Combining single images into filmstrip format

This forum is for developers of Rack Extensions to discuss the RE SDK, share code, and offer tips to other developers.
User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 16 May 2024

Hi All,
I want to step up my UI game by using Adobe AE instead of Knobman for my UI assets.
I can export into single images, but now need to combine these into a vertical strip.
Doe anyone know of a utility that does this please?
Preferably MAC but not essential, can also be Windows or Java.

Thanks,
Murf

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 16 May 2024

Sorry, I've only used Knobman. Curious why AE instead of something like Illustrator etc? Sticking around to see what you end up finding!
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
pongasoft
RE Developer
Posts: 483
Joined: 21 Apr 2016
Location: Las Vegas

Post 17 May 2024

I have used "convert" which is the command line tool from ImageMagick... not really user friendly but it does the job.

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 17 May 2024

selig wrote:
16 May 2024
Sorry, I've only used Knobman. Curious why AE instead of something like Illustrator etc? Sticking around to see what you end up finding!
Yeah Knobman is great but after searching around, a lot of VST makers use AE or Illustrator.
Here is a frame of a prototype I am making:
Volume_Knob_Final_00055.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 17 May 2024

pongasoft wrote:
17 May 2024
I have used "convert" which is the command line tool from ImageMagick... not really user friendly but it does the job.
Yep I wanted to try that last night but their website was down.
It's back now so I will give it a try now thanks :)

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 17 May 2024

Ok this is weird, I just got ImageMagik installed and was about to start testing 'convert' and my folder of images already had a vertical strip image in there..
Now I recall past Murf hacking into AE a script that did this maybe.....
Ahh to be young again with a real memory....
If I work out how I did it I will update here for future reference.
Murf

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 17 May 2024

Right, so I could not find my old extension for AE but this works absolutely fine with ImageMagik:

convert -append `for x in Volume_Knob_*.png; do echo $x; done;` Volume_Knob.png

(as long as the files list in the same order as their required sequence is)

Murf

User avatar
turn2on
RE Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 17 May 2024

Yes, ImageMagik works for me time ago.
As I read, now some devs of VST - using Figma. I try to use it. Can't say that this process comfort

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 17 May 2024

turn2on wrote:
17 May 2024
Yes, ImageMagik works for me time ago.
As I read, now some devs of VST - using Figma. I try to use it. Can't say that this process comfort
I just found Figma today, it is an online UI/UX tool.
On face value I did not see anything that came close to what Knobman etc can do, but I have not looked very deeply.
Murf.

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 17 May 2024

Murf wrote:
17 May 2024
turn2on wrote:
17 May 2024
Yes, ImageMagik works for me time ago.
As I read, now some devs of VST - using Figma. I try to use it. Can't say that this process comfort
I just found Figma today, it is an online UI/UX tool.
On face value I did not see anything that came close to what Knobman etc can do, but I have not looked very deeply.
Murf.
I almost suggested Figma, it's what many app designers use (my wife's world) but wasn't sure it had the specific tools for this task.
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 17 May 2024

Ohh yes there are plugins for Figma to do knobs and sliders, cool stuff.
https://www.figma.com/community/plugin/ ... ob-creator

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 18 May 2024

Guys I am so moving to Figma for this...

User avatar
turn2on
RE Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 18 May 2024

It have internal possibilities to
- design knobs in 2D with shades
- animate knob with rotation moves (add plugin "Motion UI and games animation"). Just set start & end points with needed degrees, and export (vertical, frames quantity..).

This works easy, if you create knob elements in one group, and rotate those group. Fast results.
But we need usually work of shades on the knob, and under it. More harder (in jknobman - this is easy) - rotate for only trim line on the knob is harder (may be just need to add round background and group them).
Anyway, cant say that results is faster than using 2D UI creation in any app, and make filmstrip with jknobman.
Create 2D graphic for me much more easy in any app (Photoshop, Affinity designer, etc), add it tojknobman.

Figma help to make all this, but 2D design as I find, need much more time.
In this way (needed time), better to use 3D design. But here for me more question - how to make filmstrip from 3D object. Not find enough info for Blender or any other 3D.

User avatar
turn2on
RE Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 18 May 2024

Murf wrote:
17 May 2024
Ohh yes there are plugins for Figma to do knobs and sliders, cool stuff.
https://www.figma.com/community/plugin/ ... ob-creator
Cant run this plugin - always said "No valid node selected". Already have frame, and knob object.

But with plugin "Motion UI and games animation", it work.
https://www.figma.com/design/kvmQOFWUkU ... 4dYFWXen-1

User avatar
crimsonwarlock
Posts: 2467
Joined: 06 Nov 2021
Location: ##########

Post 18 May 2024

turn2on wrote:
18 May 2024
But here for me more question - how to make filmstrip from 3D object. Not find enough info for Blender or any other 3D.
Blender can export the animation as separate images for each frame. I'm not aware of a frame-stitching tool inside Blender, but it should be possible to script that in Blender.
-------
Reached the breaking-point. CrimsonWarlock has left the forum.

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 18 May 2024

I have totally flipped and am going back to Knobman. Wasting too much time on this stuff.
If more people buy my RE's I might be able to afford a UI designer one day :)
Murf

User avatar
turn2on
RE Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 19 May 2024

As I said before, much faster and easy using for 2D - design app, and use external image in knobman app to create filmstrip.
Process of 2D design in Figma is similar to designers app, but need much more moves and eat time. But it works.

drno
RE Developer
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Jan 2016

Post 19 May 2024

turn2on wrote:
19 May 2024
As I said before, much faster and easy using for 2D - design app, and use external image in knobman app to create filmstrip.
Process of 2D design in Figma is similar to designers app, but need much more moves and eat time. But it works.
Have you tried Knob Studio?
https://iplug2.discourse.group/t/knob-s ... n-tool/286

User avatar
turn2on
RE Developer
Posts: 834
Joined: 13 Mar 2015

Post 19 May 2024

Bad, that I'm on Mac.
From other side, this app is still with 512px size limits, in era of 4k.

User avatar
Murf
RE Developer
Posts: 670
Joined: 21 Jun 2019
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post 20 May 2024

drno wrote:
19 May 2024
turn2on wrote:
19 May 2024
As I said before, much faster and easy using for 2D - design app, and use external image in knobman app to create filmstrip.
Process of 2D design in Figma is similar to designers app, but need much more moves and eat time. But it works.
Have you tried Knob Studio?
https://iplug2.discourse.group/t/knob-s ... n-tool/286
That looks like a nice upgrade on Knobman, is there a gallery for it?

drno
RE Developer
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Jan 2016

Post 20 May 2024

It's fully compatible with knobman

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 11980
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 20 May 2024

drno wrote:
20 May 2024
It's fully compatible with knobman
But not compatible with Mac OS… ;(
Selig Audio, LLC

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests