Apple Silicon implications for Rack Extensions

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Billy+

04 May 2022

I've been looking at what's required for building native apps and one question that popped out was about optimising Rack extensions.

I'm not a developer but do have a limited understanding of development and programming and after watching how to create universal applications for AS I started seeing problems with the way rack extensions work and how potential difficult creating optimised version maybe without a new SDK and Build system.

Maybe I'm over thinking it or probably just misunderstanding it but it's an interesting topic and I would like to hear what actual developers are doing/thinking about potential improvements to their RE's might be achieved as well as any problems that currently can't be worked around.

Is the holdup to AS mainly due to rack extensions and 3rd parties or are you all just waiting for RS to create the fix within a new SDK?

pongasoft
RE Developer

04 May 2022

Billy+ wrote:
04 May 2022
I've been looking at what's required for building native apps and one question that popped out was about optimising Rack extensions.

I'm not a developer but do have a limited understanding of development and programming and after watching how to create universal applications for AS I started seeing problems with the way rack extensions work and how potential difficult creating optimised version maybe without a new SDK and Build system.

Maybe I'm over thinking it or probably just misunderstanding it but it's an interesting topic and I would like to hear what actual developers are doing/thinking about potential improvements to their RE's might be achieved as well as any problems that currently can't be worked around.

Is the holdup to AS mainly due to rack extensions and 3rd parties or are you all just waiting for RS to create the fix within a new SDK?
The way I see it is 2 fold: