RE for multiple CVs to pass through, but limit number let through?

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
guitfnky

16 Apr 2018

I need some help...

I need to know if there's a rack extension that can take multiple CV gate inputs, and then allow me to limit the number of those gates that then get sent back out.

here's the use scenario...I have a Combinator set up to semi-randomly create drum patterns, and I want to make sure that there are no more than four drum hits occurring concurrently (like a real drummer, with two hands and two feet - though now that I think of it, I might want to have the option to enable a Def Leppard mode where only one hand is active).

so, I want to be able to send up to 16 concurrent gates into the RE, but then limit how many of those are actually let through. is there something like that I should be looking at?

I'm really pretty new to doing CV routing, and there are a ton of interesting REs out there, but many of the ones I think might do what I want have sparse documentation on their use, and no video tutorials. I'd rather not have to use up the trial for 10 or more REs just so I can test them out and figure them out for myself. I see there are a several Hamu REs, and maybe a couple by The Chronologists, but it's really hard to tell based on the documentation.
I write good music for good people

https://slowrobot.bandcamp.com/

EpiGenetik

16 Apr 2018

I'd be thinking about setting up alt mode samples in the NN-XT or Kong, and have silence as some of the samples, 1 for each "block" if you will. :)

guitfnky

16 Apr 2018

thanks for the suggestion, EpiGenetik; unfortunately, that wouldn't work for me. I'm building this with the Addictive Drums 2 VST as my base drum instrument.