14:2 Mixer - Change Names of Channels

Have any feature requests? No promise they'll get to Reason Studios, but you can still discuss them here.
Eddi-16
Posts: 294
Joined: 12 Aug 2017

Post 09 Jan 2023

possibility of changing names of the mixer channels in the 14:2 Mixer and the smaller one, too

User avatar
geronimo
Posts: 571
Joined: 17 Jan 2015
Location: France

Post 09 Jan 2023

Changing the names of miscellaneous items (Instruments or FX) changes the names of the different channels of the 14:2 _

User avatar
selig
RE Developer
Posts: 10697
Joined: 15 Jan 2015
Location: The NorthWoods, CT, USA

Post 09 Jan 2023

geronimo wrote:
09 Jan 2023
Changing the names of miscellaneous items (Instruments or FX) changes the names of the different channels of the 14:2 _
This can still be a little confusing when you connect an FX after the instrument, say if you connect Sweeper to Redrum then the name of the mixer channel will be the name of the FX patch rather than the name of the drums. This can also be an issue when connecting multiple channels from a ReDrum/Kong/DrOctoRex/NNXT etc, since the channel number of the source device is at the end of the name/text and as such is not shown in the mixer (due to space limitations).

The “old school” solution/workaround (from way back) is to add Spiders as a “pass-through” device, LAST in the signal chain just before coming into the mixer, which is used ONLY to change the name of the channel and not do anything to the signal. It’s a little cluttered, but allows you to use ‘custom’ names in these mixers. ;)
Selig Audio, LLC

User avatar
Arpeg
Posts: 109
Joined: 31 Oct 2021

Post 09 Jan 2023

selig wrote:
09 Jan 2023
geronimo wrote:
09 Jan 2023
Changing the names of miscellaneous items (Instruments or FX) changes the names of the different channels of the 14:2 _
This can still be a little confusing when you connect an FX after the instrument, say if you connect Sweeper to Redrum then the name of the mixer channel will be the name of the FX patch rather than the name of the drums. This can also be an issue when connecting multiple channels from a ReDrum/Kong/DrOctoRex/NNXT etc, since the channel number of the source device is at the end of the name/text and as such is not shown in the mixer (due to space limitations).

The “old school” solution/workaround (from way back) is to add Spiders as a “pass-through” device, LAST in the signal chain just before coming into the mixer, which is used ONLY to change the name of the channel and not do anything to the signal. It’s a little cluttered, but allows you to use ‘custom’ names in these mixers. ;)
Hahah, thank you Selig :clap:

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests