ReMark 2.0 Shows the new Spring Colors!

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
User avatar
BPGeez
Posts: 200
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

The extra lines are legit!!
Reason is my girlfriend. Sometimes she mistreats me, but I still love her. Hope she gets sequencer implants.

Reason instruction via Skype: https://beatswithreason.simplybook.me/v2/

User avatar
motuscott
Posts: 1586
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: the new york

Post 03 Apr 2015

So if I buy v.2 will it bring the new colors to Reason 7.1.2
A girl can hope can't she?
Sometimes a cigar is just a synth that's on fire

User avatar
miahluvdd
Posts: 68
Joined: 16 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

This is a very useful RE that I use in every project. The extra lines are something I've often wished for!!!

Leave the white text on black IMHO it's easier to read a long way from the screen which is useful sometimes.

Thanks, Selig!!

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

motuscott wrote:So if I buy v.2 will it bring the new colors to Reason 7.1.2
A girl can hope can't she?
Indeed, yes! Or on R8.1 - just not anything before 7.1. :frown:
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
stratatonic
Posts: 1042
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 03 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Makes sense to me. :)
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Any chance of an option to have black text on white?
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I don't think I can have that as a user changeable feature, at least not the way I'm doing it. But I'm more of a creator/designer than a programmer, so I'm not positive. 
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I could have it as black on white text always, but that would "break" the feature where you don't see anything but a black spacer with a tape strip as the default. :)
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:Oh goodness please no! White text on black is perfect. Please don't change this. My eyes beg you. .

Goodness, it was just asked for as an option, not to change it completely... :roll:

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Makes sense to me. :)
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Any chance of an option to have black text on white?
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I don't think I can have that as a user changeable feature, at least not the way I'm doing it. But I'm more of a creator/designer than a programmer, so I'm not positive. 
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I could have it as black on white text always, but that would "break" the feature where you don't see anything but a black spacer with a tape strip as the default. :)
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:Oh goodness please no! White text on black is perfect. Please don't change this. My eyes beg you. .
stratatonic wrote: Goodness, it was just asked for as an
stratatonic wrote:option
stratatonic wrote:, not to change it completely... :roll:
But my first response said an option wasn't possible, so we continued from there under that assumption!
;)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
motuscott
Posts: 1586
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: the new york

Post 03 Apr 2015

motuscott wrote:So if I buy v.2 will it bring the new colors to Reason 7.1.2
A girl can hope can't she?
selig wrote:
Indeed, yes! Or on R8.1 - just not anything before 7.1. :frown:
No Way! Are you serious?
Sometimes a cigar is just a synth that's on fire

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

motuscott wrote:So if I buy v.2 will it bring the new colors to Reason 7.1.2
A girl can hope can't she?
selig wrote:
Indeed, yes! Or on R8.1 - just not anything before 7.1. :frown:
motuscott wrote: No Way! Are you serious?
The new colors are not in any way "tied" to R8.2. If I had known about the new colors when I first created ReMark, we could have been using them all along! ;)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
stratatonic
Posts: 1042
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: CANADA

Post 03 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Makes sense to me. :)
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Any chance of an option to have black text on white?
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I don't think I can have that as a user changeable feature, at least not the way I'm doing it. But I'm more of a creator/designer than a programmer, so I'm not positive. 
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I could have it as black on white text always, but that would "break" the feature where you don't see anything but a black spacer with a tape strip as the default. :)
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:Oh goodness please no! White text on black is perfect. Please don't change this. My eyes beg you. .
stratatonic wrote: Goodness, it was just asked for as an
stratatonic wrote:option
stratatonic wrote:, not to change it completely... :roll:
selig wrote:
But my first response said an option wasn't possible, so we continued from there under that assumption!
;)
Well, you did say that you weren't positive that an option could be done...It's not a big deal though - it's possible that looking at the recent screen shots and the actual RE is the difference in legibility. The changes (3 lines) are great. :)

User avatar
motuscott
Posts: 1586
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: the new york

Post 03 Apr 2015

Holy Cow! You are the man Selig
Sometimes a cigar is just a synth that's on fire

User avatar
Kazz
Posts: 94
Joined: 07 Mar 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

motuscott wrote:So if I buy v.2 will it bring the new colors to Reason 7.1.2
A girl can hope can't she?
selig wrote:
Indeed, yes! Or on R8.1 - just not anything before 7.1. :frown:
motuscott wrote: No Way! Are you serious?
Just to be clear, ReMark 2.0 will have the new colors in 7.1.2, but unless I missed some info from Propellerhead Reason itself won't unless you upgrade to 8.2 or later.

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Makes sense to me. :)
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Any chance of an option to have black text on white?
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I don't think I can have that as a user changeable feature, at least not the way I'm doing it. But I'm more of a creator/designer than a programmer, so I'm not positive. 
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I could have it as black on white text always, but that would "break" the feature where you don't see anything but a black spacer with a tape strip as the default. :)
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:

TheGodOfRainbows wrote:Oh goodness please no! White text on black is perfect. Please don't change this. My eyes beg you. .
stratatonic wrote: Goodness, it was just asked for as an
stratatonic wrote:option
stratatonic wrote:, not to change it completely... :roll:
selig wrote:
But my first response said an option wasn't possible, so we continued from there under that assumption!
;)
stratatonic wrote: Well, you did say that you weren't positive that an option could be done...It's not a big deal though - it's possible that looking at the recent screen shots and the actual RE is the difference in legibility. The changes (3 lines) are great. :)
Fair enough, I DID say that!
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 03 Apr 2015

motuscott wrote:So if I buy v.2 will it bring the new colors to Reason 7.1.2
A girl can hope can't she?
selig wrote:
Indeed, yes! Or on R8.1 - just not anything before 7.1. :frown:
motuscott wrote: No Way! Are you serious?
Kazz wrote:
Just to be clear, ReMark 2.0 will have the new colors in 7.1.2, but unless I missed some info from Propellerhead Reason itself won't unless you upgrade to 8.2 or later.
That's how I understand it too.
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
motuscott
Posts: 1586
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: the new york

Post 04 Apr 2015

That was my original joke. I'm amazed that ReMark will have the colors in 7.1.2 but I don't know jack about coding.
Still maybe the other devices will catch it...
Sometimes a cigar is just a synth that's on fire

User avatar
TheGodOfRainbows
Posts: 455
Joined: 31 Mar 2015

Post 04 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Makes sense to me. :)
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Any chance of an option to have black text on white?
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I don't think I can have that as a user changeable feature, at least not the way I'm doing it. But I'm more of a creator/designer than a programmer, so I'm not positive. 
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:
TheGodOfRainbows wrote:I could have it as black on white text always, but that would "break" the feature where you don't see anything but a black spacer with a tape strip as the default. :)
stratatonic wrote:
stratatonic wrote:Oh goodness please no! White text on black is perfect. Please don't change this. My eyes beg you. .
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Goodness, it was just asked for as an
selig wrote:option
selig wrote:, not to change it completely... :roll:
[/size]
stratatonic wrote:
stratatonic wrote:But my first response said an option wasn't possible, so we continued from there under that assumption!
stratatonic wrote: ;)
selig wrote:
selig wrote:Well, you did say that you weren't positive that an option could be done...It's not a big deal though - it's possible that looking at the recent screen shots and the actual RE is the difference in legibility. The changes (3 lines) are great. :)

Fair enough, I DID say that! :)
Wow I didn't mean to stir things up like that! lol But yeah I think you guys both sorted out what I meant, which was "
if there can be no user selectable option to go from white text on black, to black text on white, then stay with white text on black".



User avatar
EddieG
Posts: 109
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 06 Apr 2015

how do I change colors ?
This is gonna be AWESOME
stratcatfl in the house !

User avatar
clone
Posts: 262
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 08 Apr 2015

I asked that question 2 weeks ago, I haven't heard a response yet?

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 09 Apr 2015

EddieG wrote:how do I change colors ?
This is gonna be AWESOME
Sorry I missed this question - if you mean "how do I change colors on ReMark in the Rack", it's by clicking and dragging up/down on the left or right of the text blocks. You can also flip the rack and change colors by selecting the names on a pop up list.

But if you mean "how do I get the new colors", you must be running R7.1 or newer, and simply upgrade when I get ReMark 2.0 approved (any day now). Hopefully one of these answers addresses the question! :)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
pedrocaetanos
Posts: 239
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: LX Portugal

Post 09 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:I,m not sure about the darker text. it's hard to say as I am looking at it on a mobile. Probably needs to be somewhat lighter. Maybe it's the font that does it to me eyes. ??
selig wrote:
I'll try a lighter version for the text. Wish I had more control over the font. I could make it smaller which would be less blocky - but smaller. Maybe time for some experiments (in the morning).
:)
Hi Giles, nice to have a community update. :)

Your new version, with less contrasting text, seemed a lot better to me, less harsh on the eyes. Seeing on a tabletop LCD.
A lighter version means what? increasing contrast again? not too much please, as this was an improvement.

An attempt with smaller font seems also a good idea - the "blockiness" is indeed annoying.
There are some options down that path:
A)
- decrease 1 size for collapsed device
- decrease 2 sizes for expanded device
B)
- decrease 1 size for 1st line (either collapsed or expanded)
- decrease 2 sizes for 2nd and 3rd line

(I don't know the units one can deal with font size, so I just called it "size" and choose 1 as the base "step" - maybe more "steps" are needed in order to get results)

Thanks!
Based on a true story. No Musical Instruments Were Harmed in the Making of This Forum Post. | :arrow: SoundCloud set | :reason: :record: :recycle: :reload: :refillpacker: :refill: :re: :ignition: :PUF_figure:

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 09 Apr 2015

stratatonic wrote:I,m not sure about the darker text. it's hard to say as I am looking at it on a mobile. Probably needs to be somewhat lighter. Maybe it's the font that does it to me eyes. ??
selig wrote:
I'll try a lighter version for the text. Wish I had more control over the font. I could make it smaller which would be less blocky - but smaller. Maybe time for some experiments (in the morning).
:)
pedrocaetanos wrote:
Hi Giles, nice to have a community update. :)

Your new version, with less contrasting text, seemed a lot better to me, less harsh on the eyes. Seeing on a tabletop LCD.
A lighter version means what? increasing contrast again? not too much please, as this was an improvement.

An attempt with smaller font seems also a good idea - the "blockiness" is indeed annoying.
There are some options down that path:
A)
- decrease 1 size for collapsed device
- decrease 2 sizes for expanded device
B)
- decrease 1 size for 1st line (either collapsed or expanded)
- decrease 2 sizes for 2nd and 3rd line

(I don't know the units one can deal with font size, so I just called it "size" and choose 1 as the base "step" - maybe more "steps" are needed in order to get results)

Thanks!
Sorry to say you're the only one voting for a "softer" white, and also sorry to say the voting has closed as ReMark is now awaiting approval. There are few text options for now with an RE without going to a "custom display", and I'm not sure how well that would work anyway, but I do see a need for some future solution if/when possible.

Seems the best thing is to wait and see if I can add a "text brightness" control in the future, or at the least one other text color option.

ReMark should be in the store any day now… :)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
clone
Posts: 262
Joined: 18 Jan 2015

Post 10 Apr 2015

Very, very nice. Thanks

User avatar
Pinkbox
Posts: 190
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 10 Apr 2015

Hi Selig,

I'm pretty sure it's impossible, but I'll ask anyway :)
Would it be possible to have something like "hypertext links" in Remark? Not hypertext links sending to websites (well, actually...), but sending the camera to a specified rack, like the "rack" button does on the mixer.
You can go to a rack with one click from the sequencer and the mixer, but you can't from inside the rack window.  A Remark with links would make a good "index" to the rack window.
This request may seem very specific, but as long as I spend 6 hours a day on Reason, I'd rather ask ;)

Cheers!

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 10 Apr 2015

Pinkbox wrote:Hi Selig,

I'm pretty sure it's impossible, but I'll ask anyway :)
Would it be possible to have something like "hypertext links" in Remark? Not hypertext links sending to websites (well, actually...), but sending the camera to a specified rack, like the "rack" button does on the mixer.
You can go to a rack with one click from the sequencer and the mixer, but you can't from inside the rack window.  A Remark with links would make a good "index" to the rack window.
This request may seem very specific, but as long as I spend 6 hours a day on Reason, I'd rather ask ;)

Cheers!
It would be possible if the SDK supported this, which it doesn't. Cool idea though… ;)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
selig
Moderator
Posts: 8002
Joined: 15 Jan 2015

Post 10 Apr 2015

Selig ReMark 2.0 is in the shop!
https://shop.propellerheads.se/product_page/3545/

Thanks to everyone who helped, whether your ideas were possible or not!
:)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Pinkbox
Posts: 190
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 10 Apr 2015

thanks thanks thaaanks

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Nirude, Vil and 3 guests