Reason Slow Performance - when is optimisation coming?

This forum is for discussing Propellerhead's music software. Questions, answers, ideas, and opinions... all apply.
User avatar
bolandross
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Oct 2017

Post 09 Feb 2019

Data_Shrine wrote:
09 Feb 2019
I recently wanted to start a project - ep or lp, made only in Reason, but I quickly realized it's not possible. I can't do much before the software becomes unusable. It's like all it can handle fine by itself is recording audio. Forget about RE's & VST's. So it's back to rewire for me.
Sorry, but I don't understand why you were having problems with Rack Extensions. Just avoiding VST effects did the trick for me. What extensions were you using in your bigger projects?

User avatar
KirkMarkarian
Posts: 292
Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post 09 Feb 2019

Still waiting, myself. Opening projects I have made in earlier versions of Reason, running Mojave. I don't use VSTs and this is just sapping my CPU like never before. Can't wait for the update!

RandyEspoda
Posts: 217
Joined: 14 Mar 2017

Post 09 Feb 2019

ethernine99 wrote:
07 Feb 2019
RandyEspoda wrote:
06 Feb 2019
I've been having weird issues as well, never had any up until now with the latest build.

Basically I'm getting 'out of memory' errors while there's still like 8-10 GIGS of ram free...
Reason also hanging while bouncing in place or while 'saving and optimizing' and stuff like that.

Also repeatedly when I mute midi bars, they still play until I unmute then mute them again.

Seriously, performance wise, Reason really is going downhill, not up...never had any of such issues till this last release dropped.

same here i have a bunch of ram free and its still going crazy..
The weird thing is that it usually acts weird with projects that are 'only' audio.
After I bounce all channels to audio and import them into a new project,
Reason starts flipping, hanging, crashing, out of ram messages,...
Ok it involves some 50-60 channels but still, the same amount of channels work fine in midi,
but once working with 60 audio channels, it just can't handle it ?

Is it because it caches all that audio all at once, or what is going on here ?
Audio is supposed to be 'less' straining on cpu and ram compared to midi.
In any case, I suspect poor audio performance in general, can't think of anything else.

DSP never even reaches above two bars.

This has nothing to do with the coming update, which to me is scary because it will not be fixed.
Really considering alternative options if this trend continues...not able to work with audio is a no go, plain and simple.

User avatar
buddard
Posts: 513
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 09 Feb 2019

KirkMarkarian wrote:
09 Feb 2019
Still waiting, myself. Opening projects I have made in earlier versions of Reason, running Mojave. I don't use VSTs and this is just sapping my CPU like never before. Can't wait for the update!
Sadly, judging from earlier comments by PH staff, the primary purpose of the next update is to address VST performance issues. So it's not very likely that your issues will be fixed. But not completely impossible, of course!

User avatar
Maxsu
Posts: 56
Joined: 15 Oct 2016
Location: Vienna

Post 11 Feb 2019

buddard wrote:
09 Feb 2019
KirkMarkarian wrote:
09 Feb 2019
Still waiting, myself. Opening projects I have made in earlier versions of Reason, running Mojave. I don't use VSTs and this is just sapping my CPU like never before. Can't wait for the update!
Sadly, judging from earlier comments by PH staff, the primary purpose of the next update is to address VST performance issues. So it's not very likely that your issues will be fixed. But not completely impossible, of course!
:o I try to improve my workflow and dsp impact with bouncing as much stuff that I can after creating and processing!I had worked to much only with midi tracks but to amek certain sounds you have to bounce the hell out of it.

will give feedback if I have problems with audio tracks - my opinion, maybe your graphics card is the problem - the Audio tracks get visualized in reason and if you have mcuh of it you should close the tracks to minize it.

cheers ;)

User avatar
KirkMarkarian
Posts: 292
Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post 11 Feb 2019

Maxsu wrote:
11 Feb 2019

:o I try to improve my workflow and dsp impact with bouncing as much stuff that I can after creating and processing!I had worked to much only with midi tracks but to amek certain sounds you have to bounce the hell out of it.

will give feedback if I have problems with audio tracks - my opinion, maybe your graphics card is the problem - the Audio tracks get visualized in reason and if you have mcuh of it you should close the tracks to minize it.

cheers ;)
@Maxsu - I wish I could render the audio and be satisfied; I may have to change the way I work (again) to do so. Been using Reason since 2001, and I've always read about that technique. My style of music does change timbre quite a bit, on a generative level, which is why I haven't been too satisfied with that type of workaround.

What really has bothered me about all of this is that I use a very limited amount of instruments, like 5 - 6 tracks (maybe 8 if I'm lucky), due to the style of music I generally make. No singers, no guitar, no audio tracks, just synthesis. Lots of wacky CV, lots of movement. Modular, abstract, or lots of subtle movement.

Before the last update to Reason, and right before Mojave, this was not an issue. I would be at 3 bars, peaking into 4. Enough to let me know that the CPU's gonna start having to work. I generally like to work with the Master section full of REs, so I even stopped doing that and changed the way that I use the Master section (less REs) and have processed the tracks even more via the channel strips before running it through the Master section. Not a huge help, but very similar audio results and a little bit of CPU was freed.

After the latest Mojave update, though, Reason has become more sluggish than usual. I am right on the verge of updating my computer in the next month. In the meantime, I'll just have to be patient. I've really milked my 2012 Mac Mini for the past 6+ years, and it's probably just time for me to upgrade. It may be the graphics card, but it's probably just that the computer's old in general.

I'm simply bummed that when I have ideas I'd like to push forward, I'm running into this processing roadblock that wasn't there before. The answer is that I probably need a new computer. :D

kinkujin
Posts: 72
Joined: 01 Mar 2018

Post 11 Feb 2019

Sorry to ask what may be an obvious question, but...
Is the Mac OS potentially an issue here? Have folk moved to an earlier and stable OS to diagnose this issue(s)?

User avatar
KirkMarkarian
Posts: 292
Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post 11 Feb 2019

kinkujin wrote:
11 Feb 2019
Sorry to ask what may be an obvious question, but...
Is the Mac OS potentially an issue here? Have folk moved to an earlier and stable OS to diagnose this issue(s)?
It might be. Something about the OpenGL and Metal graphics something or other - not a coding guy, so it's a bit above my head. Nope, not gonna go back, the rest of my computer and it's software run great :D

User avatar
jappe
Posts: 2031
Joined: 19 Jan 2015

Post 11 Feb 2019

CookieClimber wrote:
07 Feb 2019
It's sad, seing that Reason always has been very friendly to the CPU. And funny enough this may be why they waited so long to jump on the VST train. At last the pressure got too high and they included VST, only to find this.

ALTHOUGH

It feels like reason is eating power in other ways as well nowadays, cause even when I delete VSTs, my projects seem to lag more than before.
The whole system OS/Reason/audio interface is a moving target so very difficult to identify what causes which problem.
The only thing I can say with certainty is that I find myself struggling with "Computer too slow" very often these past two years, which I didn't do before.

It would be extremely helpful if Propellerheads could utilize some AI & automation to implement a performance advisor.

I need to understand the culprits in a problematic project.
And I'm pretty sure that's a task that a performance advisor can do much better and quicker than me.

For a start, REs could be profiled before submitting them to the shop, and Reason made aware of their performance rating.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Catblack, Danrb, Yandex [Bot] and 0 guests