Sequences 1.4 - With Per-Note Conditions!

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
stp2015
Posts: 271
Joined: 02 Feb 2016

Post 17 Sep 2020

Amazing!!!!!

Could we also get scales mode so that the rows would be a bit larger? I find it difficult to hit the right row at times.

But this is really cool, at this point is an essential reason device.

User avatar
VIVIsect
Posts: 129
Joined: 28 May 2017

Post 17 Sep 2020

stp2015 wrote:
17 Sep 2020
Could we also get scales mode so that the rows would be a bit larger? I find it difficult to hit the right row at times.
Literally the single reason I never bought this RE.

The continued development and sale price is pretty enticing, though...

chrispy
Posts: 11
Joined: 04 Sep 2015

Post 17 Sep 2020

Another brilliant update to one of my favourite Players. Thanks for this! I use Sequences everywhere - it’s a great alternative to Ghost clips (which hopefully we’ll also get one day in the sequencer itself!).

I have spotted one issue that seems repeatable, and I can’t test with 1.3 (since I’ve upgrade the RE already) to know whether it is something that has changed in 1.4. Here are the steps to recreate:
  • In pattern 1 of Sequences, reduce the pattern length to 16 steps, then draw out a pattern in the first 16 steps
  • Create a pattern automation lane for Sequences
  • Draw out a pattern clip from bars 2.1.1.0 to 5.1.1.0 (i.e. 3 repetitions of that pattern in one clip). Note that the problem doesn't happen if the clip is at the start of the song at 1.1.1.0.
  • Put the left and right loop markers around this clip, engage loop and press play
  • The first time through the loop you hear the three pattern iterations correctly
  • However, when the playhead loops back to 2.1.1.0 the pattern stops and doesn’t restart until later into the clip
I can send an example Reason project that shows this if it's easier.

I’ve tried the same steps with similar Players (e.g. PolyStep, Kompulsion) to see if it’s a general Player looping issue, but they don’t seem to exhibit the same behaviour. Hopefully this is something simple (or something I’ve missed about the way looping/retriggering works in Sequences!)

Thanks for an awesome update though!

User avatar
Carly(Poohbear)
Posts: 2585
Joined: 25 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 17 Sep 2020

chrispy wrote:
17 Sep 2020
Another brilliant update to one of my favourite Players. Thanks for this! I use Sequences everywhere - it’s a great alternative to Ghost clips (which hopefully we’ll also get one day in the sequencer itself!).

I have spotted one issue that seems repeatable, and I can’t test with 1.3 (since I’ve upgrade the RE already) to know whether it is something that has changed in 1.4. Here are the steps to recreate:
  • In pattern 1 of Sequences, reduce the pattern length to 16 steps, then draw out a pattern in the first 16 steps
  • Create a pattern automation lane for Sequences
  • Draw out a pattern clip from bars 2.1.1.0 to 5.1.1.0 (i.e. 3 repetitions of that pattern in one clip). Note that the problem doesn't happen if the clip is at the start of the song at 1.1.1.0.
  • Put the left and right loop markers around this clip, engage loop and press play
  • The first time through the loop you hear the three pattern iterations correctly
  • However, when the playhead loops back to 2.1.1.0 the pattern stops and doesn’t restart until later into the clip
I can send an example Reason project that shows this if it's easier.

I’ve tried the same steps with similar Players (e.g. PolyStep, Kompulsion) to see if it’s a general Player looping issue, but they don’t seem to exhibit the same behaviour. Hopefully this is something simple (or something I’ve missed about the way looping/retriggering works in Sequences!)

Thanks for an awesome update though!
I have seen this issue before as I created an auto pattern changer, what I found was I had to move the slider forward by about 6 to 7 ticks for it to work and just put it down to a timing issue.

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 871
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 18 Sep 2020

chrispy wrote:
17 Sep 2020
Another brilliant update to one of my favourite Players. Thanks for this! I use Sequences everywhere - it’s a great alternative to Ghost clips (which hopefully we’ll also get one day in the sequencer itself!).

I have spotted one issue that seems repeatable, and I can’t test with 1.3 (since I’ve upgrade the RE already) to know whether it is something that has changed in 1.4. Here are the steps to recreate:
  • In pattern 1 of Sequences, reduce the pattern length to 16 steps, then draw out a pattern in the first 16 steps
  • Create a pattern automation lane for Sequences
  • Draw out a pattern clip from bars 2.1.1.0 to 5.1.1.0 (i.e. 3 repetitions of that pattern in one clip). Note that the problem doesn't happen if the clip is at the start of the song at 1.1.1.0.
  • Put the left and right loop markers around this clip, engage loop and press play
  • The first time through the loop you hear the three pattern iterations correctly
  • However, when the playhead loops back to 2.1.1.0 the pattern stops and doesn’t restart until later into the clip
I can send an example Reason project that shows this if it's easier.

I’ve tried the same steps with similar Players (e.g. PolyStep, Kompulsion) to see if it’s a general Player looping issue, but they don’t seem to exhibit the same behaviour. Hopefully this is something simple (or something I’ve missed about the way looping/retriggering works in Sequences!)

Thanks for an awesome update though!
Yes, I can reproduce this issue. Thanks for the detailed instructions! :thumbs_up:
I'll get working on it right away.

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 871
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 18 Sep 2020

Here's another video that goes through all the gory details of the new Condition lane:


User avatar
riemac
Posts: 538
Joined: 21 Jan 2015
Location: Germany

Post 18 Sep 2020

This update is very nice.

I'm wondering if something like Sarn Elen in the following video would be possible with Sequences in combination with Euclidean Rythm?


User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 871
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 18 Sep 2020

riemac wrote:
18 Sep 2020
This update is very nice.

I'm wondering if something like Sarn Elen in the following video would be possible with Sequences in combination with Euclidean Rythm?
Yes, you can combine Sequences and Euclidean in different ways.

The most obvious way is to chain Sequences after Euclidean and set Sequences to Stepped playback mode. Then each "hit" from Euclidean will trigger the next step in Sequences. If you enable KBD Transpose mode too, you can transpose your sequence while playing, creating a sort of euclidean arpeggiator. :)

The other way is to chain Euclidean after Sequences, then Euclidean will "filter" the notes that come from Sequences, long notes will be chopped up, etc.

User avatar
lowtom
Posts: 63
Joined: 29 Sep 2017

Post 19 Sep 2020

Wow. Nice update. Only thing I miss from Matrix is Cmd+R.
Please, let the "Randomize All" button be next on the implementation list :)
:reason: :refill: :re:

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 5528
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 19 Sep 2020

Bought!!! Finally!!! Woohoo!!!!
丰2ॐ

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 871
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 19 Sep 2020

lowtom wrote:
19 Sep 2020
Wow. Nice update. Only thing I miss from Matrix is Cmd+R.
Please, let the "Randomize All" button be next on the implementation list :)
Well, this is not as easy as it sounds.

For a more basic step sequencer like Matrix or Step Note Recorder it's almost trivial: Each step contains exactly one note, so basically all you have to do is randomize the pitch, velocity and tie state for each step and you're done. You can always tweak things like having a reasonable range for the pitch etc, but that's pretty simple.

Sequences is more like a quantized note clip: Each step can contain 0 - N notes, they can have arbitrary lengths etc etc, so the number of possible patterns is absolutely huge in relation to the more simple sequencers. So I think a simple step randomization would simply not cut it...
We would have to come up with something akin to QNG or Evolution and integrate it into Sequences, i e putting in the same effort as creating a completely new RE! Not to mention the clutter of controls we would have to add in order to give the user some control over the process.

So I think the best way for now is to do the actual randomization in Matrix, QNG, Evolution etc, and then record the output of those into Sequences for further processing (like timing edit, conditions), organizing the different parts into patterns, and so on.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1457
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 19 Sep 2020

MrFigg wrote:
19 Sep 2020
Bought!!! Finally!!! Woohoo!!!!
Finally! Welcome to the club!

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 5528
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 19 Sep 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
19 Sep 2020
MrFigg wrote:
19 Sep 2020
Bought!!! Finally!!! Woohoo!!!!
Finally! Welcome to the club!
:):):):):):):):)
丰2ॐ

User avatar
moneykube
Posts: 2474
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 19 Sep 2020

cool update... many thanks... downloading now whoop

User avatar
lowtom
Posts: 63
Joined: 29 Sep 2017

Post 19 Sep 2020

buddard wrote:
19 Sep 2020
...
So I think the best way for now is to do the actual randomization in Matrix, QNG, Evolution etc, and then record the output of those into Sequences for further processing (like timing edit, conditions), organizing the different parts into patterns, and so on.
Yes, that's what I do currently :)
:reason: :refill: :re:

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6433
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 19 Sep 2020

buddard wrote:
17 Sep 2020
By the way, if you create a track for Sequences and arm it for automation recording, you can record the automation by clicking in the Fill boxes.
Weird - can't seem to get this to work. :(
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 871
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 19 Sep 2020

EnochLight wrote:
19 Sep 2020
buddard wrote:
17 Sep 2020
By the way, if you create a track for Sequences and arm it for automation recording, you can record the automation by clicking in the Fill boxes.
Weird - can't seem to get this to work. :(
Just tested it here, it seems to be working fine for me!
  1. Create a pattern with Fill conditions
  2. Right-click on Sequences and choose "Create Track For Sequences"
  3. Make sure that automation is record enabled for the track (it should be by default)
  4. Hit the Record button on Reason's main transport
  5. Click in any of the fill boxes in the lane (i e the rectangle with a bright outline under each F condition) to automate fills
Note that the Fill condition is active while you're holding down the mouse button, and becomes inactive again once you release it.

Let me know if you still can't make it work!

fretshot7
Posts: 485
Joined: 02 Apr 2018

Post 19 Sep 2020

brilliant update thanks! just what i was looking for and then some!!!

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 2060
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 19 Sep 2020

buddard wrote:
18 Sep 2020
riemac wrote:
18 Sep 2020
This update is very nice.

I'm wondering if something like Sarn Elen in the following video would be possible with Sequences in combination with Euclidean Rythm?
Yes, you can combine Sequences and Euclidean in different ways.

The most obvious way is to chain Sequences after Euclidean and set Sequences to Stepped playback mode. Then each "hit" from Euclidean will trigger the next step in Sequences. If you enable KBD Transpose mode too, you can transpose your sequence while playing, creating a sort of euclidean arpeggiator. :)

The other way is to chain Euclidean after Sequences, then Euclidean will "filter" the notes that come from Sequences, long notes will be chopped up, etc.
@ riemac If you haven't experimented with stacking players yet, you are MISSING OUT! That's one of the best things about players, IMO. You can stack as many players as you want, and get some happy accidents that would make Bob Ross proud. They work from the top down, similar to the rest of Reason's devices... so if you put Sequences on top, the notes from Sequences are fed down thru the players below it. Sequences + Euclidean = AMAZING!
MrFigg wrote:
19 Sep 2020
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
19 Sep 2020


Finally! Welcome to the club!
:):):):):):):):)
So glad to hear you got it, Figg. Welcome to the club! How are you enjoying it so far? Stupid question, I know.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1457
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 19 Sep 2020

buddard wrote:
18 Sep 2020
Here's another video that goes through all the gory details of the new Condition lane:

Looooving the RB twist! Being able to play different notes in the same step is something I've always wanted in my elektron device. Sure you can have the adjacent trig and micro time it to overlap, but this is much easier. Thank you robotic bean!!!! 🕺

User avatar
challism
Moderator
Posts: 2060
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 19 Sep 2020

Recording "Fill" lane is working for me, too.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ReasonTalk Rules and Guidelines

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 5528
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 20 Sep 2020

Love it. No regrets. Just one question (at the moment)...you can't automate shift or octave right? Asking just so's I don't spend all morning trying to do it unnecessarily. :)
丰2ॐ

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 871
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 20 Sep 2020

MrFigg wrote:
20 Sep 2020
Love it. No regrets. Just one question (at the moment)...you can't automate shift or octave right? Asking just so's I don't spend all morning trying to do it unnecessarily. :)
No, those are destructive operations that alter the pattern data itself, so they can’t be automated..
But you can automate Transpose (or control it via MIDI notes or CV), and you can make the pattern play “out of phase” using Reset (automation or CV) or by offsetting and trimming -pattern clips.

User avatar
MrFigg
Posts: 5528
Joined: 20 Apr 2018

Post 20 Sep 2020

buddard wrote:
20 Sep 2020
MrFigg wrote:
20 Sep 2020
Love it. No regrets. Just one question (at the moment)...you can't automate shift or octave right? Asking just so's I don't spend all morning trying to do it unnecessarily. :)
No, those are destructive operations that alter the pattern data itself, so they can’t be automated..
But you can automate Transpose (or control it via MIDI notes or CV), and you can make the pattern play “out of phase” using Reset (automation or CV) or by offsetting and trimming -pattern clips.
Thanks man. Worked that out. Also I can just copy the pattern paste it into the next pattern and shift it there :). Excellent RE. På riktigt och på sant.
丰2ॐ

User avatar
EnochLight
Posts: 6433
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: your mom

Post 20 Sep 2020

challism wrote:
19 Sep 2020
Recording "Fill" lane is working for me, too.

Thanks - this is exactly what I needed. It was obviously “user error”! :? :lol:
Win 10 | Reason 11 Suite |  Studio One 4.5 | i7 3770k @ 3.5 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | Reactor 1TB SSD | RME Babyface Pro | Nektar Panorama P-4 | Akai MPC Live 2 | Roland System 8 | Roland TR-8 with 7x7 Expansion | Roland TB-3 | Roland VT-4 | Roland MX-1

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests