eXpanse FM vs Serum FM (Solved!)

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
User avatar
Wobbleburger
Posts: 161
Joined: 14 Sep 2018
Location: Austin

Post 11 Feb 2019

So I love eXpanse and tend to use it more than Serum since it's an RE. In Serum, doing "FM from B" is really easy. That's when osc A is FM modulated by osc B. How do I set up eXpanse so osc 1 is modulated by osc 2? I see the option for FM as a mod for osc 1 but it doesn't look like it's using osc 2 for that. In fact, I'm not sure what the modulator is when you set that mod up.

I'm going through some of the ReasonExperts videos but not finding it.

Thanks!
Last edited by Wobbleburger on 11 Feb 2019, edited 1 time in total.
I like jungle.

Reason 10 - Win10 - i7 9700k - 32gb DDR4 - 1.5TB SSD - Novation Launchkey 25 - Korg Nanokontrol 2 - Scarlet 2i2 2nd Gen - Shure SM58 - Expanse & Serum lover

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 1964
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: Oregon

Post 11 Feb 2019

Sounds like you're doing it correctly.

Just control the mod amount with envelope, automation, etc.

User avatar
Wobbleburger
Posts: 161
Joined: 14 Sep 2018
Location: Austin

Post 11 Feb 2019

aeox wrote:
11 Feb 2019
Sounds like you're doing it correctly.

Just control the mod amount with envelope, automation, etc.
So when you set up FM for osc1, it's pulling that modulation from what's going on in osc2?

If Osc1 is a sine wavetable and Osc2 is a complex distorted wavetable, Osc1 FM will be based on Osc2? It's confusing but I feel like Osc1's FM is controlled by itself rather than the other one.

Edit: Currently reading the manual but help is much appreciated <3
I like jungle.

Reason 10 - Win10 - i7 9700k - 32gb DDR4 - 1.5TB SSD - Novation Launchkey 25 - Korg Nanokontrol 2 - Scarlet 2i2 2nd Gen - Shure SM58 - Expanse & Serum lover

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 1964
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: Oregon

Post 11 Feb 2019

Oh, make sure you're using the bottom MOD, the first 2 don't have the option. The 3rd one has the option that you can choose "FM Routing" and select "FM from OSC 1-4"

User avatar
Wobbleburger
Posts: 161
Joined: 14 Sep 2018
Location: Austin

Post 11 Feb 2019

aeox wrote:
11 Feb 2019
Oh, make sure you're using the bottom MOD, the first 2 don't have the option. The 3rd one has the option that you can choose "FM Routing" and select "FM from OSC 1-4"
This is what I needed!! Thanks so much :essentials: :essentials: :essentials:
I like jungle.

Reason 10 - Win10 - i7 9700k - 32gb DDR4 - 1.5TB SSD - Novation Launchkey 25 - Korg Nanokontrol 2 - Scarlet 2i2 2nd Gen - Shure SM58 - Expanse & Serum lover

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Trendiction [Bot] and 0 guests