Edit Sample missing in NNXT in Reason Rack Plugin

This forum is for discussing the Reason Rack Plugin, the version of the Reason rack that runs as a VST3, AU, AAX in other DAWs.
danc
Posts: 516
Joined: 14 Oct 2016

Post 06 Apr 2020

Last night I was making a lead instrument with NNXT inside the Reason Rack Plugin and after creating a layered zone I wanted to alter the sample start/end points precisely in the usual sample edit popup (rather than guess using the start/end percent% knobs. And lo and behold Edit Sample is missing as an option in the plugin version.

I was thinking... I don't remember being told anywhere (on this forum or on Reason Studios website) that this feature has been removed for the plugin? Weird. Maybe it's been talked about to death and I'm late to the party.

I can vaguely understand the technical reason for having to remove it, as the popup has file save features - which may be not easily possible via the plugin. But it's just plain difficult to edit samples in a sampler without an edit popup.
Creating, producing and mastering music in Reason 11 and Studio One 5 (WIndows).


gregmarksimpson
Posts: 60
Joined: 14 Jan 2020

Post 06 Apr 2020

danc wrote:
06 Apr 2020
Last night I was making a lead instrument with NNXT inside the Reason Rack Plugin and after creating a layered zone I wanted to alter the sample start/end points precisely in the usual sample edit popup (rather than guess using the start/end percent% knobs. And lo and behold Edit Sample is missing as an option in the plugin version.

I was thinking... I don't remember being told anywhere (on this forum or on Reason Studios website) that this feature has been removed for the plugin? Weird. Maybe it's been talked about to death and I'm late to the party.

I can vaguely understand the technical reason for having to remove it, as the popup has file save features - which may be not easily possible via the plugin. But it's just plain difficult to edit samples in a sampler without an edit popup.
This is a good spot! Hopefully Reason Studios will create a custom sampler editor within the Plugin as this is a big omission at the moment for working within the plugin version of NN-XT.

PhillipOrdonez
Posts: 1328
Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Location: Colombia

Post 06 Apr 2020

I would use the host as the sample editor in such case.

gregmarksimpson
Posts: 60
Joined: 14 Jan 2020

Post 06 Apr 2020

PhillipOrdonez wrote:
06 Apr 2020
I would use the host as the sample editor in such case.
Not great for workflow inside a sampler though, to not be able to apply some edits to the samples...

blisshome
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Feb 2019

Post 14 Sep 2020

gregmarksimpson wrote:
06 Apr 2020
PhillipOrdonez wrote:
06 Apr 2020
I would use the host as the sample editor in such case.
Not great for workflow inside a sampler though, to not be able to apply some edits to the samples...
That's a very kind way of putting it. I also found the same behavior with Resonans. The edit button triggers a Logic Pro message saying, basically, "only works in the standalone". Same for recording samples in both NN-XT and Resonans. No can do.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests