Softube Guitar Amp RE

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
zabukowski

09 Feb 2015

I must say these Softube Amps are real dissapointment IMHO. I am trying to get something usable from them since they were released. I always want to like new stuff, but recently I've just come to conclusion that these RE's are not for me.

Especially mid-driven, crunch sounds feels like badly overloaded amp with broken tubes.

Here comes boring stuff: i know how to setup & tweak amps, both ITB and OTB, i have more than 30 years of experience as live & session guitarist, owned many Fenders, Marshalls etc. in the past, currently using Egnater Rebel 30 and many VST ampsims - mostly S-Gear & Revalver + some Guitar Rig, TH2 etc. I am mixing, arranging, producing a lot of (guitar) music so i think i have a slight idea about how guitars should sound in a context of music they are used in. (bla, bla, blah)

I can get better results with Line6 Reason amps anytime. At least they sound as expected. 

Reason guitarists, what are your feelings about Softube amps ? I really tried hard to get something from this stuff with no success. On the other hand, i really like Softube Vintage Amp Room, excellent sounding. 

Cheers,
Franci

TheMiles

09 Feb 2015

I haven't really tried out the Softtube amps, but from my little experience with them I have to say they appear to be nothing special. I quickly switched to kuassa and I am very happy with that decision.

gak

09 Feb 2015

I was able to coax some decent sounds out of it. For lead stuff with a bit of eq you can get a nice tone. Also, I put a screamer in front and got a really nice strat/neck tone. 

But the Kuassa is better :)  

Iapetus 9

09 Feb 2015