Selig Deesser bug?

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1720
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 04 Oct 2020

Not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but I am unable to make it run on a stereo channel, seems it sums to mono.

Please confirm, so we can let Selig know if that is the case. It has Stereo in, so surely one should be able to used it on a stereo background vocal group?
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
ProfessaKaos
Posts: 352
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post 05 Oct 2020

Copied from the manual.

"Main Input
All signals enter the Selig DeEsser on these jacks. While there are two inputs, the Selig DeEsser
is a mono device and will sum the left and right signals before processing.
Main Output
You will use these output jacks most of the time, as they provide the simplest way to use both
the D-S and V-S modes. While there are two outputs, this is not a stereo device. The signal on
both output jacks will always be the same, so consider these jacks as “dual mono” outputs."
Reason 11.3 Suite PC- Windows 10, Intel 6800k, x99A-II, 32GB RAM, M.2. Samsung 970EVO, GTX1060.

https://soundcloud.com/juo-jual
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwNLcE ... DjhSI16TqQ

User avatar
Ottostrom
Posts: 337
Joined: 13 May 2016

Post 05 Oct 2020

There is a stereo preset you can use which is just two deessers in a combinator.
Aim for progress, not perfection.

User avatar
Boombastix
Posts: 1720
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post 05 Oct 2020

Yeah, I realized that eventually. There is even a tiny little routing symbol on the back showing that. How stoooopid (my opinion)
Could just have added a little button for true stereo, with default as mono. Why mono, to save CPU? Well mixers/mastering guys sometimes use deessers on the master bus to tame harshness. And there is such a thing as layered vocals on a stereo track.
Anyhow, I'll just have to remember that "feature" unless Selig takes it to heart and makes an update.

(Just as I have to remember to wire up the missing cable on PhoenixVerb, and to adjust timing if I re-record from a mix channel as Reason has a bug not doing latency compensation. And... phew...)
10% off at Waves with link: https://www.waves.com/r/6gh2b0
Disclaimer - I get 10% as well.

User avatar
Ottostrom
Posts: 337
Joined: 13 May 2016

Post 05 Oct 2020

Boombastix wrote:
05 Oct 2020
Yeah, I realized that eventually. There is even a tiny little routing symbol on the back showing that. How stoooopid (my opinion)
Could just have added a little button for true stereo, with default as mono. Why mono, to save CPU? Well mixers/mastering guys sometimes use deessers on the master bus to tame harshness. And there is such a thing as layered vocals on a stereo track.
Anyhow, I'll just have to remember that "feature" unless Selig takes it to heart and makes an update.

(Just as I have to remember to wire up the missing cable on PhoenixVerb, and to adjust timing if I re-record from a mix channel as Reason has a bug not doing latency compensation. And... phew...)
I'm guessing it's mono for some specific way it detects the sibilance in the first place but I definitely agree it should have a switch on the back which would make it work as two in one for true stereo.
Aim for progress, not perfection.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest