Robotic Bean's TS-1 Time Slider in the Shop!

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
WongoTheSane
Moderator
Posts: 1697
Joined: 14 Sep 2015
Location: Paris, France

Post 22 Sep 2017


User avatar
Zac
Posts: 1350
Joined: 19 May 2016

Post 22 Sep 2017

This will be so useful! I know we can already shift in ticks but the on/off for comparison will be great.

Maybe not the most exciting RE but I'll def be getting when I can.

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 5412
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

Isnt it the same as adjusting the offset on the backside of a channel or Combinator?
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
buddard
Posts: 624
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

Loque wrote:
22 Sep 2017
Isnt it the same as adjusting the offset on the backside of a channel or Combinator?
There are two important differences:

1. The backside offset is in samples, TS-1 in milliseconds. So TS-1 will remain constant if you change samplerate.

2. Negative offset on the backside will only work if the already existing total delay compensation is greater than the offset. Values exceeding the total latency will have no effect.

mataya

Post 22 Sep 2017

Thank you sir. Finally! Now my Redrum sequence can sound groovy, without going to the sequencer. I wished this was a part of a Redrum seq, also with more velocity values...and it would be perfect.
I guess this will have to do. Buying it right away.

Where is this offset button you've been talking about??

tx
M

mataya

Post 22 Sep 2017

Oh, found it. Like having TS better.

M

mataya

Post 22 Sep 2017

No, actually I did not find it. Where is that offset? Please.

M

User avatar
CaliforniaBurrito
Posts: 574
Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Location: San Diego, CA

Post 22 Sep 2017

mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
Now my Redrum sequence can sound groovy, without going to the sequencer.
Hi Mataya! I'm curious about the logic behind this since groove is moving the timing of only certain notes and not just shifting an entire drum sequence. How do you plan on implementing this to create groove?

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Edit: oh I forgot Redrum has separate outs. I haven't used Redrum in a while! :oops:

So you would ideally send an off-beat hat, clap or other perc channel to one of these time sliders and shift it. That's pretty cool I guess. :thumbs_up:

User avatar
CaliforniaBurrito
Posts: 574
Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Location: San Diego, CA

Post 22 Sep 2017

Just bought it! I can think of a few good uses for this! Good idea Mr. Bean! :D

User avatar
Olivier
Moderator
Posts: 1249
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Amsterdam

Post 22 Sep 2017

clever solution !!!!!!
:reason: V9 | i7 5930 | Motu 828 MK3 | Win 10

User avatar
decibel
Posts: 974
Joined: 07 Mar 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

will be great for complex drum work

User avatar
michal22
Posts: 202
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Poland

Post 22 Sep 2017

More exciting than Reason 10. :puf_smile:
Very useful and practical tool. Thanks for this. Bought.
Ableton Live Suite 10 / Reason 10 / Windows 10 / Fingers - also 10 ;)

User avatar
Loque
Posts: 5412
Joined: 28 Dec 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

michal22 wrote:
22 Sep 2017
More exciting than Reason 10. :puf_smile:
Very useful and practical tool. Thanks for this. Bought.
In 10.5 they add this feature into the sequencer :lol:
:reason: 10, Win10 64Bit.

User avatar
buddard
Posts: 624
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
No, actually I did not find it. Where is that offset? Please.
It's on the rear panel of Mix Channels and Audio Track if you show the programmer:

Image

User avatar
Exowildebeest
Posts: 1515
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

Smart use of the delay compensation feature :thumbs_up:

mataya

Post 22 Sep 2017

CaliforniaBurrito wrote:
22 Sep 2017
mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
Now my Redrum sequence can sound groovy, without going to the sequencer.
Hi Mataya! I'm curious about the logic behind this since groove is moving the timing of only certain notes and not just shifting an entire drum sequence. How do you plan on implementing this to create groove?

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Edit: oh I forgot Redrum has separate outs. I haven't used Redrum in a while! :oops:

So you would ideally send an off-beat hat, clap or other perc channel to one of these time sliders and shift it. That's pretty cool I guess. :thumbs_up:
That's right. You make a combinator with a mixer, redrum and 10 TS and connect it all. Now you can shift individual sounds that are playing from the Redrum's own sequencer. I like that a lot, because I love to use Reason without the main sequencer as much as I can. Well, it fits my style of music and music making.

User avatar
CaliforniaBurrito
Posts: 574
Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Location: San Diego, CA

Post 22 Sep 2017

mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
That's right. You make a combinator with a mixer, redrum and 10 TS and connect it all. Now you can shift individual sounds that are playing from the Redrum's own sequencer. I like that a lot, because I love to use Reason without the main sequencer as much as I can. Well, it fits my style of music and music making.
It fits my style too. :D

The nudging factor is what kept me away from using built-in sequencers actually. This is a huge game changer for me. Just thought of nudging an ABL3 sequence too! Oh my! :D

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 2129
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: Oregon

Post 22 Sep 2017

I really want this but I feel like 25 dollars is way overpriced. It should be 9 dollars off sale.

User avatar
CaliforniaBurrito
Posts: 574
Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Location: San Diego, CA

Post 22 Sep 2017

aeox wrote:
22 Sep 2017
I really want this but I feel like 25 dollars is way overpriced. It should be 9 dollars off sale.
It is a small investment to change the feel of your music. :twisted: You can make sounds pop and have drums on point but having the FEEL right takes them so much further! I'm sitting here listening to this nudged ABL3 sequence and a kick in awe of how hypnotic this is! :D

User avatar
buddard
Posts: 624
Joined: 17 Jan 2015

Post 22 Sep 2017

mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
That's right. You make a combinator with a mixer, redrum and 10 TS and connect it all. Now you can shift individual sounds that are playing from the Redrum's own sequencer. I like that a lot, because I love to use Reason without the main sequencer as much as I can. Well, it fits my style of music and music making.
Just be aware that negative slide values might not work correctly in that setup. Negative slide is subject to the same limitations as the delay compensation in Reason (because we're actually using that feature), so it won't work inside instrument combis, and not when connected to a rack mixer either. But if you connect each Redrum output to an SSL mixer channel instead, you can have negative slide on them, too!

User avatar
aeox
Posts: 2129
Joined: 23 Feb 2017
Location: Oregon

Post 22 Sep 2017

buddard wrote:
22 Sep 2017
mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
That's right. You make a combinator with a mixer, redrum and 10 TS and connect it all. Now you can shift individual sounds that are playing from the Redrum's own sequencer. I like that a lot, because I love to use Reason without the main sequencer as much as I can. Well, it fits my style of music and music making.
Just be aware that negative slide values might not work correctly in that setup. Negative slide is subject to the same limitations as the delay compensation in Reason (because we're actually using that feature), so it won't work inside instrument combis, and not when connected to a rack mixer either. But if you connect each Redrum output to an SSL mixer channel instead, you can have negative slide on them, too!
Edit: Nevermind, got it ;)
Last edited by aeox on 22 Sep 2017, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CaliforniaBurrito
Posts: 574
Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Location: San Diego, CA

Post 22 Sep 2017

buddard wrote:
22 Sep 2017
But if you connect each Redrum output to an SSL mixer channel instead, you can have negative slide on them, too!
Good to know. I prefer the SSL channels for easy filtering/mixing anyways. :thumbs_up:

User avatar
Re8et
Posts: 609
Joined: 14 Nov 2016

Post 22 Sep 2017

Downloading trial now

It feels like adjusting a vynil. It's amazing.

User avatar
CaliforniaBurrito
Posts: 574
Joined: 11 Nov 2015
Location: San Diego, CA

Post 22 Sep 2017

aeox wrote:
22 Sep 2017
Edit: Nevermind, got it ;)
Dave-Chappelle.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mataya

Post 22 Sep 2017

buddard wrote:
22 Sep 2017
mataya wrote:
22 Sep 2017
That's right. You make a combinator with a mixer, redrum and 10 TS and connect it all. Now you can shift individual sounds that are playing from the Redrum's own sequencer. I like that a lot, because I love to use Reason without the main sequencer as much as I can. Well, it fits my style of music and music making.
Just be aware that negative slide values might not work correctly in that setup. Negative slide is subject to the same limitations as the delay compensation in Reason (because we're actually using that feature), so it won't work inside instrument combis, and not when connected to a rack mixer either. But if you connect each Redrum output to an SSL mixer channel instead, you can have negative slide on them, too!
Oh ok. I did not noticed it actually. I've made a little combinator setup which is great because you can save it and recall it, but did not noticed that negative values didn't have any effect on those channels. I've heard the positive values making it groovy. :)
Still a great device. I actually wanted to see a device that can load one sample, have asequencer like a redrum, but with more features...like more velocity values, shift left to right, reverse and maybe a few more surprises.

Thanks
M

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests