Note Retrigger combi

Need some fresh sounds? Want to show off your sound design skills? Here's the place!
raccoonboy

29 Oct 2015

Hi everyone.

Been using reason for a few months, really enjoy it and prefer it over other DAWs, the interface is just so creative and it's rediculously powerful, totally underrated.

Anyway. I've been wondering for a while how to make my Korg MS-20 hardware retrigger notes, because if you play notes overlapping it will always be legato, which can be annoying as the notes can quickly fade out to nothing if you're not super agile.

I've looked online and there is no way to patch it. Doepfer do a MIDI to CV module which you can shorten overlapping notes, but it's £150 and I don't really need it for anything else. I also tried finding a max for live plugin to do the job, no luck.

But I've figured out how to do it in Reason which I'm pretty proud of considering I'm new to the software. It did take quite a while to get it to work though, a good couple of days. hahah.

It took a lot of tinkering about and thanks to 'oofam' from Reddit for the suggestion of using a one shot LFO in Malstrom. I would never have known as I've not used it yet, only Thor which I know my way round pretty well by now.

Anyway I've tested on my MS20 and it works great but will work on other synths as well, I've added the option to increase the gap between notes in case some synths don't register it but I'm sure they will. Not sure how many people will have an MS20 (or synths with similar legato only playing) as well as Reason 7.0 or above, but hey someone might find it useful.