RPDistort remote mapping collision

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pinkbox
Posts: 200
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

13 Mar 2015

Hi,

I tried to map my Korg nanokontrol 2 with Rob Papen distort, but it seems I won't be able to do that because of how is written RPdistort's scope list.

Instead of having generic names for all the knobs in the distortion panel (such as Parameter 1, Parameter 2, etc), we have in the scope list, a name for every knob in each distortion type.

ie:
//Map    _control_    Foldover Frequency
//Map    _control_    Foldover Amount
//Map    _control_    Fuzz Frequency
//Map    _control_    Fuzz Amount
//Map    _control_    Gapper Frequency
//Map    _control_    Gapper Amount

The problem? When I map, for exemple, nanokontrol's knobs 3 and 4 from frequency and amount (no matter wich distortion is loaded)...

Map    Knob 3    Foldover Frequency
Map    Knob 4    Foldover Amount
Map    Knob 3    Fuzz Frequency
Map    Knob 4    Fuzz Amount
Map    Knob 3    Gapper Frequency
Map    Knob 4    Gapper Amount

... I get this error :

Line 2127 : Map entry : control surface item already mapped in this scope.

Should I get one nanokontrol for each distortion type? :)

If you have any idea and/or already encountered this problem, please let me know!

Have a nice day!

User avatar
gullum
Posts: 1277
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: Faroe Islands
Contact:

13 Mar 2015

your problem is that Knob 3 and 4 are mapped to 3 times so therefor they are already mapped as the error says. you need to make a modifier or condition in the mapping to change mode for the knobs it would look something like this

Code: Select all


Define Group  Rotaries  Foldover  Fuzz  Gapper
Map (you choice) Button 1    Rotaries=Foldover
Map  (you choice) Button 2    Rotaries=Fuzz
Map  (you choice) Button 3    Rotaries=Gapper

Map    Knob 3    Foldover Frequency      Foldover
Map    Knob 4    Foldover Amount      Foldover
Map    Knob 3    Fuzz Frequency      Fuzz
Map    Knob 4    Fuzz Amount      Fuzz
Map    Knob 3    Gapper Frequency      Gapper
Map    Knob 4    Gapper Amount      Gapper
this means you need to map 3 buttons to change group mode so hen pressing button 1 knob 3 - 4 control Foldover 

User avatar
Pinkbox
Posts: 200
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

18 Mar 2015

Hi Gullum,

Thanks for your answer.

I'd like to have the same button to set the distortion type and the Rotaries condition.
So I've set a knob to the distortion type
Map    Knob 8        Distortion Type
It's working fine.
But when I add conditions, the knob doesn"t work anymore (but the controllers still does, I don't have any error)
Define Group    Variation    None    Amp    Cab    Clipper    Cos    Cross1    2sat

Map    Knob 8        Distortion Type

Map    Knob 8        Variation=None            2sat
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Amp            None
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Cab            Amp
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Clipper            Cab
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Cos            Clipper
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Cross1            Cos
etc...
Do you have any idea what's blocking?

Thanks!

RPSupport
Posts: 103
Joined: 20 Jan 2015

27 Mar 2015

Hi, just looking through the Remote Map for the Korg Nano and this is how they've done it for the Alligator.

//<20110628
ScopePropellerheadsAlligator
Define GroupVariationVar0Var1Var2
//Control Surface ItemKeyRemotable ItemScaleMode
MapSet Marker ButtonVariation=Var1Var0
MapSet Marker ButtonVariation=Var2Var1
MapSet Marker ButtonVariation=Var0Var2
 
MapButton M8Select Next Patch
MapButton S8Select Previous Patch
MapButton S1Pattern Enable
MapButton S2Gate 1 Trig
MapButton M2Gate 2 Trig
MapButton R2Gate 3 Trig
MapButton M1Shuffle
MapButton S3High Pass Filter On
MapButton M3Band Pass Filter On
MapButton R3Low Pass Filter On
MapButton R4LFOSync
MapButton R5DelaySync
MapButton R1Enabled
MapKnob 4Pattern
MapKnob 5ResolutionVar1
MapKnob 6ShiftVar1
MapKnob 8LFO FreqVar2
MapKnob 7LFO WaveformVar2
MapKnob 7Delay PanVar1
MapSlider 7Delay TimeVar1
MapSlider 8Delay FeedbackVar1

I haven't got a Nano to make a Remote Map for it but I'm guessing that you have to use the Define Group command as in the Alligator example above?

Cheers
(edit the Forum formatting appears to have removed the spaces but I guess you can possibly work it out)

electrofux
Posts: 864
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

27 Mar 2015

Pinkbox wrote:Hi Gullum,

Thanks for your answer.

I'd like to have the same button to set the distortion type and the Rotaries condition.
So I've set a knob to the distortion type
Map    Knob 8        Distortion Type
Pinkbox wrote:
It's working fine.
But when I add conditions, the knob doesn"t work anymore (but the controllers still does, I don't have any error)
Define Group    Variation    None    Amp    Cab    Clipper    Cos    Cross1    2sat

Map    Knob 8        Distortion Type

Map    Knob 8        Variation=None            2sat
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Amp            None
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Cab            Amp
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Clipper            Cab
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Cos            Clipper
Map    Knob 8        Variation=Cross1            Cos
etc...
Pinkbox wrote:
Do you have any idea what's blocking?

Thanks!
The Problem here is that you want Knob 8 to switch the Groups AND the Distortion Type Selector.
Also using a Knob to change various Groups is a task which i don't know is even possible within the Map file.
Normally you use a set of buttons to switch different Groups. Or one button to skip through groups.







Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests