Complex 1-style patch cables for Rack Extensions?

This forum is for developers of Rack Extensions to discuss the RE SDK, share code, and offer tips to other developers.
wendallsan
Posts: 42
Joined: 10 Dec 2017

Post 04 Jul 2021

Just in case, I'll ask this also: any plans to bring patch cables to the FRONT of the panels for Rack Extension developers? We've seen this in action with the Complex-1 synth, so it is possible on some level... Algoritm's patch bay is also an inspiration for front-of-panel patching, though not as crazy as Complex-1 can manage. Maybe a Jukebox SDK 4.3 feature?

User avatar
Ahornberg
Posts: 1833
Joined: 15 Jan 2016
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post 04 Jul 2021

Patchcables on Complex-1 are coded in Lua, so IMHO there's no need to extend the Jukebox SDK.

User avatar
buddard
RE Developer
Posts: 975
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: Stockholm

Post 05 Jul 2021

wendallsan wrote:
04 Jul 2021
Just in case, I'll ask this also: any plans to bring patch cables to the FRONT of the panels for Rack Extension developers? We've seen this in action with the Complex-1 synth, so it is possible on some level... Algoritm's patch bay is also an inspiration for front-of-panel patching, though not as crazy as Complex-1 can manage. Maybe a Jukebox SDK 4.3 feature?
Complex-1 was made using standard SDK. When you switch to cable mode, most of the front panel is replaced by a huge custom display. Note how the knobs instantly become “flat”. So everything is drawn using jbox draw commands, except for maybe the sockets which are probably part of the background bitmap for the display.

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests