RRP - Logic - Mac Studio Woes

This forum is for discussing the Reason Rack Plugin, the version of the Reason rack that runs as a VST3, AU, AAX in other DAWs.
User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 10563
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 09 Nov 2022

I just tested this. if I run Logic 10.7.4 in Rosetta mode I can run RRP no problem. If I turn off Rosetta mode and try to run RRP I get an error that says:
The operation could not be completed because there are too many files open.
This could be because you are working with a self-contained song containing a very high number of external samples.
Please visit the Support section at www.reasonstudios.com for more information and workarounds.

This is on a blank empty song file, so clearly the error message is "in error". ;)

Here's where it gets interesting. After updating to Reason 12.2.10d39, I can now run RRP in Logic without needing Rosetta mode!
This also works in LUNA, not sure how it's affecting performance but so far I'm not seeing anything obviously wrong…progress!

In other news, LUNA just added track freeze in version 1.3. That's version number ONE point THREE y'all.
Reason? Bueller? Anyone? :)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
tronam
Posts: 484
Joined: 04 Mar 2015

Post 09 Nov 2022

I really liked the feel of LUNA when I tested the original v1 release. It kind of makes me wish I hadn't sold my UAD interface. I ended up replacing it with a MOTU M2 and it hasn't been the best experience. Strange driver issues causing certain functionality to simply not work (like loopback) and annoying ones like the interface needing to be power cycled every time the computer sleeps or else it's invisible to the system.
Music is nothing else but wild sounds civilized into time and tune.

Jac459
Posts: 481
Joined: 29 Mar 2022
Location: Singapore

Post 09 Nov 2022

Billy+ wrote:
21 Oct 2022
If your Mac is intel then yes RRP will definitely work without Rosetta.
However if your Mac is Apple Silicon then RRP will only work under Rosetta.

I'm assuming given the thread title that you're Mac Studio requires Rosetta currently when using RRP however if you wait just a few more months then you should be able to use RRP in Logic without Rosetta

What's confusing

:lol:
But to be clear, it "just" work. I don't know what happen with logic but with bitwig you got nothing to do. Bitwig load rrp without any issue and performances are excellent. And yes, bitw8g is native m1...
Bitwig and RRP fanboy...

User avatar
Billy+
Posts: 3997
Joined: 09 Dec 2016

Post 10 Nov 2022

Jac459 wrote:
09 Nov 2022
Billy+ wrote:
21 Oct 2022
If your Mac is intel then yes RRP will definitely work without Rosetta.
However if your Mac is Apple Silicon then RRP will only work under Rosetta.

I'm assuming given the thread title that you're Mac Studio requires Rosetta currently when using RRP however if you wait just a few more months then you should be able to use RRP in Logic without Rosetta

What's confusing

:lol:
But to be clear, it "just" work. I don't know what happen with logic but with bitwig you got nothing to do. Bitwig load rrp without any issue and performances are excellent. And yes, bitw8g is native m1...
Well from what I've read it's a bug that should be fixed as of the latest build. Give it a try after updating.
Remember this - freedom of expression does not exist in this dojo.

User avatar
kuhliloach
Posts: 852
Joined: 09 Dec 2015

Post 10 Nov 2022

The update seems to have fixed it here on Apple Silicon without using Rosetta, both in Logic Pro and Ableton. Yay!

User avatar
StephenHutchinson
Posts: 378
Joined: 27 Sep 2019

Post 11 Nov 2022

I can confirm that when turning off Rosetta for Logic Pro on my Mac mini M1, RRP now works perfectly on the latest 12.2.10d39 version. Hallelujah!

RRP working in Logic Pro.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
:reason: Reason User Since Version 1.0
:refill: Reason Sound Design & Content Creation
Sound Dimension https://www.sounddimension.io

ReFiils: Ambientia Cinematic Soundscapes | String Theory (Friktion) | Algoritmo (Algoritm)

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest