Kompulsion question

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1453
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 31 Dec 2019

How do I copy sequences or patterns between separate devices?

I went through the manual, and can't figure it out. :(
R11 Suite

My music made in Reason : https://audius.co/jeff40529158

robotgard
Posts: 135
Joined: 08 Sep 2018

Post 31 Dec 2019

Image
Last edited by robotgard on 09 Dec 2020, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1453
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 31 Dec 2019

robotgard wrote:
31 Dec 2019
BRIGGS wrote:
31 Dec 2019
How do I copy sequences or patterns between separate devices?

I went through the manual, and can't figure it out. :(
1.gif
Thanks, I already know how to copy/paste patches. Pasting patches overwrites data that I want to keep.
R11 Suite

My music made in Reason : https://audius.co/jeff40529158

User avatar
geronimo
Posts: 458
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: France

Post 01 Jan 2020

BRIGGS wrote:
31 Dec 2019
How do I copy sequences or patterns between separate devices?

I went through the manual, and can't figure it out. :(
These functions are only available on Reasonstudio tools (Matrix ) and Utilities, but never from third-party editors.

pattern.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1453
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 01 Jan 2020

geronimo wrote:
01 Jan 2020
BRIGGS wrote:
31 Dec 2019
How do I copy sequences or patterns between separate devices?

I went through the manual, and can't figure it out. :(
These functions are only available on Reasonstudio tools (Matrix ) and Utilities, but never from third-party editors.


pattern.jpg
Thanks, I figured as much! Matrix FTW!!! :puf_smile:
R11 Suite

My music made in Reason : https://audius.co/jeff40529158

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 957
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 01 Jan 2020

On Sequences there is a “trick” to achieve this. I guess it might work on Kompulsion too, but I don’t have Kompulsion so I’m not 100% sure.

If you want to copy a single pattern from instance 1 to instance 2, do the following:

1. Save the state of both instances as device patches (.repatch)
2. On instance 2, load the instance 1 patch
3. Copy the pattern you want to copy
4. Load back the instance 2 patch again
5. Paste into the pattern you want to overwrite

This will work on Sequences because its clip board is independent from the patch, hopefully Kompulsion is implemented in a similar way.

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1453
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 01 Jan 2020

buddard wrote:
01 Jan 2020
On Sequences there is a “trick” to achieve this. I guess it might work on Kompulsion too, but I don’t have Kompulsion so I’m not 100% sure.

If you want to copy a single pattern from instance 1 to instance 2, do the following:

1. Save the state of both instances as device patches (.repatch)
2. On instance 2, load the instance 1 patch
3. Copy the pattern you want to copy
4. Load back the instance 2 patch again
5. Paste into the pattern you want to overwrite

This will work on Sequences because its clip board is independent from the patch, hopefully Kompulsion is implemented in a similar way.
Thanks, seems like kompulsion doesn't have a clipboard. :(

Oh well, we tried. :roll:
R11 Suite

My music made in Reason : https://audius.co/jeff40529158

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 957
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 01 Jan 2020

BRIGGS wrote:
01 Jan 2020
buddard wrote:
01 Jan 2020
On Sequences there is a “trick” to achieve this. I guess it might work on Kompulsion too, but I don’t have Kompulsion so I’m not 100% sure.

If you want to copy a single pattern from instance 1 to instance 2, do the following:

1. Save the state of both instances as device patches (.repatch)
2. On instance 2, load the instance 1 patch
3. Copy the pattern you want to copy
4. Load back the instance 2 patch again
5. Paste into the pattern you want to overwrite

This will work on Sequences because its clip board is independent from the patch, hopefully Kompulsion is implemented in a similar way.
Thanks, seems like kompulsion doesn't have a clipboard. :(

Oh well, we tried. :roll:
As a last resort you could try editing the .repatch files directly. :twisted:

Open them in a text editor and see if you find any obvious property names like "Pattern3" or something like that, then you could just try replacing that property with the corresponding property from the other repatch file.
Obviously you would do this on a copy of the file.

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1453
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 01 Jan 2020

buddard wrote:
01 Jan 2020
BRIGGS wrote:
01 Jan 2020


Thanks, seems like kompulsion doesn't have a clipboard. :(

Oh well, we tried. :roll:
As a last resort you could try editing the .repatch files directly. :twisted:

Open them in a text editor and see if you find any obvious property names like "Pattern3" or something like that, then you could just try replacing that property with the corresponding property from the other repatch file.
Obviously you would do this on a copy of the file.
WOW, I think my head just exploded!!! I DID NOT KNOW YOU COULD DO THAT!!! :shock: :lol:

what am i looking at?!? :o :
R11 Suite

My music made in Reason : https://audius.co/jeff40529158

User avatar
Timmy Crowne
Posts: 268
Joined: 06 Apr 2017
Location: California, United States

Post 01 Jan 2020

buddard wrote:
01 Jan 2020
As a last resort you could try editing the .repatch files directly. :twisted:

Open them in a text editor and see if you find any obvious property names like "Pattern3" or something like that, then you could just try replacing that property with the corresponding property from the other repatch file.
Obviously you would do this on a copy of the file.
WHAT. You escaped The Matrix. Take us with you!

User avatar
BRIGGS
Posts: 1453
Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Location: Orange County California

Post 01 Jan 2020

Timmy Crowne wrote:
01 Jan 2020
buddard wrote:
01 Jan 2020
As a last resort you could try editing the .repatch files directly. :twisted:

Open them in a text editor and see if you find any obvious property names like "Pattern3" or something like that, then you could just try replacing that property with the corresponding property from the other repatch file.
Obviously you would do this on a copy of the file.
WHAT. You escaped The Matrix. Take us with you!
:lol:
R11 Suite

My music made in Reason : https://audius.co/jeff40529158

User avatar
syncanonymous
Posts: 437
Joined: 16 Mar 2015
Location: UK and France

Post 05 Feb 2021

So, I've been using Kompulsion for drum sequencing and run out of Patterns far too quickly
I've been using 2 Kompulsion instances per Kong to get to 16 patterns and ran into the copy/paste patterns issue.

I've just been using [name syntax].repatch files for the different sequencers kind of like @buddard explained; you just have to be mindful of what you overwrite. It would be great to be able to copy/paste between instances; altho I'd rather have at least 24 patterns per seq...oh well
RSN 10.4d4_9878_RME UFX+_Intel Core i7-8700K 3.7 GHz__Corsair Vengeance 64GB DDR4-3000
ASRock Fatal1ty Z370__Palit GeForce GTX 1050 Ti KalmX__Samsung 960 PRO/ M.2-2280 NVME SSD
:reason: :re: :recycle: :PUF_figure: :rebirth: :refill:

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 4 guests