3D gfx for RE

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
tt_lab

18 Jan 2015

hi devs!
I've been doing gfx for a living for several years.
I am willing to collaborate (for free too) with any RE dev that is short in this kind of art.
Just PM me with your need and we'll talk about it, so I can set my schedulle acordingly.
Cheers
PD I am not looking for a job here but I am opened to it too.

tt_lab

18 Jan 2015

I've just been informed...someone else told me that before but didn' remember it, that I'm gonna have to learn some re sdk stuff before being able to help.
I'll put my effort on that, and be bac soon for helping...
Cheers

normen

18 Jan 2015

You don't have to, really. If you can make 3D models, normal- and diffuse maps and export them to Collada files (yes, its an ugly format) you'll already be able to massively help people creating REs.

Babul

18 Jan 2015

there are some caveats/pits you have to avoid - if i remember correctly, the "vertexes should be normalized" or something, and there is a suggested collada-export script version (afaik 3.x.x instead 4.x.x ?) for 3DStudio.

also, you only need to provide a high-LOD model, there are no smaller-scaled models required anymore, so your "prototype" design should look excellent already, and youre done - the textures/materials/colors can be adjusted by the developer, so expect feedback for further changes on the models, esp. details.

btw, having that sort of skill and patience for creating new models is something i admire, so see that as motivation :)

tt_lab

18 Jan 2015

normen wrote:You don't have to, really. If you can make 3D models, normal- and diffuse maps and export them to Collada files (yes, its an ugly format) you'll already be able to massively help people creating REs.