Free Classic Filter from new dev MagmaSonic

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
User avatar
Loque
Posts: 5373
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 20 Dec 2017

:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2395
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 20 Dec 2017

thanks. the best filter yet in Reason. and free. amazing!
Marco Raaphorst

Music & soundware https://melodiefabriek.com.
Check out my new ReFill Rockmen: https://melodiefabriek.com/blog/rockmen ... available/

EdGrip
Posts: 1440
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

Post 20 Dec 2017

Marco Raaphorst wrote:
20 Dec 2017
the best filter yet in Reason.
Well. That's quite a bold claim! I'll have to try it!
There's still at least 5 filters from kHs and AirRaid that I haven't got... ;)

TritoneAddiction
Posts: 1701
Joined: 29 Aug 2015
Location: Sweden

Post 20 Dec 2017

I like this filter. I've come to prefer it over GQ-7 or the SSL filters many times. Great for taming the highs and lows. Just seems smoother in some way. I don't know, it just works.
I do wish there was another default setting though, but that's ok.

I wonder if the "explosion" bug has been fixed yet. There's no mention of it in the PH shop.

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2395
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 20 Dec 2017

EdGrip wrote:
20 Dec 2017
Marco Raaphorst wrote:
20 Dec 2017
the best filter yet in Reason.
Well. That's quite a bold claim! I'll have to try it!
There's still at least 5 filters from kHs and AirRaid that I haven't got... ;)
Saturation and Resonance and insanely great.
Marco Raaphorst

Music & soundware https://melodiefabriek.com.
Check out my new ReFill Rockmen: https://melodiefabriek.com/blog/rockmen ... available/

chrischrischris
Posts: 176
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 20 Dec 2017

chrischrischris wrote:
01 Nov 2017
Hi,

I added this to A Combinator for My Kick Drum. Everytime I start playing a song for the first time it misses the first beat / digitally distorts the kick.

Is this a known issue. Again, otherwise great tool.

Thanks

Chris


Hi,

Is no one else getting this issue? It seems to Me like everyone would have mentioned it but no one really has.

Forget The Combinator Example


Add Kick (120bpm 4/4) Track

Add Magma Sonic

Trun Down Cut Off Or Switch Off The Filter

Press Play

Sound of the first Kick Is Missing

If Not

Press Stop And Return To The Start Of The Track

Delete Magma

Undo Delete

Press Play

Sound Is Missing From First Kick

FWIW I have tried different Sample Rates And DC On And Off etc



Thanks in advance

Chris
- Ryzen 1800X - ASUS B350M-A - 16GB Corsair c15 - Samsung Evo 960 M.2 -
- Presonus Firestudio Project - Roland DS90A - Roland DS5 - Roland RH300 -
- Privia PX160 - Trigger Finger Pro - Numark Orbit -
- Windows 10 - Reason 10.1 - RE - VST -

User avatar
AttenuationHz
Posts: 1881
Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Location: Back of the Rack-1

Post 20 Dec 2017

chrischrischris wrote:
20 Dec 2017
chrischrischris wrote:
01 Nov 2017
Hi,

I added this to A Combinator for My Kick Drum. Everytime I start playing a song for the first time it misses the first beat / digitally distorts the kick.

Is this a known issue. Again, otherwise great tool.

Thanks

Chris


Hi,

Is no one else getting this issue? It seems to Me like everyone would have mentioned it but no one really has.

Forget The Combinator Example


Add Kick (120bpm 4/4) Track

Add Magma Sonic

Trun Down Cut Off Or Switch Off The Filter

Press Play

Sound of the first Kick Is Missing

If Not

Press Stop And Return To The Start Of The Track

Delete Magma

Undo Delete

Press Play

Sound Is Missing From First Kick

FWIW I have tried different Sample Rates And DC On And Off etc



Thanks in advance

Chris
Send a report to the developer! memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=7291
Waiting for Navigation by Routing to be added! viewtopic.php?p=275484#p275484f=6&t=749 ... 97#p275497
:refill: http://rwrd.io/qx9m5wx Referral!

EdGrip
Posts: 1440
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

Post 20 Dec 2017

Had a play with it.
If I were asked for improvements - all I'd say is I feel the resonance pot feels linear and could do with being logarithmic. It goes from 0 to Very Resonant quite fast, and then spends a lot of rotation on Very Resonant+++.
Seems cool other than that!
I'll see if I can reproduce that bug later.

User avatar
AttenuationHz
Posts: 1881
Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Location: Back of the Rack-1

Post 20 Dec 2017

EdGrip wrote:
20 Dec 2017
Had a play with it.
If I were asked for improvements - all I'd say is I feel the resonance pot feels linear and could do with being logarithmic. It goes from 0 to Very Resonant quite fast, and then spends a lot of rotation on Very Resonant+++.
Seems cool other than that!
I'll see if I can reproduce that bug later.
Found a couple of bugs with the resonance myself not sure if they have been fixed yet.

I think there is another thread looking for beta testers must be lost can't find it!
Waiting for Navigation by Routing to be added! viewtopic.php?p=275484#p275484f=6&t=749 ... 97#p275497
:refill: http://rwrd.io/qx9m5wx Referral!

chrischrischris
Posts: 176
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 20 Dec 2017

[/quote]

Send a report to the developer! memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=7291
[/quote]

Hi,

Yeah I have done now. I really just assumed that it was something that everyone would have an issue with! He posted a message after My Post but didn't reply so I thought that He must be aware of that one already.

Not to worry I'm sure it can be fixed after Christmas.

Chris
- Ryzen 1800X - ASUS B350M-A - 16GB Corsair c15 - Samsung Evo 960 M.2 -
- Presonus Firestudio Project - Roland DS90A - Roland DS5 - Roland RH300 -
- Privia PX160 - Trigger Finger Pro - Numark Orbit -
- Windows 10 - Reason 10.1 - RE - VST -

chrischrischris
Posts: 176
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: UK

Post 20 Dec 2017

EdGrip wrote:
20 Dec 2017
Had a play with it.
If I were asked for improvements - all I'd say is I feel the resonance pot feels linear and could do with being logarithmic. It goes from 0 to Very Resonant quite fast, and then spends a lot of rotation on Very Resonant+++.
Seems cool other than that!
I'll see if I can reproduce that bug later.
I am getting the impression that it must just be My System! I Think You would have noticed this if You have used it.

Chris
- Ryzen 1800X - ASUS B350M-A - 16GB Corsair c15 - Samsung Evo 960 M.2 -
- Presonus Firestudio Project - Roland DS90A - Roland DS5 - Roland RH300 -
- Privia PX160 - Trigger Finger Pro - Numark Orbit -
- Windows 10 - Reason 10.1 - RE - VST -

User avatar
AttenuationHz
Posts: 1881
Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Location: Back of the Rack-1

Post 20 Dec 2017

chrischrischris wrote:
20 Dec 2017
EdGrip wrote:
20 Dec 2017
Had a play with it.
If I were asked for improvements - all I'd say is I feel the resonance pot feels linear and could do with being logarithmic. It goes from 0 to Very Resonant quite fast, and then spends a lot of rotation on Very Resonant+++.
Seems cool other than that!
I'll see if I can reproduce that bug later.
I am getting the impression that it must just be My System! I Think You would have noticed this if You have used it.

Chris

I've had full sound drops outs. It happens as a failsafe for RE in Beta. It will cut the sound so the rest of what you are working on can be saved without Reason crashing completely and you loosing work if the RE is not using logging code. If its using logging code it gives an assert error. Think iv'e had that first beat silence myself can't remember.
Waiting for Navigation by Routing to be added! viewtopic.php?p=275484#p275484f=6&t=749 ... 97#p275497
:refill: http://rwrd.io/qx9m5wx Referral!

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2395
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 21 Dec 2017

chrischrischris wrote:
20 Dec 2017
chrischrischris wrote:
01 Nov 2017
Hi,

I added this to A Combinator for My Kick Drum. Everytime I start playing a song for the first time it misses the first beat / digitally distorts the kick.

Is this a known issue. Again, otherwise great tool.

Thanks

Chris


Hi,

Is no one else getting this issue? It seems to Me like everyone would have mentioned it but no one really has.

Forget The Combinator Example


Add Kick (120bpm 4/4) Track

Add Magma Sonic

Trun Down Cut Off Or Switch Off The Filter

Press Play

Sound of the first Kick Is Missing

If Not

Press Stop And Return To The Start Of The Track

Delete Magma

Undo Delete

Press Play

Sound Is Missing From First Kick

FWIW I have tried different Sample Rates And DC On And Off etc



Thanks in advance

Chris
Can't reproduce it.

When you loop the first bars, does it happen with all 1st notes?
Marco Raaphorst

Music & soundware https://melodiefabriek.com.
Check out my new ReFill Rockmen: https://melodiefabriek.com/blog/rockmen ... available/

User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 21 Dec 2017

Marco Raaphorst wrote:
20 Dec 2017
thanks. the best filter yet in Reason. and free. amazing!
I remember have trial it and was ok, but once i tried PMS-20 i haven't looked back for another filter...

EdGrip
Posts: 1440
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

Post 21 Dec 2017

Voyager wrote:
21 Dec 2017
Marco Raaphorst wrote:
20 Dec 2017


thanks. the best filter yet in Reason. and free. amazing!
I remember have trial it and was ok, but once i tried PMS-20 i haven't looked back for another filter...
Ha ha, everyone look at Johnny One-Filter over here!

User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 21 Dec 2017

EdGrip wrote:
21 Dec 2017
Ha ha, everyone look at Johnny One-Filter over here!
Did i miss an episode ? I don't get that Johnny One-filter :?

Is that bad or good ?

User avatar
Marco Raaphorst
Posts: 2395
Joined: 22 Jan 2015

Post 21 Dec 2017

Voyager wrote:
21 Dec 2017
Marco Raaphorst wrote:
20 Dec 2017


thanks. the best filter yet in Reason. and free. amazing!
I remember have trial it and was ok, but once i tried PMS-20 i haven't looked back for another filter...
Yes all the Primal Audio filters are great. I have them all.
Marco Raaphorst

Music & soundware https://melodiefabriek.com.
Check out my new ReFill Rockmen: https://melodiefabriek.com/blog/rockmen ... available/

User avatar
Catblack
Posts: 797
Joined: 15 Apr 2016

Post 21 Dec 2017

Voyager wrote:
21 Dec 2017
EdGrip wrote:
21 Dec 2017
Ha ha, everyone look at Johnny One-Filter over here!
Did i miss an episode ? I don't get that Johnny One-filter :?

Is that bad or good ?
If you ain't hip to the rare Housequake, shut up already.

Damn.

EdGrip
Posts: 1440
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

Post 21 Dec 2017

Catblack wrote:
21 Dec 2017
Voyager wrote:
21 Dec 2017


Did i miss an episode ? I don't get that Johnny One-filter :?

Is that bad or good ?
"Johnny [rubbish thing]" is (in England at least (in our friend group at least)) a standard form of friendly mockery. "Hey, it's Johnny Wanker-Jacket!" if your friend gets a new jacket, that kind of thing. See also:
- Johnny On-The-Spot (the person who happens to be there when a thing needs doing)
- Johnny Come-Lately (inexperienced newcomer to a situation)

But that video should definitely be what my reference was to!

I just meant everyone needs loads of filters!

User avatar
Voyager
Posts: 499
Joined: 21 Dec 2015

Post 21 Dec 2017

Ah ah ok got it :lol: I found my Johnny then :cool:

User avatar
AttenuationHz
Posts: 1881
Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Location: Back of the Rack-1

Post 21 Dec 2017

Voyager wrote:
21 Dec 2017
Ah ah ok got it :lol: I found my Johnny then :cool:
Should never be without a Johnny! :lol:
Waiting for Navigation by Routing to be added! viewtopic.php?p=275484#p275484f=6&t=749 ... 97#p275497
:refill: http://rwrd.io/qx9m5wx Referral!

Mr. Watts
Posts: 123
Joined: 05 Sep 2017

Post 20 Mar 2018

Hey, just wanted to give my input on this filter as I've used it quite a bit since it came out. This filter is very easy to use and automate a sweep quickly. I'll throw it on the master bus or route any given channels to a new bus and automate a filter sweep on that. Out of all the filters I have, this one is the quickest for the job. I have also been using it on my Sub bass sounds and turning the spice knob all the way up for some good saturation that makes the bass translate better on smaller audio systems. And the best part is it's free! Unfortunately there is one big problem with this device that is not easily overlooked. This filter will regularly malfunction and stop working, completely silencing any audio coming through it and so you must drop in a new one in its place to make it work (and redial the settings!). I've had this occur countless times in different sessions. On one of my recent projects I used it for a filter sweep on a Dr. Rex in the intro, and again in the bridge. Almost every time it stopped working when it got to the bridge and so I just used something else for the job. I hope this review can assist MagmaSonic in fixing this issue as I'm quite accustomed to using this device and would like to continue to incorporate it in my work.

drno
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Jan 2016

Post 20 Mar 2018

Mr. Watts wrote:
20 Mar 2018
Hey, just wanted to give my input on this filter as I've used it quite a bit since it came out. This filter is very easy to use and automate a sweep quickly. I'll throw it on the master bus or route any given channels to a new bus and automate a filter sweep on that. Out of all the filters I have, this one is the quickest for the job. I have also been using it on my Sub bass sounds and turning the spice knob all the way up for some good saturation that makes the bass translate better on smaller audio systems. And the best part is it's free! Unfortunately there is one big problem with this device that is not easily overlooked. This filter will regularly malfunction and stop working, completely silencing any audio coming through it and so you must drop in a new one in its place to make it work (and redial the settings!). I've had this occur countless times in different sessions. On one of my recent projects I used it for a filter sweep on a Dr. Rex in the intro, and again in the bridge. Almost every time it stopped working when it got to the bridge and so I just used something else for the job. I hope this review can assist MagmaSonic in fixing this issue as I'm quite accustomed to using this device and would like to continue to incorporate it in my work.
you have a PM.
thanks for you report.

User avatar
Noplan
Posts: 618
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Cologne, Germany

Post 20 Mar 2018

Good tool and it`s for free. There is nothing to complain about.

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 5373
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 07 Jan 2019

I am actually checking the filter responses of different devices and compare them and noticed, that the highpass filter looks like, maybe, a 3db filter, maybe 6db, but it should be 12 or 18. What do i miss?
wtfhp.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests