Sound design help request

Need some fresh sounds? Want to show off your sound design skills? Here's the place!
JNeffLind

18 Sep 2015

Hello all. I'm a total noob at sound design and am terrible at it, but was recently spurred to dive in because of one sound in particular, the featured sound on The Fugees "Ready or Not." It's literally the first sound heard on the track and continues throughout. Kind of a slow attack, haunting, ethereal, warm, slightly hooverish sound.

Here's a youtube clip of the track:

Can anyone help me to make this? I've got most of the most popular synths (predator, antidote, Parsec) and of course stock devices. To be honest, even if someone could make it with devices I don't own I'd be tempted to buy them to recreate it. I want it that bad.

Any help would be appreciated.

By the way, if you're not into hip-hop and don't know the Fugees album "The Score," it's the greatest hip hop album of all time in my opinion.

submonsterz

18 Sep 2015

was not an instrument as such as far as I remember it was a sample from Enya they took maybe if I remember right Boadicea yup it certainly was ;) link to Enya.
just create Enyas instrument and sample it. or sample hers job done bit of fiddling with filters etc youll get exactly what they had. stick into nn19 or nnxt

they skanked the instrument and vocal.
and you can try suss out which instrument made the sound itself out of these she used a lot but id say the last one probally was the synth used.

Juno 60, DX7, Emulator II and Kurzweil
Last edited by submonsterz on 18 Sep 2015, edited 1 time in total.

Exowildebeest

18 Sep 2015

Fat analog detuned saws I think, with proper filtering. Beautiful sound.

bpmorton

18 Sep 2015