to work In Reason 11 Suite (latest build), if you still have that device.

Anyone who gets this far, still stuck I got this device to show up in auto-detect. There's no extra steps from the Manual in the Remote files folder. The instructions are just a tab bit confusing.

Image

Happy using it right now. But if anyone needs some basic troubleshooting. lmk.

Windows XP
1. The Akai Reason Remote Files folder (the same folder where you found
this guide) contains two folders: Lua Codecs and Maps. Open the Lua
Codecs folder.
2. Copy the folder titled Akai into the following directory on your computer:
C:\Documents and settings\All Users\Application Data\Propellerhead
Software\Remote\Codecs\Lua Codecs
3. Next, in the Akai Reason Remote Files folder, open the folder titled
Maps
4. Copy the Akai folder to the following directory on your computer:
C:\Documents and settings\All Users\Application Data\Propellerhead
Software\Remote\Maps
5. Open Reason and select the Edit menu from the top of the screen, and
open Preferences.
6. Using the pull-down menu at the top of the Preferences window, choose
Control Surfaces And Keyboards.
7. Click the Add button.
8. Select Akai from the Manufacturer list.
9. Set the In Port to USB Audio Device
10. Set the Out Port to USB Audio Device [2]
11. Click Ok and then close the Preferences window. You're all set!

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests