AutoTheory (Pro)

This forum is for discussing Rack Extensions. Devs are all welcome to show off their goods.
Post Reply
EdGrip
Posts: 454
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

10 Jul 2017

Hello!
This could have gone in VST, Reason General, or here. I picked one. Move it if need be.

I spotted that AutoTheory Pro is on sale at PluginBoutique - http://www.pluginboutique.com/product/3 ... f7faf6caa0

I've always been interested in AutoTheory, but the GUI of the RE is like sadness and boredom made of pixels so I was always put off.
The GUI of the general non-RE version is much more appealing* but really, my question is:

Do the Players make AutoTheory largely obsolete?

Thanks,
- Ed

*Someone may be thinking "But Ed, skeuomorphic UI designs have been proven by science to be better and..."
Nah, mate. Nah.

User avatar
Ahornberg
Posts: 576
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

10 Jul 2017

The VST version actually won't work in Reason because it's output is MIDI.

I don't think the players make AutoTheory obsolete. Their functionality overlap but not completely.

EdGrip
Posts: 454
Joined: 03 Jun 2016

10 Jul 2017

Ahh, thanks for that. It was just a thought.

joel
Posts: 27
Joined: 21 Jan 2015

10 Jul 2017

EdGrip wrote:
10 Jul 2017
Ahh, thanks for that. It was just a thought.
i just bought it ( 17€ ), it's autotheory version 2 ( in reason , it's always version 1 )
it seems it is possible to play auto-theory apps with reason or in reason, i dont know how ( we have to go in preferences control surface )
this is not simple
and to install we have to pass by ilok licence which crazy thing
everything is complicated with that

starflakeprj
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Sep 2016

17 Jul 2017

Ahornberg wrote:
10 Jul 2017
The VST version actually won't work in Reason because it's output is MIDI.

I don't think the players make AutoTheory obsolete. Their functionality overlap but not completely.
AutoTheory is not a VST plugin, it's a MIDI mapper software. It connects to any DAW by sending MIDI information to the MIDI input of your DAW. So the "standalone" version works perfectly even with Reason.

User avatar
Ahornberg
Posts: 576
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

17 Jul 2017

starflakeprj wrote:
17 Jul 2017
Ahornberg wrote:
10 Jul 2017
The VST version actually won't work in Reason because it's output is MIDI.

I don't think the players make AutoTheory obsolete. Their functionality overlap but not completely.
AutoTheory is not a VST plugin, it's a MIDI mapper software. It connects to any DAW by sending MIDI information to the MIDI input of your DAW. So the "standalone" version works perfectly even with Reason.
Oh sorry, I overlooked that in my what's-not-an-RE-must-be-a-VST-view :oops:
Here's a tutorial:

reminds me on the installation process of MaschineR http://retouchcontrol.com/maschiner/

starflakeprj
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Sep 2016

17 Jul 2017

Ahornberg wrote:
17 Jul 2017
starflakeprj wrote:
17 Jul 2017


AutoTheory is not a VST plugin, it's a MIDI mapper software. It connects to any DAW by sending MIDI information to the MIDI input of your DAW. So the "standalone" version works perfectly even with Reason.
Oh sorry, I overlooked that in my what's-not-an-RE-must-be-a-VST-view :oops:
Here's a tutorial:

reminds me on the installation process of MaschineR http://retouchcontrol.com/maschiner/
No worries :)

This is of course much more cumbersome, so I would go with the RE (I have them both) in case I would be using Reason only.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests