Favorite compression and/or dynamics Rack Extensions?

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Social Exodus

01 Dec 2017

I am relatively new to audio engineering, and I am just beginning to see the usefulness of using compression in my tracks, on buses and in the master bus. But honestly, it's kind of difficult to say which I should use where, and under what circumstances. I'd like to learn more about this critical aspect of mixing and mastering, so I thought to get a thread going on it so people could share their thoughts, ideas and approaches that might help others as well. A search here turned up a thread that started to be about this, but seemed to devolve into 2-3 pages of debate over the Comp-01 which wasn't what I was looking for. I've got no problem with such debates, but I am hoping this will be a thread more about people's work ideas when it comes to compression devices, uses, philosophies and yes, favorite rack extensions or stock devices.

So then my questions for anyone who wants to answer are:
  • Which compressor(s) do you favor and why do you favor them?
  • Where do you use these compressors? Tracks? Buses? Mastering? All of these?
  • What of the SSL channel compressors and master bus compressors? Do you use these, or are rack extensions a better solution?

There are a lot of dynamics processors out there, so getting some ideas before running off to the shop to spend money makes more sense than guessing for me and I'm sure more than a few other folks. Thanks in advance!
:reason: 11 Suite/12 Perpetual License :re: Too many to count :refill: A few choice items

Nektar Panorama P4
Korg padKontrol

Social Exodus

01 Dec 2017

Deleted
Last edited by Social Exodus on 03 Dec 2017, edited 2 times in total.
:reason: 11 Suite/12 Perpetual License :re: Too many to count :refill: A few choice items

Nektar Panorama P4
Korg padKontrol

Zac

01 Dec 2017