reasonrack instrument midi output

This forum is for discussing the Reason Rack Plugin, the version of the Reason rack that runs as a VST3, AU, AAX in other DAWs.
magwa101
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Dec 2021

Post 16 Dec 2021

I have a reasonrack for the bass generator feeding into a reasonrack FM synth for the bass.

I want to record the midi into my DAW (Reaper) but reasonrack FM synth "eats" the midi notes and does not send them downstream. No bueno. Not a deal breaker but does anyone have a solution for this?

Thanks

I'm a reason n00b.

User avatar
Benedict
Banned user
Posts: 2747
Joined: 16 Jan 2015
Location: Gold Coast, Australia

Post 16 Dec 2021

Correct, RRP does not output MIDI right now - later updates maybe.

Save that setup and open it in the Reason DAW. You can then print those notes to MIDI (top-right on the Player) and export that MIDI File and import to Reaper.

:-)
Benedict Roff-Marsh
Completely burned and gone

User avatar
DaveyG
Posts: 1414
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 17 Dec 2021

magwa101 wrote:
16 Dec 2021
I have a reasonrack for the bass generator feeding into a reasonrack FM synth for the bass.

I want to record the midi into my DAW (Reaper) but reasonrack FM synth "eats" the midi notes and does not send them downstream. No bueno. Not a deal breaker but does anyone have a solution for this?

Thanks

I'm a reason n00b.
I don't use Reaper but in Studio One I routinely do that sort of thing. The trick is to use two instances of the RRP on separate DAW tracks. The first instance contains the Bassline Generator (or any other player) driving a MIDI Out device. That will send MIDI to the DAW track but you won't hear any sound. The second track (and instance) contains an RRP which contains just the instrument you want to drive. How you connect these tracks together varies depending upon your DAW but if you Google something like "How to use Scaler VST in Reaper" you'll find instructions for using a VST that outputs MIDI. You are basically need to set the MIDI input of the instrument track to the output of the player track.

In a perfect world RS would give us more flexible MIDI routing inside Reason. I've never really understood why we can route audio and CV to/from anywhere but MIDI routing is fixed and limited.

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 160
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: Close to the Edge

Post 17 Dec 2021

What if you put bassline generator on top of a combinator and put the FM synth (is that Algoritm?) and a midi-out inside the combinator.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest