new to combinators - a few questions

Need some fresh sounds? Want to show off your sound design skills? Here's the place!
User avatar
gkillmaster
Posts: 273
Joined: 09 May 2018

Post 27 Jan 2024

I'm trying to set up a combinator and the CV controls are working as expected, but not the Controls. I've assigned 8 Controls to an instrument but only 4 of them show up on the back of the combinator.

Also, when I input CV from Morpher or Pulsar, the dials don't move.

Is there a way to have all 8 Controls show up as CV inputs on the back?
Is there a way to modulate them using CV?

Thanks for any clarification!

Greg

User avatar
jam-s
Posts: 3005
Joined: 17 Apr 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany

Post 27 Jan 2024

I think you confusion stems from not knowing/realising the difference between CV and automation in Reason. This tutorial is a good read: https://www.reasonexperts.com/control-v ... eason.html

In short: the controls move when being automated, while CV modulating a parameter does not move the control. When the combinator programmer is used to map a CV input to a control it converts the CV to automation and thus the control is moving.

User avatar
FGL
Posts: 409
Joined: 23 Jan 2015

Post 27 Jan 2024

The Combinator has only 4 CV Inputs. But you can assign way more CV if you route Knobs direct to the Devices, and automate this. This four CV Inputs are only for automate the changings on this Knobs via CV. Something that is not often needed. If you want automate changes you can record an Automation lane for every knob. It ist also possible and handy to make some automation inside the Combinator, every device and every knob there can have also a specific automation lane.

User avatar
FGL
Posts: 409
Joined: 23 Jan 2015

Post 27 Jan 2024

Another Tipp: the combinator can have way more then 8 Knobs. https://www.reasonstudios.com/products/combinator/

User avatar
gkillmaster
Posts: 273
Joined: 09 May 2018

Post 27 Jan 2024

jam-s wrote:
27 Jan 2024
I think you confusion stems from not knowing/realising the difference between CV and automation in Reason. This tutorial is a good read: https://www.reasonexperts.com/control-v ... eason.html

In short: the controls move when being automated, while CV modulating a parameter does not move the control. When the combinator programmer is used to map a CV input to a control it converts the CV to automation and thus the control is moving.
Thanks so much! I see and appreciate it! That tutorial is super good and helpful!
Last edited by gkillmaster on 27 Jan 2024, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkillmaster
Posts: 273
Joined: 09 May 2018

Post 27 Jan 2024

FGL wrote:
27 Jan 2024
Another Tipp: the combinator can have way more then 8 Knobs. https://www.reasonstudios.com/products/combinator/
Thank you! I think I get it now.
There are only 4 Controls that can be modulated with CV
You can add more knobs, but they have to be modulated with automation
And you can only have 8 CV control inputs for CV modulation (CV1-CV8)

Or so it seems.

User avatar
FGL
Posts: 409
Joined: 23 Jan 2015

Post 27 Jan 2024

That's it, possibillitys are endless - down the rabbit hole. But most uses for me are combining two Instruments and play it as one with knobs for loudness (needs one mixer inside) and storing specific effect chains.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest