RRP VST3 not responding to sustain and expression pedals

This forum is for discussing the Reason Rack Plugin, the version of the Reason rack that runs as a VST3, AU, AAX in other DAWs.
WasteLand
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Jun 2018

Post 13 May 2020

i jumped the fence, bought the upgrade to reason 11 suite. in an impulse (from 10). (and yes the jrrshop path....they had some license after the sale..)
no regrets.

i have some questions, i have installed yesterday evening (my time...). so more will follow.

one first question:

why does the vst3 rack doesn't react to sustain and expression pedals?
win 10 pro. reason 11.3 suite. cubase 10.5 pro. Komplete 11 ultimate. Arturia collection 7 + spark 2. korg special bundle. softube modular. nektara panorama p1, novation zero sl mkii & 49 sl mkii, MCU, maschine mk3+jam. motu ultralite mk3 hybrid.

User avatar
antic604
Posts: 163
Joined: 02 Apr 2020

Post 13 May 2020

WasteLand wrote:
13 May 2020
why does the vst3 rack doesn't react to sustain and expression pedals?
Does the instrument & patch you're testing it on respond to sustain & expression in Reason itself?
Bitwig 3 // Reason 11 // Studio One 5 Pro @ Lenovo Y730 15'' i7-8750h
my music - https://soundcloud.com/antic604

WasteLand
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Jun 2018

Post 13 May 2020

reason electronic bass reacts to sustain. i discovered now. adding glissando connecting to quick control, does not work, from the rack plugin. but from cubase it works.
i didn't install everything yet. the most special instruments, yes...

still the black midi "light", doesn't react to it. it will be only for notes perhaps.

strange that the instrument does not support sustain. yes via modulation.. i must figure out, how via modulation, it can hold the release.

for example the cinematic instrument whould be perfect for it. that is why i never used in reason, my sustain pedal.
the expression pedal i do not use that much. mostly i automate later, with the 60+ knobs i have....
win 10 pro. reason 11.3 suite. cubase 10.5 pro. Komplete 11 ultimate. Arturia collection 7 + spark 2. korg special bundle. softube modular. nektara panorama p1, novation zero sl mkii & 49 sl mkii, MCU, maschine mk3+jam. motu ultralite mk3 hybrid.

DaveyG
Posts: 494
Joined: 03 May 2020

Post 13 May 2020

You might have to tell you DAW to pass on the CC messages to the VST. Or you may have to map the individual controllers via the DAW.

WasteLand
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Jun 2018

Post 13 May 2020

DaveyG wrote:
13 May 2020
You might have to tell you DAW to pass on the CC messages to the VST. Or you may have to map the individual controllers via the DAW.
it passes the cc messages, it is cubase... and it is a normal CC. with other plugins, even within wrappers it is no problem.
perhaps i am used that most soft synths i have react to "sustain".

i shall deep into, perhaps i must wait till i learn more of the possibilities, of the rack, and the new instruments.

scenic hybrid instrument is an instrument that is made for sustain, me thinks. doesn't react on it. but i shall, before, posting a message, learn.
win 10 pro. reason 11.3 suite. cubase 10.5 pro. Komplete 11 ultimate. Arturia collection 7 + spark 2. korg special bundle. softube modular. nektara panorama p1, novation zero sl mkii & 49 sl mkii, MCU, maschine mk3+jam. motu ultralite mk3 hybrid.

User avatar
chimp_spanner
Posts: 2466
Joined: 06 Mar 2015

Post 13 May 2020

Weird. I know this was an issue *very* early on in the beta for RRP but it was one of the first things they fixed. I have Cubase 10.5 here. I'll test shortly and get back to you.

User avatar
chimp_spanner
Posts: 2466
Joined: 06 Mar 2015

Post 13 May 2020

Okay just tried it. Rad Piano and Scenic respond to sustain in Cubase 10.5. No idea why yours isn't, sorry!

WasteLand
Posts: 37
Joined: 04 Jun 2018

Post 13 May 2020

chimp_spanner wrote:
13 May 2020
Okay just tried it. Rad Piano and Scenic respond to sustain in Cubase 10.5. No idea why yours isn't, sorry!
yes they respond.... even europa.... it depends on the presets... i judge too quickly.....
well i notice that the "wait cursor" in windows (the turning wheel) stays turning, while you change preset. when you move mouse it is gone.
o well... perhaps the scenic instrument, i make my own presets, i played with the presets that are avalaible, i was expecting a long, dynamic sustain.
in europa, in some presets, you must make the sustain higher of course. and then you get what you want....
and scenic, it depends if it "loops". i must discover this instrument more in depth.

scenic and parsec, and the extra 2 effects, and players where decisive to go to suite.

sorry, sometimes i want something immediately. scenic = sustain.... no... learn the synth! i always do...

EDIT: thanks for all the answers, perhaps it can be usefull, because a sustain pedal don't look special, but it is a quite usefull thing. as an expression pedal..
but no probs... from props...

EDIT 2: it also because of the 3 macro's, made a special quick control preset for it. yes it can also saved by project.. but that made me believe you could transform over a long time. it can, when i learn to make my own presets for it..

again thanks for trying it. it made me look better at the behavior in cubase, and listen to behavior of the sounds.
win 10 pro. reason 11.3 suite. cubase 10.5 pro. Komplete 11 ultimate. Arturia collection 7 + spark 2. korg special bundle. softube modular. nektara panorama p1, novation zero sl mkii & 49 sl mkii, MCU, maschine mk3+jam. motu ultralite mk3 hybrid.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests